We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Ranked #90 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We have three children between the ages of 2 and 8 and wanted to tour the major D.C. museums and landmarks from a location near a central Metro stop. We originally planned to stay at an Embassy Suites but this hotel had better reviews and a good rate. While not perfect, it was definitely satisfactory and I would stay there again.

Pros:
- Convenient Metro access (through a nice neighborhood)
- Unbelievably responsive front desk and Housekeeping
- Valet parking easy and prompt (only 5 minutes lead time to get the car out for us); it was wonderful not to worry about on-street parking or finding a parking lot
- Nicely cleaned rooms -- they even ran the dishwasher for us unasked, despite the stated policy that there had to be enough dirty dishes to fill it more than halfway
- Lots of space for all three children to sleep in the main room (pull-out sofa and rollaway bed), without us needing to share our own room with them
- A breakfast buffet the whole family enjoyed
- Whole Foods and Trader Joe's in easy walking distance
- Very quiet room, even though we were near the elevator -- yes we could hear the elevator ding during the rare times the children were all silent, but heard no sounds from other rooms.
- Friendly staff
- Evening happy-hour food offerings were a nice touch, especially since there weren't restaurants readily available nearby
- Plenty of staff available at breakfast, etc. to help answer questions and keep things tidy
- Lots of outlets for charging devices
- Easily able to do laundry on-site
- Free wi-fi was easy to use
- We were able to keep the car at the hotel until 4pm on day of check-out, even though check-out was 11am.

Cons:
- The room was thinly stocked, and the "extras" we requested (and which the hotel reconfirmed upon check-in) were not present when we arrived: the rollaway bed was not in the room, and no extra towels were provided on either the first or subsequent days until we called the front desk. There was only one pillow for the sofabed, and no extra toilet paper in the bathroom. However, the impact of these omissions were reduced by the fantastically speedy response mentioned above -- within 5-10 minutes someone would be at the room with the missing item, and they would disappear before they could even be tipped.
- Tiny bathroom contained a double shower rather than a tub, and the tall showerhead was fixed rather than handheld. This made it tricky to bathe the children.
- Small "dining" table was high and had only two high barstool-type chairs, with no real space to add any more once the beds were out. This meant our family of five could never sit down to eat together in the room, and we had to carefully guard the chairs to keep the children from tipping over.
- Impractical teeny tiny trash can in the kitchen.
- The pool on the roof was clearly there just to check a box in search engines. It was very small and the paint on the bottom was peeling. Our children were disappointed that we did not let them swim in it.
- Parking of $40 a day adds up fast. At least I knew to expect it thanks to TripAdvisor reviews.
- FYI, the sharp knives are stored in a low cupboard at toddler eye level, so we relocated the entire silverware tray to an upper shelf.

By the way, another review mentioned a welcome bag -- we did not get this but did not miss it.

Overall a very nice experience and I am pleased to have found this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Deborah B,

Your thorough commentary about your recent stay is much appreciated. All the positives you mentioned are those things that make our property unique for this area. You have certainly also provided food for thought that we will certainly review and take under consideration. Thank you for that.

We hope to see your entire family again on a return trip.

By the way, we hope you museum tours were great as well!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

From the moment I checked in I couldn't be happier with this property. I was welcomed immediately and given a small welcome bag that contained a bottle of water and a bag of chips which was much appreciated since I had been traveling on the metro with two suitcases in the heat. I was only here for four days, but it was very apparent that the staff values the guests. I heard the words of appreciation come out of staff many times throughout my stay. The hotel was very well kept, both the public areas and my suite was very clean and comfortable. I had one maintenance issue that was quickly resolved. The hotel is very close to the Foggy Bottom Metro. My only issue with this hotel wasn't something management can address as it involves a lack of nearby cafes. Due to the somewhat residential location your nighttime choices for dining are limited, but I found the manager's reception was quite sufficient on a couple of nights. Thank you staff. You made a routine business trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi NMandBeyond,
It was very kind of you to share your impressions of our property from your stay. We are very fortunate to have staff that really do enjoy our guests. The interactions we have with you make our days. Happy the manager's reception met your needs. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The property is on a quiet, leafy residential street -- not in a business park-- and GWU, the Metro, restaurants, Whole Foods, and Sweetgreen (frozen yogurt) are around the corner.

Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean with updated furnishings.

We requested a room at the end of a hallway and landed in a large room. As stated in an earlier post, the bathroom was rather small. But it did not bother me.

The breakfast set up was one of the nicest I've ever experienced: good food tastefully presented.

We followed James G's advice and found on-street parking that saved us a $40/night valet fee. Be careful to obey the parking signs. We stayed the weekend and parked free. However, someone parked on our rear bumper to try to get the front of the car in the legal area. The front desk staff was helpful and called police for us, who were not so helpful. The officer said he could write a ticket but not have the car towed. With a lot of maneuvering, we got our car out.

I stay at a lot of similar properties when I travel. For the price, location and service, the Residence Inn in Foggy Bottom is a winner in my book.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren2531988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Lauren2531988,

Thank you so much for commenting on your stay. You've presented a very good description of our location and proximity to transportation. We are very happy you were satisfied with your spacious suite and our breakfast. We do hope you make us your property of choice on your future visits to D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The location can't be beat -15 min. stroll to Georgetown and 1.5 blocks from a Metro. Great Whole Foods market 2 blocks away. Surprisingly quiet location. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful. The included breakfast is good and nice to get you started quickly on your way. Rooms are large for a city hotel and having a refrigerator and microwave is a bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hi Karen C,
Thank you for your comments. As you experienced, our suites really are designed to make you feel like you are at home. It's great that you found the proximity of local amenities convenient. We are truly lucky to be so centrally located. We do hope to see you again soon on a return visit.
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a great property with excellent service. Extremely affordable and complementary breakfast. Parking available on the street if you can find it. Excellent stay and would definitely stay again. Ask for Jasmyn, she is amazing!!!.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hello James G.,

Thanks you for your comments. We thrive on guest feedback and appreciate you taking the time to offer a few words. So happy you enjoyed your stay. Yes, Jasmyn is amazing as are all our guest service representatives.

We hop to see you again soon.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Residence Inn in Foggy Bottom for one Saturday night. Upon arrival, the staff could not have been more friendly. We valet parked our car ($40/night) and the valet showed up quickly and was very friendly. The front desk staff was also friendly and we were checked into our room very quickly.

We were given a great room (1001) in the corner of the 10th floor. It was huge. It had a small kitchen, living area with modern furniture, and spacious king bedded bedroom that could be closed off completely from the living room. The only odd feature about the room was the bathroom. It was very small. Barely enough space to close the door behind you. The bathroom, however, did have a great shower.

My only complaint about the hotel was the complementary breakfast (I know, how do you complain about a free breakfast!). I found the choices, especially in the cereal department, to be lacking. Additionally, the way the milk and yogurt is stored (under the counter mini-fridges) did not make these products very cold. I was told by the staff (again very friendly) that people don't always close the doors properly. This, to me, seems like a potential problem that could be addressed by keeping the milk and yogurt out for breakfast service in an ice bowl or other cold container.

Overall, I would happily stay at the hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hallway. They seem to be bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Hello dctravel,

You are so very appreciated for taking the time to offer a few words about your recent visit with us. You certainly did snag a fantastic room with awesome views. Good of you to give that room tip end of the hallway rooms to future guests.

We certainly will consider all suggestions as our aim is to provide our guests with great and memorable service.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel from 8/3 through 8/8. Very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed the breakfast each morning and reception in afternoon. Very clean. Great location, close to metro. Would definitely stay here again.

The only recommendations we have is to add faster internet access and premier movie channels (even if for purchase.)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpfaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hello Ipfaffe,

You comments are so welcome and appreciated. We do believe we have the most friendly staff in DC. They really do enjoy meeting and serving our guests. On your next visit, ask about our enhanced faster internet service. Your other recommendations are certainly under consideration. Thanks again.

All the best to you and the family.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#52 of 142 in Washington DC
509 reviews
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#102 of 142 in Washington DC
206 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#108 of 142 in Washington DC
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington D.C. Georgetown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washing...
#45 of 142 in Washington DC
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2305
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £89 - £951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing