We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blindsided by Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Komi

Komi
Ranked #224 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Dupont Circle
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Blindsided by Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The night before we ate at Komi we ate a Daniel in NYC. Daniel is a baseline destroyer. We were prepared for a "decent" but nothing special kind of meal. Damn, did I get that one wrong. Greek inspired, multi course, tasting menu with something for everyone: Crudo, French Molecular Gastronomy, two plates chock full of simply and perfectly prepared pork and goat. In a word...WOW. I was sad that they discourage pictures because I would be looking at and posting them now. This is a destination restaurant in plain clothes. It will be tough not to return the next time we are in DC.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    42
    32
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
“Best restaurant in the USA.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Easily one of the best meals in the USA - 16 dishes each prepared to perfection - from the lamb to the mascarpone dates. The only thing that excels the quality of the food is the staff serving it. We visit DC just to have a meal at Komi - highly recommended! Just make sure you book ahead of time (one month), so there are no disappointments.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have noticed that several reviews criticize the repetitiveness of the experience...this was my second time and everything but the goat was unique and amazing. The veal sweet breads were bites of unctuousness, the pork cheek ravioli with fava beans was other worldly, the trout bite with some red condiment I can't recall was amazingly simple but delicious, and the poached sea urchin was stunning. The service as before was impeccable. The wine selections were interesting and reasonable. I did not to do the pairing this time but yet was still introduced to some amazing wines. Specifically a red from Lebanon that was knock your socks off good. Who knew? Keep up the inspiration Komi!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tysons Corner, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just not getting it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Disclosure: I love world-class food, restaurants, and atmosphere and have celebrated this around the world. There are restaurants like Komi scattered around the world that are beloved that I just don't get.

The attempt to present as many obscure ingredients as possible into bite size Rubik's Cube portions and make them divine alludes me. If in your life, you have to eat an animal's heart or digestive system, a berry that grows under a toadstool of an ancient tree, or a preparation of food found in recently discovered scrolls, by all means, you have to go to Komi.

Dislikes:
3.5 hour meal on chairs that are too hard.
Most bites/courses, nothing to write home about. (again if contemplating the amazing ingredients and their artistry in preparation is your thing, I can respect that)
Agree with another reviewer that the climax of the meal being a mass of salty/fatty goat was quite a bit underwhelming.
3.5 hour meal.
Design of place created a loud environment, even though there weren't that many people there. A bit loud for this kind of experience in my opinion.

Likes: Wine Steward very knowledgeable and the wines were extremely good.
Service was very doting and always on the ball.
It was enough food where a stop on the way home for a meal wasn't required.

I would truly find incredulous any man that would confide to me that he loved this dining experience. To impress a date, create a romantic experience, make up for a wrongdoing or earn points for a future one, I totally understand the reasons to communicate your amazement at the wonderful experience.

For a shorter time, cheaper price, and better experience, I would have hit Acadiana, DC Coast, Smith & Wollenski, Caucus Room, etc.; had a cocktail afterwards at one of the neighboring swanky hotels; and gotten back home or to the hotel with time and energy for other fun activities.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TerryinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you want to please your friends , offer a dinner at Komi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

First, if you just hungry and want to eat fast and have full stomach - this place is not for you.
If you like arts, specially modern art , ready to see something special , feel that you are special and ready to pay for it - Komi should be your choice.
Advice: Please go with wine pairing they offering. The wine they served are not really common, but most of them are really good and can create fantastic combination with dishes. Ex.:Semisweet Greek champagne to shadow a taste of red salmon caviar.
You will have at least 5 different kinds of wine. Some of them were outstanding( German Riesling ), but it was a big surprise -a glass of Belgium beer.
We had 17 courses dinner. Don't be terrified of numbers :-) Most of them were less than 1oz. So you will not gain additional weights.What we got: 2 small pieces of fresh raw fish,a scallop, foie gras pate, some vegetables dishes,tsatsiki, micro handmade pita sandwiches, ravioli, small pieces of suckling pig with crispy skin and roasted goat, salted chocolate..... Coffee (your choice) at the end.
Each of dishes were a chef created piece of art. Before you will eat it , waiters will explain how chef made it. Ask him questions and you will enjoy this food performance.
Service: All stuff young , beautiful and very professional. Easy to talk, very friendly and very well trained. The Sommelier (with blonde hair) was very good and he looks fantastic (eyes candy young man :-).
All dishes were really different on taste: I could not tell I love all of them, but I really enjoy to eat all of them. Very nice and not common restaurant experience.
Decor is very simple, but who cares? If you care about price: bill ( before tax and tips) was above $200 per person. No photo permitted. My evaluation according to Zagat standards:
food 27 points of 30, wine -28, decor -19, service -30.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Navy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Komi also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Komi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing