We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, New, and Comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Ranked #63 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice, New, and Comfortable!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I spent one night at the Marriott Marquis on business and was very impressed with the hotel and its staff. I had many apprehensions after reading earlier reviews, but my experience was fantastic. There was no shortage of outstanding guest service from the moment I arrived.

After a smooth and easy check-in, I settled into my room on the 6th floor. The room was extremely spacious quiet! I never heard any interior noise and only the occasional siren from the outside. The decor was fresh and modern and the bathroom was well done. The handle to turn the water on/off in the glass walk-in shower was opposite of the shower head so you didn't have to get splattered with cold water when turning the water on. Genius! And this shows the care and thoughtfulness in design...

After settling in, I grabbed dinner at the bar in the lobby. Service was fantastic and the Marriott Burger was cooked perfectly and really hit the spot.

I have absolutely no complaints about the Marriott Marquis and would enjoy staying here again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank snarlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    548
    176
    79
    38
See reviews for
209
163
31
1,004
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

1. The hotel itself is beautiful.
2. The rooms are nicely appointed but I recommend asking for a room with a city view vs. atrium view (creepy how people can see in your room from the atrium and other room windows)
3. The concierge lounge is nice but way too busy every morning with long lines and empty coffee decanters so after 3 days I gave up and bought my own from Starbucks
4. The lounge staff was fantastic
5. The bellhops and counter staff need way more training.
6. Check your bill when you leave. They tried charging me $53 and I didn't have a vehicle

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian30135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

They greeted us and took us to the reservation desk
There is still a little learning needed but the employees were really trying hard
Nice room-the usual but one of the nicest I have been in.
We were in a conference so it was convenient but otherwise not in the middle of everything.
Beautiful lobby
Food at seminar was excellent!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whareareugoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I'm going easy on this property as I know it's only been open a little over 1 month. I was excited to stay here for 1 night as I'll be returning in November for a conference.
First, when I arrived in my car, the valet guy spoke little English. I wasn't confident he understood what I was saying. The check in process was great and typical Marriott. The signage on each floor needs to be updated. It appears at times, the arrow is pointing one direction and it's pointing a different direction when looking for your room. The gym is AMAZING! The M Lounge is very nice with a view of the top of the Washington Monument. I will have to say that I was very disappointed when I arrived at 9:05 AM on a weekday for breakfast only to have it cleared by 9:00 AM. My only choice was to eat in the restaurant. When I mentioned this to the front desk guy on check out, he apologized. Keep the food out a little longer in the lounge. The check out process was normal Marriott but I was hoping during the check out the breakfast would have been comp'd because of the lounge incident but it wasn't. The receipt was emailed to me...check out was yesterday and I'm still waiting on it. Yet, Avis can email me a receipt within 5 minutes. This hotel could be amazing once it works out its kinks. I'm hoping for a better experience when I return in November. It's in a great central location so you can walk to Metro Center or walk 2 blocks to the Metro Yellow/Green Line at Mt. Vernon Square.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdinsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The property is beautiful (stunning for a Marriott property). The rooms are well-appointed and the beds are super comfortable; and it has an in-hotel Starbucks! The staff and housekeeping personnel were friendly and efficient. I loved everything about my stay except for the access to wifi - I travel everywhere in the world with my wireless internet card in my laptop and it works beautifully except for in this particular property. Whatever their IT dept. has done to block my cell phone (from my room) and wireless card access made getting work done difficult from this property - even in the lobby my access was severely restricted as their IT system kept redirecting me to use their daily rate system ($12.95/day, note it was 'per day' not even 24 hours - my company covers all of my access charges but I don't appreciate the surcharge approach to basic connectivity). I would stay here again if I was on vacation but not while in town on business.

Room Tip: I had a room that looked down into the lobby so it was really quiet - great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The marquee of the Marriott Marquis is very small. As it just opened, our cab driver had a difficult time finding it. But once we arrived, all was well. I asked for and received a quiet interior facing room. It was comfortable and had everything I needed.

The room service is limited, actually a new concept. Where the food is delivered like take out food instead of a room service tray. There was nothing for me to sign, and the menu was really limited, but that is fine--why end up sitting alone in your room?

Room Tip: ask for an interior room, there are plenty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tristan1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Horowitz, Assistant Front Office Manager at Marriott Marquis Washington, DC, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Tristan1089,
Thank you for the great review! I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate the feedback as well. We are rolling out a new concept for in-room dining that offers food options that are fresh that can be delivered fast. While I hope you had a great meal, next time you will have to try some of our fabulous food and beverage outlets that we have to offer. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I liked the "new hotel" feel and I liked my stay, but I'd like to talk about two issues.
First, each length of rooms has two alcoves that seats two people on reasonably comfortable chairs with a light and a small table. These alcoves look to the inside of the building. See my photos (which I think will be photo #21). So I walked into the alcove on my first night and wanted to look down at the bar area so I went as close to the edge as I could. Then I nearly froze when I realized that the glass window was only about three feet high. If you look at my photo with the red arrow, on the right you can see the alcoves on the other side. So if you have rowdy kids that like to run inside it's probably best to keep them from running into these alcoves at speed. If you don't like heights, you might want to stay out too.
Second, the executive lounge is that largest that I've ever seen and it is well-stocked, and well-staffed. It was pretty nice with five distinct areas. But,... it did seem that there were lots of people in this lounge that didn't fit the normal profile of people in the executive lounge. So, I'm assuming that it's not only Marriot Elite that have access to the lounge but also perhaps people that are just staying on the 12th or 13th floor. In other words, it was quite noisy with kids from around 6:30 pm to 8:30 pm. It's a nice place to go to, but don't expect it to be quiet.

Room Tip: If you're Marriott Elite ask for the 12th or 13th floor and you'll be on the same floor as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
955 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
706 reviews
The Henley Park Hotel
#101 of 141 in Washington DC
764 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 141 in Washington DC
4,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis Washington, DC

Property: Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Address: 901 Massachusetts Ave Nw, Washington DC, DC 20001-4307
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the city in style from our CityCenterDC hotel. Conveniently located near Penn Quarter, CityCenterDC, and the Verizon Center, our hotel makes it easy to explore the city's best attractions. Guests enjoy direct access to the Convention Center via an underground concourse connection. With more than 105,000 square feet of event space offering 54 breakout rooms, a grand lobby with an atrium skylight, and five retail and restaurant outlets on the ground floor, our Washington, DC convention center hotel is poised to be the city's next great social hub. Be among the first to experience the vibrant Marriott Marquis Washington, DC, a distinctive addition to the Nation's Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotel.de, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Marriott Marquis Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing