We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Ranked #58 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I spent last weekend at the Marriott Marquis visiting my daughter. It is beautiful new hotel. It started off a little rocky in that the GPS address sends you to the entrance for valet parking and cab only. We pulled in there not knowing it was valet parking only. We just wanted to have one member of our party get dropped off while the other members found less expensive parking. I read previous posts about $45 dollars per night and was able to find parking 2 blocks away across from the Renaissance hotel for $30 for the whole weekend. When we tried to just drop off a member off our party , the valet kept trying to get our keys. After that things went smoother. Check in was a breeze and the staff pleasant. My husband needs non feather pillows and they sent some up right away. You can tell it is a very new hotel. Everything is very fresh and clean. Smells kind of like a new car! We did not have a hair dryer in the bathroom and again they sent one up right away when asked. The beds are comfortable and the room decent size. The only complaint about the room was that the toilet must have a leak because it would run periodically. We left the bathroom door closed at night so we wouldn't hear it.
We accidentally left my daughter's rain jacket in the closet. I called the hotel and they took my name and number and said they will call me back. Haven't heard back yet.
The location is great. Very close to a lot of tourist sites.
Can't comment on the restaurants, bars or exercise facilities in that we ate and drank at the numerous close by restaurants and got our exercise walking all over DC.
We got a great grand opening rate $107 per night. I am guessing rated will be much higher in the future but I would stay there again even if the rate were higher.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMUDukeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    524
    165
    73
    37
See reviews for
200
154
31
952
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I spent three nights here while attending a conference, and I was extremely pleased. The room was nice, comfortable, and the hotel is beautiful. What impressed me most was how friendly and helpful the entire staff is, including the service technicians. They all asked questions about my visit and they went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. When I checked in the clerk walked halfway across the lobby with me to show me where the elevators were, and she was chatting as we walked. These people are obviously well trained and committed to outstanding service! There were a couple tweaks they had to address, not surprising for a hotel open less than six weeks. The first night there was no tv service, but they had it fixed by morning, and my room safe didn't work until Security came and reset the electronic lock. Ate two dinners and one lunch in Hi Velocity, and the food was excellent, and the entire staff quite friendly. The fitness center is huge and on two levels, and is unparalleled among hotel fitness centers I've seen.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Beautiful new hotel. The staff were very friendly and professional. The hotel features a stadium sized lobby with multiple restaurants and bars. The hotel room window faced towards the lobby and receives natural light through a large glass roof. The room itself was on the club level, well appointed but the size of a New York city hotel room. This lack of space is not what i expected in DC. The Club Lounge is easily the nicest i have seen with a large balcony and room for at least a couple hundred people. The biggest problem was one bank of elevators were being serviced making the walk to the hotel room inconvenient. Overall I was happy and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try asking for larger rooms if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I spent one night at the Marriott Marquis on business and was very impressed with the hotel and its staff. I had many apprehensions after reading earlier reviews, but my experience was fantastic. There was no shortage of outstanding guest service from the moment I arrived.

After a smooth and easy check-in, I settled into my room on the 6th floor. The room was extremely spacious quiet! I never heard any interior noise and only the occasional siren from the outside. The decor was fresh and modern and the bathroom was well done. The handle to turn the water on/off in the glass walk-in shower was opposite of the shower head so you didn't have to get splattered with cold water when turning the water on. Genius! And this shows the care and thoughtfulness in design...

After settling in, I grabbed dinner at the bar in the lobby. Service was fantastic and the Marriott Burger was cooked perfectly and really hit the spot.

I have absolutely no complaints about the Marriott Marquis and would enjoy staying here again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank snarlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

1. The hotel itself is beautiful.
2. The rooms are nicely appointed but I recommend asking for a room with a city view vs. atrium view (creepy how people can see in your room from the atrium and other room windows)
3. The concierge lounge is nice but way too busy every morning with long lines and empty coffee decanters so after 3 days I gave up and bought my own from Starbucks
4. The lounge staff was fantastic
5. The bellhops and counter staff need way more training.
6. Check your bill when you leave. They tried charging me $53 and I didn't have a vehicle

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian30135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

They greeted us and took us to the reservation desk
There is still a little learning needed but the employees were really trying hard
Nice room-the usual but one of the nicest I have been in.
We were in a conference so it was convenient but otherwise not in the middle of everything.
Beautiful lobby
Food at seminar was excellent!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whareareugoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I'm going easy on this property as I know it's only been open a little over 1 month. I was excited to stay here for 1 night as I'll be returning in November for a conference.
First, when I arrived in my car, the valet guy spoke little English. I wasn't confident he understood what I was saying. The check in process was great and typical Marriott. The signage on each floor needs to be updated. It appears at times, the arrow is pointing one direction and it's pointing a different direction when looking for your room. The gym is AMAZING! The M Lounge is very nice with a view of the top of the Washington Monument. I will have to say that I was very disappointed when I arrived at 9:05 AM on a weekday for breakfast only to have it cleared by 9:00 AM. My only choice was to eat in the restaurant. When I mentioned this to the front desk guy on check out, he apologized. Keep the food out a little longer in the lounge. The check out process was normal Marriott but I was hoping during the check out the breakfast would have been comp'd because of the lounge incident but it wasn't. The receipt was emailed to me...check out was yesterday and I'm still waiting on it. Yet, Avis can email me a receipt within 5 minutes. This hotel could be amazing once it works out its kinks. I'm hoping for a better experience when I return in November. It's in a great central location so you can walk to Metro Center or walk 2 blocks to the Metro Yellow/Green Line at Mt. Vernon Square.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdinsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#70 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Henley Park Hotel
#99 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis Washington, DC

Property: Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Address: 901 Massachusetts Ave Nw, Washington DC, DC 20001-4307
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the city in style from our CityCenterDC hotel. Conveniently located near Penn Quarter, CityCenterDC, and the Verizon Center, our hotel makes it easy to explore the city's best attractions. Guests enjoy direct access to the Convention Center via an underground concourse connection. With more than 105,000 square feet of event space offering 54 breakout rooms, a grand lobby with an atrium skylight, and five retail and restaurant outlets on the ground floor, our Washington, DC convention center hotel is poised to be the city's next great social hub. Be among the first to experience the vibrant Marriott Marquis Washington, DC, a distinctive addition to the Nation's Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, TravelUp, Agoda, Prestigia, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott Marquis Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing