We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even those who do not love art would enjoy the museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smithsonian American Art Museum

Smithsonian American Art Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Washington DC Legend Daytime Comprehensive Tour
Ranked #28 of 418 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Smithsonian Institution that owns more than 40,000 works depicting the history of art in the United States.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
333 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Even those who do not love art would enjoy the museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Recently attended an art lecture and tour as part of a group and I was in awe of the artwork and diversity of the collection (American Indian tribes, blacks as subject matters).

The building itself is magnificent, and their is a beautiful courtyard where you can have lunch, rest and it too, is amazing (and cool as it is air conditioned).

There are a number of mini "galleries" within the museum and while expansive to walk, seating is ample throughout for you to pause (even to look at the works).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank carolinasunshine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    274
    62
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
191 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This museum is a little out of the way but an absolute must-see if you have any interest in art. The building is also impressive and seems like something that you would find in a European city, rather than DC. Collection is vast and there are well-known artists on display here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An awesome art museum that many overlook”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

All I can say is Wow! The hubz and I were very pleased with this versatile and exciting art museum of sculpture, pop art, American artifacts. The building is stunning and the art is very diverse. We are not art connoisseurs by any means , but we thoroughly enjoyed going through every floor of this museum. We would recommend starting at the top level, as there are drawers of coins and lockers, and portraits and it takes a minimum of 3-4 hours to see it all. Upstairs, there is also a couple of rooms with glass that you can watch the restoration process of some of the pieces. There were some amazing statues in the museum that were ornate and beautiful. This was one of our favorite museums that has a charm all it's own. This museum is located in China town- gallery place and is accessible via metro rail. There isn't much else to do in China town, except for to visit the unique market shops. The museum and portrait gallery was one of the highlights of our trip. I highly recommend going! It's a peaceful, beautiful museum that doesn't get enough exposure! See my other reviews of DC to catch the highlights!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurupa Valley, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Four Floors of American Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We went to this museum on the last day of our trip. We were a little worn out but had to see this museum. There are four floors and they have everything from classic old paintings to brand new sculptures. Inside here is also the National Portrait Gallery where you can see portraits of all the Presidents (except the current one). So you get two museums in one. On the top floor you can see where they restore the artwork. There is also case after case of art and sculpture that doesn't fit on the first three floors. They had an exhibit of portrait photography and Mathew Brady photos also.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a richness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

So much to see, your eyes want more but your feet are to tired.
Don't forget to visit the portrait gallery too and certainly the
modern art division.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flory en Jozef W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smithsonian American Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Smithsonian American Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing