We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad overpriced”

Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden
Ranked #207 of 3,298 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Neighbourhood: Federal Triangle
Description: The Pavilion Cafe is found amidst the casual elegance of the National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden. A Jazz Garden Restaurant Café in Washington DC in the summer, a winter wonderland of ice skating in the winter.
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Was a really good place to take a quick rest from all the walking, was a little over priced but was still good to eat.

Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Inc, Customer Service at Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

We're so glad you stopped by! Our location is great for a quick break while touring the city. Thank you for leaving a review and your feedback on our prices, we appreciate it. Please come visit us again the next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 170 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were pleasantly surprised: I brought a group of ESOL students to the National Gallery of Art for a field trip and we all decided we needed to sit down after several hours. The group voted to eat here.
Portions are large - several people split sandwiches and salads (both of which were fresh made and delicious). The pizzas were approved by the 8 and 10 year olds. The dessert selection is FABULOUS. Wine and excellent coffee available. Free soft drink refills.
Not pricey compared to similar venues in DC. Our service was great and the restrooms were spotless - with fast-moving lines.
In winter, you can watch the skaters at the ice rink. In the summer, enjoy the sculpture garden.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LovesHippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSI_CustomerService, Customer Service at Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

LovesHippos- Thank you so much for visiting us and taking the time to leave such a wonderful review; we’re delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed all our menu selections. ‘Fresh made and delicious’ salads and sandwiches are what we aim for and getting our pizza approved by 8-year-olds is an honor :) We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

It is right in the heart of DC's "Mall" and is beautiful. However, you'll pay for convenience. A basic sandwich is $10, which I guest isn't too terrible, but not what I'm used to... I don't know what service is like during the week but we went on a Sunday for lunch and the line was ridiculous and the wait after ordering was just as bad!

Thank CattintheHatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 May 2014

CatintheHatt- We’re glad you chose the Pavilion Café for lunch during your visit but we’re very sorry to hear you experienced a long wait time! We value your feedback and thank you for taking the time to let us know. If there are any specifics you would like to discuss with our team, please feel free to email us directly at talktous@guestservices.com, and we would love for you to give us another try on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had lunch here to enjoy the gorgeous weather and cherry blossoms. The food is pretty unremarkable, but not as overpriced as it could be given the tourist location. Stick with the basics and enjoy the views.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSI_CustomerService, Customer Service at Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

lbg217- Thank you for choosing the café for your National Cherry Blossom Festival outing and for leaving us your feedback. We take great pride in creating and offering unique seasonal items on our menu that are greatly affected by our customers’ feedback; if you would like to leave more details as to your impressions of our food, we would love to hear from you at talktous@guestservices.com. We’re glad to hear you appreciated our competitive prices and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Food was good and fresh but the service was horrible! We waited 25mins while watching our sanwiches sit on the line, waiting to be "heated and sliced in half." Maybe it was just what we ordered but ppl were ordering, picking up their food and we were still there. Another family waited 45mins for their meal! I say just try your luck...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSI_CustomerService, Customer Service at Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Helen N.- Thank you for visiting the café and offering your honest feedback; we apologize profusely for the length of your wait time! Our goal is to consistently provide flawless customer service and we certainly will keep your comments in mind as we train our staff members. If you wish to leave more detailed feedback, please feel free to contact us directly at talktous@guestservices.com. We’re glad you enjoyed your meal choices and hope you will give us another chance soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden also viewed

 

Been to Pavilion Cafe at the Sculpture Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing