We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AKA White House
Ranked #25 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

whenever we travel to washington we stay at the AKA Whitehouse. Great staff (extremely helpful), The one-bedroom suites are quite spacious, nice kitchen area, 2 bathrooms and comfortable bed. we stayed at the one bedroom penthouse before which is basically an upgraded version of the one bedroom suite with direct access to the terrace.

Room Tip: if you prepay for your stay you can save quite a lot of money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chochyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback! Our top priority is your satisfaction and we are thrilled you'll continue to choose the AKA White House as your home-away-from-home. We are also thrilled to hear that our resident representatives were able to extend our concierge services to you, ensuring that your stay was memorable. With a proximity that rivals other hotels in the area, AKA White House is your number one choice when in search of luxury extended stay accommodations. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    189
    42
    14
    25
See reviews for
234
140
19
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

It was an unexpected treat to see the dark wood floor, the stark white walls , separate bedroom 1 1/2 bath, the modern furnituring . The room was clean, housekeeper came each day to give us fresh towels and empty the trash, something we were able to do our selves each evening ,
It was quiet , which was unexpected also, since there was a washer and drying in most suites, and there were children staying there . As long as they keep up the same standards,next time my husband come for business ( federal employee ) we will stay here. Location was perfect for closeness to metro and sight seeing. My husband enjoy the coffee each morning , and the full kitchenware was excellent ,

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottieB111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your family’s experience at AKA White House with us and the TripAdvisor community! We are delighted to know you enjoyed our spacious suites, in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, and 24 hour concierge. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the area as well! Your satisfaction is the key to our success and we are delighted that AKA White House felt like home; we look forward to welcoming you and your family back the next time you travel to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just had the most amazing experience and the biggest surprise while on my trip in DC! We booked the AKA hotel which is right around the corner from the White House and close to everything!. I am not familiar with the brand so not sure what we were going to find. From the incredible staff, to the rooms...as big as my condo a big WOW! I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting rather you are there on business travel or vacation. Great for extended stays!

Room Tip: They are all suites so stock up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dowdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback! We truly appreciate such positive feedback as it ensures us that we are meeting our goals of exceeding the expectations of our residents! As you mentioned, the property has an unbeatable location – one block away from the White House and just a short distance from the National Mall, Dupont Circle, Georgetown, and many other great DC attractions! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel to Washington DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed in the AKA White House for 3 nights and it was a fantastic experience. The location is second to none being right around the corner from the White House and it is very easy to find when first arriving. The rooms were a spacious apartment set up complete with full kitchen and living room. This was easily one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at. I Highly recommend this property!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We appreciate the great feedback! Your satisfaction is our number one priority as we strive to ensure every guest experience is nothing but exceptional. With amenities such as in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, and spacious living accommodations, AKA is your home away from home. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The room was unbelievable. The apartment style concept cannot be beat. The location is also great. It is walking distance to the metro, great restaurants, and monuments. I plan on staying there again and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Washington.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for the feedback. As we continually strive to be the leader in luxury extended stay accommodations, your feedback is the key to that success and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our suites are designed to meet the specific needs of you, our guest. Designed with in-suite washer and dryer, a fully furnished kitchen, and spacious living accommodations, AKA White House is your home away from home; additionally, the proximity of AKA White House also offers a unique way to experience Washington DC. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My family stayed at a two-bedroom suite for 3 nights. Here is a summary of my views:

Pros:
(1) Excellent location -
Only 3 minutes walk (literally) door-to-door from the hotel to the White House.
(2) Many good cafes neaby -
e.g. Corner Bakery Cafe, Potbelly Sandwich Works, Cosi etc are just round the corner offering decent breakfast at a reasonable price.
(3) Convenience -
Whole Foods is only 12 minutes away on foot for you to purchase beverages and other stuff to stock up the fridge in the suite.
(4) Laundry facilities -
Washing machine and dryer (with detergent provided) inside the suite are very useful especially if you are in the middle of a long trip.
(5) Free WiFi -
Excellent signal strength inside your own suite.
(6) Open kitchen -
Spacious dining area for your family to enjoy your own seafood (lobsters, crabs, oyster etc cooked to order) purchased from Maine Ave Fish Market (must try).

Cons:
(1) Stern front desk -
I thought my high school headmistress was talking to me during check-in.
(2) Weak water pressure -
Extremely weak / thin-lines shower with an immovable shower head fixed high up on the wall.
(3) Bed linens -
You can almost feel that the linens are not thoroughly washed / ironed.

All in all, this is a decent apartment type hotel in a great location, with room for improvement in quite a few areas.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Zungyaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. While we are thrilled you enjoyed our location, and in-suite amenities, we do regret any inconvenience caused to you by our front desk. Rest assured, your comments have been noted and we have spoken to the parties involved to ensure it does not happen again. As our guest, your complete satisfaction is our number one priority. With fully furnished suites that boast fully equipped kitchens, washer and dryers in-suite, and spacious living accommodations, AKA White House is your number one option in luxury extended stay. With its central location, residents and guests alike need only walk a few short blocks to experience everything DC has to offer!

Regarding the water pressure we will research this in the building as this is the first time this has been noted form a resident and regarding the linens, we do apologize for any inconvenience and have taken your notes to our housekeeping department, rest assured we have a detailed cleaning procedure set-up, however with your feedback, we have changed the amount soap to water ratio with our detergent vendor. Anytime a resident is not completely satisfied with their suite, or notices an amenity in their suite that requires attention, we urge our residents to contact the front desk immediately so we may have the item inspected right away by our maintenance and housekeeping teams. Additionally, residents may contact the front desk at any time to have additional linens supplied, within availability.

We greatly appreciate the feedback, and look forward to your next stay. In advance of your next stay, please contact us directly so we may assist in designing a stay that caters to your specific needs, or to submit any special requests. Thank you again for the feedback and with look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My family and I stayed at AKA white house two weekends ago and we absolutely loved every minute of it. The staffs were super friendly and were very helpful with our two toddlers, I couldn’t have asked for better service anywhere. We stayed in a suite and it was well put together. My husband loves the rooftop terrace and it has has great views of DC. It is worth every penny and will be back next time. Thanks AKA for wonderful services and a great weekend!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback and kind words. Our number one goal is your complete satisfaction and we are thrilled to hear your experience was as such. With modern furnishings throughout the property, AKA White House is the leading option in luxury extended stay accommodations, a true home-away-from-home. It's also great to hear you enjoyed our rooftop terrace; the weather has been perfect to lounge leisurely and take in the views! Thank you so much for the positive feedback and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
493 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,275 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
2,267 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Property: AKA White House
Address: 1710 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-4699
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just two blocks from the nation’s most important residential address, as well as in close proximity to many noteworthy business and arts institutions, AKA White House features spacious one and two bedroom residences with king size beds, elegantly designed living rooms, full kitchens, spa-like baths, as well as spectacular penthouse suites with spacious terrace and outdoor dining areas. Superb amenities include a modern lounge area with stunning bar and fireplace and contemporary, comfortable seating with open views onto the streetscape; complimentary wifi; resident cinema; fitness and business center services, and a 24/7 Resident Services Team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing