We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard of Excellence”
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AKA White House
Ranked #28 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Standard of Excellence”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The AKA White House sets the bar for luxury hotels in DC. From the welcoming staff to the beautiful lounge and sumptuous guest suites, the AKA delivers quality from the moment you walk in until you check out. I tried out the new Penthouse Suites: far exceeded my expectations.
Thanks to the team for making feel at home, when I was away from home on an extended trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at AKA White House with us! We are thrilled to know you enjoyed our newly renovated penthouse suites; all of our spacious suites do include wonderful amenities: in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, walk-in closets, separate living area, and more. Your satisfaction is the key to our success and we are delighted that AKA White House felt like home; we look forward to welcoming you and your family back the next time you travel to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    183
    40
    14
    25
See reviews for
219
134
19
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The front desk staff was very welcoming and helpful before I even arrived in DC.
I was looking for more of an apartment feel than a hotel and AKA was exactly that and SO much more. As we (4 adults) were staying 8 days we had groceries delivered to make use of our full kitchen. There was also a washer and dryer in the room which we did use. Comfy beds, nice furnishings, Gym, Business Center, Bar/Lounge were all great - and yes we used them all.
Location! Location! Location! Two blocks from The White House, walking distance to the National Mall, one block to 2 metro stations serving 3 metro lines.
GREAT people, GREAT location, GREAT apartment = Awesome Vacation!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddd29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
We are so delighted to know that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay! Our location is certainly one of the best in Washington being, as you mentioned, only a short 2 block walk from the real White House, a short walk from two different Metro Stations (Farraguts North and West), fine dining, shops, and various historical sights and museums. Furthermore, in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, and spacious living accommodations sets AKA apart from other luxury extended stay properties and we are thrilled to hear your experience was as such. Additionally, we appreciate you taking the time to highlight our amazing staff. We take pride in our attention to detail, and strive to ensure each guest witnesses this throughout your entire experience. Thank you again for the positive feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The AKA in Washington D.C. is the best all suite hotel I have ever stayed in. We come to Washington D.C. quite frequently and I wish we had known of this Hotel sooner. The service and ambience of this property is by far the best in D.C. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location. Many restaurants near by. Easy acceccible to various famous sites as well as businesses in DC. Very well managed hotel in the right location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for the great feedback! Our number one goal is your complete satisfaction and we are thrilled to hear your stay was as such. With our fully furnished kitchens, spacious living accommodations, and outstanding customer service, AKA is unparalleled. Upon booking your next stay with us, please feel free to contact us directly so we may assist in designing your stay. Thank you again for the positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is nothing but first class luxury. The hotel lobby is absolutely stunning with really friendly staff who are always more than willing to help you out. The two bedroom apartment that my friends and I stayed at was bigger than what we expected and it was complete with kitchen, fridge, dishwasher, plates and all other utensils. It was like having our own bachelorette pad in DC! the hotel itself is walking distance from the White House and The Mall. And the metro station is only few blocks away. Plenty of restaurants to choose from within the area. It was a great experience overall!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We take great pride in providing our guests with the most comfortable accommodations possible and therefore we are delighted to know that your stay was a reflection of our standards. We're also glad when guest are able to also take advantage of all that our unparalleled location and suites have to offer. Our AKA staff work tirelessly to go above and beyond; so we're thrilled they were able to exceed your expectations and make AKA White House your home-away-from home! Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed there for a week with my family during the summer expecting a normal hotel experience but AKA White House exceeded my expectations! I go to DC frequently to visit family and this is definitely one of the best places I've stayed in. The lobby was stunning and the front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I stayed in a two bedroom suite and loved its contemporary style yet homey feeling. It's everything you want in a hotel and more. Loved that the kitchen was complete with everything - fridge, dishwasher, utensils, plates, pans etc. It was like having my own little apartment in DC! And the location was fantastic - walking distance to the White House, all the other monuments and museums and a great selection of restaurants (BLT Steakhouse, P.J. Clark's, Cosi, Potbelly's). It was also very close to a CVS and about a 10 minute walk from Whole Foods. Loved my stay at AKA and definitely can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at AKA White House with us! We are delighted to know you enjoyed our spacious suites, in-suite washer and dryers, fully furnished kitchens, and 24 hour concierge. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the area as well! Your satisfaction is the key to our success and we are delighted that AKA White House felt like home; we look forward to welcoming you and your family back the next time you travel to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I booked my paretns and a friend of theirs into a two-bedroom apartment at AKA for a few days this past weekend. It is a wonderful alternative to a hotel - the place they rented was really big (much bigger than my own apartment). And it was as nice as it looks in the trip advisor pictures. They had a street-facing apartment on the 7th floor, so unlike some of the photos I noticed on here, they had great light. The only negative was the bathtub - the side of the tub is high and there was some kind of metal liner - my parents are a little older and they had a tough time getting in and out. If not for that, I'd have given it a 5. I hope AKA considers making some changes to the tubs, because I know my parents would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Street-facing rooms (especially higher up) have good light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us regarding your parents recent stay with us at AKA White House! We take pride in offering guests a home away from home experience and are therefore glad to know that they enjoyed their stay and the space that our suites have to offer to residents. Please note that for future reservations, we do have some suites that have different types of bathrooms than the ones which your parents had. These rooms are accessible suites that have, in place of the bathtub, a walk-in shower. If this is something that your parents would be interested in, please let us know the next time you book your reservation! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back the next time you travel to Washington DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

whenever we travel to washington we stay at the AKA Whitehouse. Great staff (extremely helpful), The one-bedroom suites are quite spacious, nice kitchen area, 2 bathrooms and comfortable bed. we stayed at the one bedroom penthouse before which is basically an upgraded version of the one bedroom suite with direct access to the terrace.

Room Tip: if you prepay for your stay you can save quite a lot of money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chochyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback! Our top priority is your satisfaction and we are thrilled you'll continue to choose the AKA White House as your home-away-from-home. We are also thrilled to hear that our resident representatives were able to extend our concierge services to you, ensuring that your stay was memorable. With a proximity that rivals other hotels in the area, AKA White House is your number one choice when in search of luxury extended stay accommodations. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#44 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Property: AKA White House
Address: 1710 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-4699
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing