We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!!”
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AKA White House
Ranked #26 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Colombia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I just got back from staying two weeks at the AKA. What a wonderful stay I had. The room (one bedroom) was amazing, well appointed, comfy bed, ample living room space, nice kitchen, everything you need for a long stay. Also, the washer and dryer are a heaven sent!! fantastic!! I did laundry twice while I was there and they even provided the soap. Also, for the kitchen there was soap, towels, sponge and basic things you'd need for cleaning up. They have a dishwasher though. One morning I was rnning late for work so I left a few dirty plates in the sink thinking I'd do them when I got back....oh surprise when I returned that night to find my bed made and my dishes done, PERFECT! Staff at the lobby are super nice. I also used their gym and it was perfect for a quick workout before heading to work. They also provide towels and water in there. The bathroom was very spacious and clean. I overall enjoyed my stay at the AKA very much and I can't wait to return. I would definitely use them again. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorelai25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for the fantastic feedback on your recent experience with us here at AKA White House! With our fully furnished suites, fantastic location, and dedicated staff, AKA White House is your home away from home. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your suite and hotel amenities alike; and found our dedicated staff helpful during your stay! We strive to continue to make AKA White House your number one option when in search of luxury extended stay within Washington, DC. Again, we appreciate your wonderful feedback and look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House.



AKA White House Management

888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    187
    40
    14
    25
See reviews for
224
135
19
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at AKA Whitehouse. Service is great, had no issues what so ever. Can walk to all museums, metro right down street. It is like a condo, full size kitchen, bath and half. Felt quilty having so much room, free HBO.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w0lfe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! Thrilled to hear AKA White House is your number one choice when in search for luxury extended stay in Washington, DC! With our fully furnished suites, central location, and dedicated staff, AKA White House is your home away from home. The best of DC is easily accessible from our door steps, including Smithsonian museums, the National Mall, and the White House is right next door. We are glad to know you enjoyed the comforts of your suite with upgraded HDTV, high speed WiFi, and ample living space. We sincerely thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you home the next time you stay with us here at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were in DC on a family trip, 4 adults and we stayed for 2 nights. The suite was everything we could have wished for, with ample space for comfortable family time, and the bedrooms were very comfortable and well appointed. Great location too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oriana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We sincerely appreciate your fantastic feedback on your experience with us here at AKA White House! Great to hear your visit was full of family enjoyment and your suite was of best comfort. With a fully furnished kitchen, spacious living accommodations, and 24/7 concierge services, AKA White House is your number one choice when in search of luxury extended stay within our nation's capital And with our central location, the best of Washington DC is right at your finger tips including top rated restaurants, The National Mall, and most famous address of all, the White House - all a short walk away. Thank you, again, for your positive feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us here at AKA White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel was in the perfect location for what we wanted and needed to do inD.C. However, I found the concierge to be very hard to understand and either completely unaware of his job description, or just very unhelpful. I rely on the help of the concierge for the "inside scoop" on where to go to eat, and secret gems of the cities I travel to, so this was clearly a big disappointment.
The room was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback! While we are happy to hear your accommodations fit your needs, we do regret any inconvenience caused to you by our front desk. Rest assured this is not a normal occurrence. Our resident representatives are here to assist in all resident needs, 24/7. Whether dinning recommendations, or site-seeing information is requested, our staff is here to exceed all your expectations. Rest assured we will speak with our team and as always, if you require any additional information, please do ask for our Front Office Manager. Please feel free to contact the property directly when booking your next stay so we may assist in designing a stay catered to your specific needs. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House!

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I was in DC for a few days for work and I can't speak highly enough of AKA White House. The staff were great and the room was amazing! They are in a great location that makes it easy to get anywhere on DC. The lobby is welcoming and warm; great lounge. Looking forward to being back sooner rather than later!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank nycnrf00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for positive feedback! Our number one goal is your complete satisfaction and were are thrilled to hear your stay reflected that notion. With our outstanding staff, central location, and fully furnished luxury suites, AKA White House is your number one choice when in search of luxury extended stay. Great to hear you enjoyed a.lounge as well! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THREE LAKES
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My daughter & I stayed at the AKA for 5 nights & had the best time. The accommodations were everything we could ask for - clean, spacious, tastefully decorated - and very comfortable beds. The location is ideal to see all the sights of DC - walking distance to most.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JAYME L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We appreciate your positive feedback! AKA White House is your number one choice when in search of luxury extended stay within our Nation's Capital. Great to hear you enjoyed your suite! Our fully furnished suites, outstanding staff, and central location provide residents an opportunity to experience the highest level of satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed here for four moths while on a temporary work assignment. anf thoroughly enjoyed both the location and accommodations. The staff was friendly and always willing to make things right when something was a little off. I had a few problems when I was first checking in but the General Manager Aaron Gillespie was fantastic and went out of his way to make it right. I highly recommend that if you are considering staying here for a ling period of time that you pick up the phone and call and talk to the local sales agents rather than the agents on the 1-800 number. The 1-800 agents will tell you anything to get you to book and that information is not always 100% accurate - I learned that the hard way. A great big thanks to Aaron for making it right!

After the miscommunication was corrected - I never had any issues and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The front desk clerks were all very helpful and you wont find anyone better than Jeffrey, Pauni, Thao and Aisha or Stephen - the manager.

The room was fantastic and offered most of the amenities from home. The square footage was more than enough to be comfortable during my extended stay. I tire quickly of eating out so I enjoyed being able to cook for myself. Peapod delivers to this location and Whole Foods is a short walk away. If they happen to show up early on their delivery time the front desk will make sure that your food is properly put away so it wont melt all over the hallway.

The bar staff is equally helpful and friendly. Tasha is now gone but Jenny, and now Jeffrey form the front desk, will take care of you. They both know how to make a great Old Fashioned and Jeffrey's dirty Martini is spot on!

If you want to be near the action but not a part of it then this is location. Just ask for a room away from the elevators - unless you want to hear everyone coming and going all day and night.

Room Tip: Avoid room close to the elevator - unless you want to hear everyone coming and going all day and nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback! Our team at AKA White House is dedicated to our residents and guests alike. As such, we are thrilled to hear your stay reflected this notion. We are thrilled to hear your found our Front Desk and Bar staff, along with our GM, accommodating throughout your stay. Our number one goal is your complete satisfaction. Great to hear your enjoyed your suite as well as the a.lounge! Our lounge is available from 4PM-11PM nightly for residents and guests alike to unwind and relax in our plush and inviting atmosphere. With our spacious living accommodations, outstanding staff, and central location, AKA White House is unparalleled in choosing a luxury extended stay in Washington, DC. We greatly appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you “home” again to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
471 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,229 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Property: AKA White House
Address: 1710 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-4699
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing