We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AKA White House
Ranked #26 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a fabulous location in DC very near the White House as the name suggests. Very comfortable. as one reviewer noted it is like a one bedroom apartment. My husband was here on business and I joined him for the weekend. Would be good for long term stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leepa1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We appreciate your comments! AKA White House is your number one option when in search of luxury extended stay. With our spacious living accommodations, central location, and fully furnished suites, AKA is your home away from home. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    182
    38
    14
    24
See reviews for
217
131
19
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 nights. We were allocated a high floor at the back of the building away from the lifts. The apartment was large and well equipped although as other reviewers have noted some of the decor is quite badly scuffed and the bathrooms could do with some attention. It is is a great location and, despite what we were told by the front desk the day we arrived, there is a food store nearby: Whole Foods at 2201 I St NW. It's right by Foggy Bottom metro station or a 10 minute walk. There are also numerous coffee shops and restaurants nearby although, as the area is extremely quiet at weekends, coffee shops don't open until 8am or later and some restaurants do not open at all on Sunday.

Our main issue with AKA White House was the service: housekeeping was dire. One day we arrived back at 5.30pm to find our rooms were just being cleaned. Other days we had to request cleaning even though we had paid for daily. The front desk told me they were busy with new arrivals rooms. Simple solution: employ some more housekeeping staff. We were also pretty irrtated to return one day to find our dishwasher full and running as housekeeping was using it to wash equipment from other apartments. This was bizarre and we never got an explanation as to why all of the plates, glasses, utensils were just left with us. We also found the front desk staff were less than helpful. A decent concierge service would be a great addition.

Parking here is extremely expensive. Unfortunately, we could not avoid bringing the car and had to park it in the underground garage (which was locked all weekend!) next door at a cost of $35 per night through AKA. Would have been a lot cheaper to have arranged it direct.

Room Tip: High floor, away from lifts, back of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerning1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Feedback like yours is crucial to the success of our business, and it allows AKA White House to grow as a leader in luxury extended stay.

While we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the location and accommodations, we were disappointed with your below comments and would like to address them:

As an extended stay, our housekeeping differs from normal hotels, and our housekeeping staff works to ensure all suites are serviced, between 8AM and 6PM. While we do our best to clean all suites as fast as possible, sometimes suites do get serviced later in the day, especially when we are at or near capacity. All residents are more than welcome to request to have their scheduled cleanings done at certain times.

Regarding the dishwasher running, the housekeepers do run the dirty dishes in the dishwasher for each resident with each cleaning. As each apartment has its own dishwasher, the housekeeper would only run that apartment dishes through that dishwasher.

All residents are offered parking at $35 per night. This includes unlimited access, with in-and-out capabilities, 24/7. Residents have private access to this 24/7 while most garages in the city do not allow entry or exit during the overnight hours. If you compare pricing in the city our $35 cost per night is online with the city offering for overnight parking. Anytime a resident sees the garage door is closed, they may call the Front Desk, and we are more than happy to open it so residents may gain access.

Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to exceeding your expectations upon your return to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is a great extended stay option for folks in DC. The rooms are essentially a one bedroom apartment, equipped with full kitchen, 2 bathrooms and a living room. Was perfect for my business trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We greatly appreciate the positive feedback! Our guest’s satisfaction is our number one priority and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for the feedback, we and look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A family of five members, we stayed for 3 nights. First time in D.C., the city surprised us with a lot to do in tjose 3 days. The hotel is incredibly well located (200m to the Whitehouse) and the apartments are ample and very well sourced. The two rooms were large and beds were very comfortable. The living room, was well sorted: we had dinner there two nights and we had everything to cook, a new washing machine and dryer. If you go to D.C., I would encourage you to take a look.

We had a last-minute problem with one of my kids' backpacks, which the hotel has not yet found. Lets hope we are able to find it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAS720910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We appreciate the positive comments! With our fantastic location, spacious living accommodations, and fully furnished suites, AKA White House cannot be beat. We are thrilled to hear you and your family enjoyed their time in Washington, DC while staying with us. Regarding the backpack, we do apologize for the delay, but we understand it has been located and picked up by you. Thank you again for the great feedback and we look forward to your next lodging dates with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

my better half found this gem of a place after carrying out an extensive online search and boy, were we happy with this location. my father had flown in from Saudi Arabia and we had an extensive training with EasyPower in Annapolis, MD. we would drive off every morning leaving the wife and kids to explore the DC area.
here goes:
1) perfect location, in close proximity to local downtown attractions, eateries (and frat parties!)
2) courteous staff
3) roof top terrace (for your smoking urge)
4) clean and spacious
great place to stay at even if you are staying for a few nights.
my only qualm was that the facility seemed dated and the bathroom fixtures could have used an overhaul.
highly recommended for the DC area.

Room Tip: higher floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OmerI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for the great feedback! Our number one priority is our guest’s satisfaction and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to locate us online! With our fully furnished suites, spacious living accommodations, and outstanding staff, AKA White House is your number one choice when in search of luxury extended stay within Washington, DC. Regarding the facilities and bathroom fixtures, we do apologize for any inconvenience. Rest assured, your comments have been taken into consideration. Upon your next trip to DC, we look forward to welcoming you back to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stay AKA White House offered very spacious rooms, with full kitchens and washer/dryer facilities. Steps from the White House, the area couldn't be more convenient for work or sightseeing. 2mins from the front door will also bring you to the closest Metro stop, Farragut West. In the other direction, the Smithsonian museums and the National Mall are around 10-15mins walk.

I spent 3 weeks in a one bedroom suite, and though there were signs of wear and tear, it was not anything that affected the quality of my stay overall. I was also told that the rooms are progressively being refurbished, which would make this property very difficult to beat. DC hotels can be very expensive, but for my money, there was nothing close to the standard that AKA White House provided. Other serviced suites from brands like Residence Inn came in at well over $40 more on average per night and were nowhere near as well located.

The service was exceptionally good. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Miles and Maria in particular stood out for their warmth and ability to make my stay as comfortable and smooth as possible.

There was a Whole Foods within 5-7mins walk, so stocking up with essentials is incredibly easy. Even easier was taking advantage of the various delivery services, from Instacart (grocery deliveries from Whole Foods, Harris Teeter, Safeway, Costco, etc for a very reasonable fee) to GrubHub/Seamless, and Delivery.com if you want a selection of meals delivered to your suite.

Overall there are very few negatives I can think of, other than the walls perhaps being a tad too thin? Would absolutely book again based on the amazing 3 weeks I spent there. I hope on my next visit, I will get to stay in a renovated room. I now understand why this hotel is constantly sold out.

Room Tip: Penthouse level rooms are the newly renovated ones. A rear-facing room will probably encounter less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We greatly appreciate the positive feedback! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience all DC has to offer! With our unparalleled location, residents and guest alike need only step outside to be within walking distance to the great Museums, Monuments, and fantastic sites only in DC!

Our suites were designed with you, our guest, in mind. With fully furnished kitchens, washer and dryers in-suite, and spacious accommodations, AKA White House is your home away from home. Our dedicated concierge team is also here to facilitate your stay and ensure you are taken care of from checking in, to when you depart. We are glad to hear our staff made your stay enjoyable and were able to assist you with any needs.

Regarding your walls within your suite, we do apologize for the inconvenience. We actively re-paint our suites when needed, and will be discussing this with our team. Additionally, as we are in a centralized location, all noise cancellation is not possible, however, we are more than happy to relocate a guest if they inquire, contingent on availability.

We thank you again for your fantastic feedback! Upon booking your next stay, please feel free to contact us directly when booking so we may assist in designed a stay catered to your specific needs. We look forward to “welcoming you home” to AKA White House in the near future.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
309 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stay at AKA Hotels when I can. The quality and service is usually top-notch. I was very disappointed to see the state of disrepair in this hotel. While a lot of attention went into updating and renovating the bar and reception area, the rest of the hotel was left looking like a poor relation that never gets invited to family reunions. In the hallways, the carpets are old and musty smelling, with many stains. My room looked dingy. Nothing a new coat of paint couldn't fix, but the scuff marks and smudges on the wall really made the place look cheap. The bathroom had fixtures that were obviously repaired in a hurry and poorly. I was scared to move the shower door since it screeched like its life was ending. When I used to stay here before they included gave you a few complimentary water bottles. Nothing like that on this stay, however.

The rooms are spacious, have all the amenities you need, and its a great value for the money. Not to mention the great location. But its a shame that the rooms have not been taken care of. And I did not expect the level of noise I experienced. Not sure why sounds echo in the halls, music was blaring, and worst of all…. I could hear the person upstairs when they used the bathroom!!! Nothing a good renovation couldn't fix. But honestly, I expect more from an AKA.

Room Tip: get a room away from the elevators. The ones right across from the elevators get a lot of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Front Office Manager at AKA White House, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We do regret any inconvenience you may have experienced due to your suite and suite location.

Unfortunately, we are a property in downtown Washington, and as such, all noise cancellation is impossible.

Regarding your suite, we do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. All of our suites are inspected three times prior to any arrival to ensure they are ready for all incoming guests. As such, this is not a normal occurrence to have suites with no water bottles, and scuff marks on the walls. We encourage all residents to contact the front desk immediately if they are not 100% satisfied with their suite or suite location so we may re-locate you to another suite.

As with all of our resident’s the sooner you can convey any shortfall that you have experienced, the sooner we are able to remedy the situation and provide you with above and beyond customer satisfaction.

Any insight into your specific suite number provided to dc@stayaka.com would be greatly appreciated so we may investigate these comments thoroughly.

We greatly appreciate feedback like yours, so we may continue to grow the success of our business. As our number one goal is your complete satisfaction, we invite you to stay with us again so we may exceed any and all expectations. In advance of your next stay, please feel free to contact us while booking so we may submit any special requests or answer any questions so we may assist in designing a stay to cater your needs.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next lodging dates at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
457 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
1,176 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Property: AKA White House
Address: 1710 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-4699
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing