We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“strongly advised, great location, good room and great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
American Guest House
Ranked #7 of 36 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“strongly advised, great location, good room and great breakfast”
Reviewed 1 October 2007

it's true: the location is very good, few minutes walking to adams morgan, to dupont circle metro station and well located to many nice places (M and N street and so on).
dupont circle area is very nice and in the night offers a good variety of restaurants and bars where to dine.
the rooms are nice and the breakfast rich and good.
only a problem: everywhere is dark because the windows are locked and the curtains down; the air conditioning (as everywhere in washington it seems) is very cold, so even if outside is a nice and warm summer day, inside is fully autumn.

  • Liked — location, breakfast
  • Disliked — no front desk service and no one around over the breakfast time
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kay_tay_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    135
    23
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
173
121
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, CT
Level Contributor
173 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2007

I will start w/ the bad. It's not a 5 star hotel but boy does it meet and exceed expectations in DC.

The situation was that DC was packed and even the lousy hotels were being advertised at $350 and up. I turned to my travel planner and they found me a box hotel in VA and I needed to be in DC and MD.

Turned to Tripadvisor and went through the B&B's and came up w/ this one @ 3 blocks from were we used to live in DC. Just a really great stay w/ terrific personalized service.

Got a superb mid-week price, they have photos on their site so you can check out each room. I took room 203 which was 1 flight up in back. Website said a bit small room w/ big bed. True but the mattress was wonderful, the molding and non-working fireplace was a joy to look at, the shower was hot and comfortable and the people working there could not have been nicer. P.S. everything was VERY clean.

I walked up from Dupont Circle Metro stop ( ate at the Bistrot Coin on Connecticut Ave which was just a great, French lunch) and continued on to the Guesthouse. About a 10 minute walk. Also appears to be a bus stop @40 feet from the front door (Bus 42) that will bring you down to the metro.

Lady greeting me was just terrific, she walked me through the breakfast and snack room (where soda, water etc. are avilable for a nominal fee all day and night long), showed me the living room where you can relax w/ guesthouse suppled periodicals, as well as there is a computer and printer there for your use, and explained in detail where everything was and how breakfast worked in the morn etc.

Room was very quitet, although you heard people moving @ like you do in your own home, the security at the front door is heavily emphasized for your safety, the breakfast Ole (sp?) lays out in the morning w/ fruit, yogurt, bread, cereal, juices, delicious coffee and on order eggs were just terrific.

For a very busy guy it was my one 15 minutes of the day when I could relax. Neighborhood is good but it has always been the same for the last 15 years in Adams Morgan or any big city is ....you also have to be careful. Cabs were across the street at the Hilton and there is public parking 2 blocks away. Terrific ethnic restaurants both in Dupont and Adams Morgan, all 2-6 blocks away.

Loved my stay at the American Guesthouse and I will be back !

  • Liked — Great service
  • Disliked — Nada
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MysticKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2007

This guest house is fantastic - friendly staff, great rooms, an amazing array of food for breakfast (definitely try the omelette), in a convenient and pretty area. So much better than staying in a cheap motel or hostel and a great opportunity to meet people from all over the world - we came from England and met both Americans from all over and Europeans too! Clean, good facilities, lots of helpful information available for days out and travel, and there's free internet and wi-fi connection. What more could you ask for?

  • Liked — the friendly staff and facilities (food especially)
  • Disliked — the stairs up to our room as it was on the top floor
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zoe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

We were on the top floor in a large, pretty room with beautiful wood floors, warmly furnished, with a small bathroom, a tiny fridge -- very convenient for water and fruit -- and a TV. Lots of drawer space. No closet so a rack with hangers for clothes. The comfortable bed had soft linen, good pillows and a cozy comforter. And a fan above the bed. The room has lots of light.

There's WiFi but it's slow.

Breakfast: eggs are the hot dish. There's a big choice of cold cereals, breads, yogurts, sweet breads, juices and coffee and tea.

The room, the bathroom, the stairs, the dining room and sitting room are very clean.

The staff is friendly, helpful and welcoming.

It's a ten-minute walk to Dupont Circle with its many restaurants and movies and the Metro stop. There were lots of cabs at the nearby Hilton.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfort, beautiful house
  • Disliked — Slow WiFi, small bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynDoughnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2007

Enjoyed our stay very much. Reasonably priced, located close to Dupont Circle, many good restaurants in the area. Comfortable, quiet rooms in a beautiful heritage building (originally a senator's private home, I believe). Wireless internet throughout and guest computer in the sitting room. Generous breakfast with superb Brazilian coffee. Extremely friendly and welcoming hosts. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank AllenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2007

Nice Place to stay in the D.C. area. Great location, close to all kinds of restaurants. Very nice area, lots of interesting sites nearby. Very clean rooms. Great breakfast. Owners very nice and helpful. Only problem I had is with the parking. There is parking available, just would have been nicer if it was in a more conveinent location. Nice place at a great price.

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lrosan, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review, 8 May 2007
Please note this guest said "Great Location' which we are. However we do not offer parking, we refer our guests to the nearest public garage parking 1 1/2 blocks away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, HI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2007

This B&B is a delightful Victorian oasis in the midst of DC. The owners are VERY accomodating and eager to please. Breakfast is a collegial affair with lots of choices and prepared for each guest individually. Several of us from Hawaii stayed there for a national conference and we all agreed we are planning to return next year.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Step at bottom of main staircase
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gr8fulKailua-Kona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,438 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#43 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,965 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Guest House

Property: American Guest House
Address: 2005 Columbia Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-1310
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — American Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Guest House is a well appointed 12 bedroom with en suite bathrooms Washington DC Bed and Breakfast located in a historic 1893 Venetian Gothic building near the Washington Hilton Hotel. Within 10 minutes walk to Dupont Circle Metro, and within a 10 to 15-minute walk to Wardman Park and Omni Shoreham Hotels, well known DC Convention Hotels. We are located near Dupont Circle in the historic Kalorama neighborhood, now neighbors with Trump. This DC Bed and breakfast is located near about 1 mile to White House (about 25 minutes by foot), about 1 mile from the National Zoo and 2 miles from the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments. Our neighborhood is a trendy, upscale, safe and beautiful DC area in the heart of the city. Great area to stroll around and enjoy the beautiful old mansions. Within walking distance, you'll find several of Washington DC's best restaurants, as well as the Phillips Art Gallery, Embassy Row, specialty shops, and even Rock Creek Park with its beautiful cycling and hiking trails. Culture is plentiful in DC with its majestic theaters, shows, ethnically diverse dining options, and beuatiful monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HostelWorld so you can book your American Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Guest House Hotel Washington Dc
American Guest House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing