We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
American Guest House
Ranked #7 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Experience in DC”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I booked our accommodation the night before arriving on the internet. Email contact from the B&B was immediate and we found the location easily and it was as it turned out really well placed to get around being on a bus route straight outside and close to the bustling Du Pont Circle. We were welcomed by Lisa who is I think not only the manager but also a good cook and great hostess. We were made to feel very welcome and we have had four nights here. Although we were on the top floor, fourth floor where the street level is the first floor we actually enjoyed the fitness of using the stairs and we found the room warm, welcoming and quiet at night. The bathroom at least peared to have been recently upgraded and it had a good finish with a great shower. We found Lisa and all her staff friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed each of our filling tasty breakfasts on offer. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, choice of cereals, cooked breakfasts which ranged from waffles, omelettes, eggs on potatoes with turkey(?) sausage, all yummy and great when capped off with tasty home made muffins. If we needed assistance, Lisa in particular, was always there to assist, clarify or just deliver nice friendly conversation.
We are hoping that our next B&B is as friendly when we leave tomorrow.
I wouldn't hesitate in staying again or referring friends.
Thanks so much with helping us really enjoy our DC experience!

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage or are physically impaired it would be good to ask for a room on a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    135
    23
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
173
122
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Another trip to Washington and a decision as to where to stay. I opted for what I knew would be good and returned to the American Guest House. Why?
# The rates are competitive
# It is a house not a hotel - relaxed, informal, like a home.
# I stayed 5 nights and it's so much more comfortable when staying more than just a night.
# The breakfasts cannot be beaten. Lisa cooked something different every morning.
# Then there is tea, coffee, hot chocolate any time. Lisa baked fresh cookies as well!

The walk down to the office on K Street took 15 minutes and in the evening you are spoilt for choice for places to eat on nearby 18th.

The WIFI is good and you can work at the dining table or relax in the lounge.

Room Tip: 403 is spacious - perfect if you are there for a few nights. It's up a few flights of stairs but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougvdA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband and I are locals but we decided to take a one night stay-cation at the American Guest House last week. We had such a wonderful stay and couldn't have asked for a better room, wonderful staff, and an amazing delicious breakfast! I would recommend this B&B to anyone, you will not be disappointed. Also, it's location is so convenient to all the restaurants. Even though it is in a busy area it feels as if you are on a quiet street outside of the city. We had a wonderful stay and were very rested after our time at the American Guest House! Thank you to all the staff!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krismyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, spotless clean, comfortable bed, delicious hot breakfast, safe area to walk, convenient to DuPont Circle metro and tourist sites. I would stay here again anytime.

My ratings for this hotel:
5/5 Value
5/5 Rooms
5/5 Location
5/5 Cleanliness
5/5 Service
5/5 Sleep Quality

Thanks a million!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilderfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The regular mega-hotels were just too out of reach for me tabling on a nonprofit budget, and the reviews of hotels in the DuPont Circle area were sketchy, so I kept digging until I found this one. It was just a block or two from my conference, right off Connecticut Avenue and on the edge of Adams-Morgan with all kinds of neat eateries. It was like staying at someone's home. Breakfast included a couple from UK, a Polish couple, a couple from Australia, and a Chinese man.

No it wasn't luxurious and it was a bit worn, but the price was so much more reasonable than other hotels in the area. Would definitely return there as a tourist.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetALife56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Very well located inn, with super friendly and helpful staff. The room was clean and characterful, but a little small and pokey at times - but normal for an older building. One thing to be aware of is that there isn't any parking on site, and on street parking isn't great. We ended up paying $90 for a few days of parking at the nearby Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Really enjoyed staying at the B&B while at a conference in the Hilton (right around the corner). I enjoyed the unique details of this B&B over another boring conference center. The breakfast was really delicious and convenient and the rooms were well stocked with the amenities you'd expect at a hotel.

The street noise was substantial in my room facing the street on the second floor (not too much you can do about that in DC). You may want to ask about a room at the back or just bring ear plugs.

Room Tip: Higher floors or rooms at the back of the building may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parker J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
946 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
6,550 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,030 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Embassy Circle Guest House
Embassy Circle Guest House
#2 of 35 in Washington DC
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Guest House

Property: American Guest House
Address: 2005 Columbia Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-1310
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — American Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Guest House is a well appointed 12 bedroom with en suite bathrooms Washington DC Bed and Breakfast located in a historic 1893 Venetian Gothic building near the Washington Hilton Hotel. Within 10 minutes walk to Dupont Circle Metro, and within a 10 to 15-minute walk to Wardman Park and Omni Shoreham Hotels, well known DC Convention Hotels. We are located near Dupont Circle in the historic Kalorama neighborhood, now neighbors with Trump. This DC Bed and breakfast is located near about 1 mile to White House (about 25 minutes by foot), about 1 mile from the National Zoo and 2 miles from the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments. Our neighborhood is a trendy, upscale, safe and beautiful DC area in the heart of the city. Great area to stroll around and enjoy the beautiful old mansions. Within walking distance, you'll find several of Washington DC's best restaurants, as well as the Phillips Art Gallery, Embassy Row, specialty shops, and even Rock Creek Park with its beautiful cycling and hiking trails. Culture is plentiful in DC with its majestic theaters, shows, ethnically diverse dining options, and beuatiful monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your American Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Guest House Hotel Washington Dc
American Guest House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing