We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Visiting Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anderson House

Anderson House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #86 of 428 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore the Society of the Cincinnati's historic headquarters, Anderson House, a National Historic Landmark that has been the Society's home since 1938. The Society and its American Revolution Institute work to honor the men and women who won American independence in the Revolutionary War by supporting advanced study, presenting exhibitions and other public programs, advocating preservation, and providing resources to teachers and students. Tours of Anderson House reveal the history of the Society of the Cincinnati, the significance of the American Revolution, and the lives and collections of the home's first owners, Larz and Isabel Anderson. The mansion was completed in 1905 for the Andersons, a wealthy couple who devoted their lives to public service, travel, entertaining, collecting, and philanthropy-interests and activities that are reflected in Anderson House, where much of the couple's art collection and furnishings are still on display. Guided tours begin at 15 minutes past each hour. Anderson House also offers a changing exhibition gallery, a research library, and an active calendar of public programs.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Visiting Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is such an amazing attraction that is usually missed by most tourists. I cannot recommend the Anderson House highly enough. It is a fantastic place to visit, and you will learn a lot about the history of the city during your visit. The mansion is gorgeous, and when you are inside you definitely forget that you are in DC and not in Europe.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank amy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    31
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Christmas tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We did this as part of the Christmas Historic homes tour. It is an opulent rococo mansion... Definitely fun to see!! I would say this is one of the best home tours in DC.

Helpful?
1 Thank iamleia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maumelle
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great old house and story”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

You must see this house! It is beautiful inside, with wonderful antiques, views and artwork. The story of this home and its original owners is unusual. I enjoyed the time viewing the home, but some of the explanations were too long and involved for me on a rainy afternoon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing Home with History to Match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Anderson House was part of my Plan B since my original sightseeing plan was derailed due to the shutdown but it really should be moved up on anyone’s list. It has an excellent story well matched to its beauty and staging. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of the Society of the Cincinnati before visiting here but it is an inspiring part of American history, even if not well known, dating back to 1783 which continues today. And, the Anderson’s were an amazing and generous couple who would be pleased to know their home is so well cared for and appreciated by both the Society and the public. This building is very close to the Phillips Collection and Woodrow Wilson house so you could easily do all three in a day. Our tour guide was well informed and provided many interesting details and stories about the Andersons, the Society and the house. Highly recommended, if somewhat off the beaten path.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank tripper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, NJ
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“More than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We thought it was just an old house to walk through, but were surprised when offered a guided tour by a very knowledgeable docent. The history of the house and its occupants was fascintating and well worth the time spent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank boardhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anderson House also viewed

 

Been to Anderson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing