We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating Victorian Home”

Heurich House Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
Dupont Circle and Embassy Row Architecture Tour
Ranked #120 of 447 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic Dupont Circle home of German immigrant and brewmaster Christian Heurich (1842-1945) and family The mansion was built from 1892-94 by German immigrant, local brewer, and philanthropist Christian Heurich (1842-1945). He and his family lived in their Dupont Circle home from its completion in 1894 until his wife's death in 1956. Recognized as Washington, DC's most successful brewer, he ran the Chr. Heurich Brewing Co., the city's longest-operating brewery (1873-1956), until his death at 102. The mansion is notable for its fireproof construction, original interiors, and family collections. The museum, located at 1307 New Hampshire Avenue in Dupont Circle, is open for regular public events and guided tours Thursday through Saturday at 11:30 am, 1:00 and 2:30 pm. Private tours and event rentals are also available.
Astoria, New York
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fascinating Victorian Home”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This house was my favorite thing I saw on my most recent visit to DC. We were staying in the Dupont neighborhood and happened upon the tour by chance at just the right time! You can see the house by guided tour only on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays. For only $5, we had a fascinating tour through many of the rooms in this Victorian mansion. The house is quirky and beautiful, and we learned a lot about a usually unknown DC character and his family. It turns out Mr. Heurich was quite influential in the development of DC properties (including the Kennedy Center!) The guide was so knowledgeable; this is definitely worth more than the asked for admission! It is not within walking distance of the traditional DC attractions, but it is near the wonderful Anderson House and the Phillips Collection--sights that are not very crowded. I would recommend this to anyone!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phebe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    22
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hidden gem”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The four star review breaks down to five stars for the mansion and three stars for the tour guide. I'd definitely recommend the Heurich House as something to do in DC that's off the beaten path. The downside was that the tour guide was a little off putting. It was a little awkward that she commented several times about how the tour this particular day was all men, when she's used to giving tours to groups of ladies. The tour could have been a little more informative, and it's not too exciting when you're just told what's behind all the closed doors, instead of just showing or leaving it to the imagination.

In the end, though, I'd recommend checking it out. The house was beautiful, and there's definitely some interesting features. It was a welcome respite on a hot day, and you should check it out if you have the time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Amazing old house”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

If you want to know what the inside of a rich brewer's family house looked like during 19th century, this is where to go. Very interesting! Parking is a problem so plan to walk to it. Dupont Circle nearby has lots of places to eat afterwards!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TolerantTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
582 reviews
274 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in downtown DC”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I've lived in DC for years and never knew this museum existed. The Dupont Kalorama Museums Consortium organized an open house walk weekend so I walked in. What a gem! Built in 1842, this 4 story house on New Hampshire is on the National Register of Historic Places and almost overwhelms with its Victorian and German decoration The owner was a German immigrant and local brewer who bought many works from Germany and brought German craftsmen in to do elaborate wood carvings all over the house. Each room has a card explaining the basics of the room and the major pieces of furniture, art or decoration. Because his brewery had suffered fires, Heurich built his house of reinforced steel and concrete to be fireproof. None of the 15 fireplaces has ever been used because he also installed innovative plumbing and heating. There is a small, enclosed garden out back where the former carriage house stands.

The house is open Thursday to Saturday and only to small groups led by Docents, so it's advisable to reserve ahead of time. Well worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cfuller603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool house tour and great beer tasting event”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

In May Bluejacket brewery did the tasting, 3 really nice beers, my favorite was the one brewed with Mad Fox brewery in VA, called the Instigator doppelbock and the Ipa was awesome too, can't wait for them to open later this summer.

I think the museum will have a different craft brewery each month with the tour on the third Thursday, will definitely go back, the house and gardens are gorgeous.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jofannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heurich House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Heurich House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing