We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Masonic temple”

House of the Temple
Ranked #135 of 442 things to do in Washington DC
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,740 reviews
1,445 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,509 helpful votes
“Masonic temple”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The House of the Temple is a Masonic temple. The architecture is inspired in one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. It's a massive building with a peculiar style for DC.
From outside it's not very interesting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fiddletown, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“For me this was a "bucket list" item!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The House of the Temple will be most interesting if you and/or your family are at all involved with the Freemasonic fraternity (Free & Accepted Masons). It will be a mind blower if you have had no preparation for just how integral the organization has been in the world, if even at a lesser measure, as of late. Tours are granted for free to Masons and their families, however there was a $10 fee for non Masons. the tour guides are sweet, informative, pleasant, and rather bright. There is a lot to see, and if you have difficulty with stairs, an elevator is provided. There is just SO MUCH to see, from the iconography, to the architecture, to the museums, the library, it really is an hour to two hours minimum. There is also a gift shop which sells some of the more rare-ish books. Excellent selections there and I could have dropped a house payment in that tiny book store. Bring a camera (I did, as you can see below). If you are a Mason with some semi-disinterested family members/friends, take them to this place, and see if they don't change the tune. It is just awesome. Take a cab there if you can, parking is horrible, but cabbies are flying by all day.
Bottom line: They say you should never try to meet your heroes, and to a large extent this place held as much expectation as many of my heroes combined. Reason for this rule of not meeting heroes being that the reality of it is not as grandiose as what you expect. It turned out the rule was not applicable in this particular instance. If you have the desire, the means and the time, do yourself a favor and check it out. The door just swings right in, no knocking necessary. Hope you have a great time! So Mote it Be

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Myself, my sons and teenage granddaughters went to the Temple not knowing what to expect of the tour. A well versed young woman was our guide and she gave a detailed tour with historical background. The architecture is beautiful, not overly ornate but all beautifully crafted. My granddaughters were particularly enthralled with the large library. There were rooms that housed many interesting displays of personal items and stories belonging to famous people who were Masons. This tour is well worth a visit. I would not recommend the tour for families with very young children.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mc335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentfield, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Someone said you should go here for the insides are beautiful and the craftmanship is amazing all of which is true. The tour guide was quite informative and you can take one anytime you show up which is helpful when you don't want to wait for one. The different rooms were quite something with how they were built and I don't believe they could be duplicated today. One thing I would bring a water bottle and dress lightly for it is warm in some of the rooms are don't have AC. I also learned quite a bit about what the Freemasons were all about which was worthwhile and quite informative which displaced a number of myths and untrues about them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“It was just okay...”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Maybe it was because we had just seen the Masonic Temple in Philadelphia but this temple was just okay. The architecture was nice but the rooms weren't decorated as grandly as the temple in Philly. We had to wait a long time for our tour which also kind of ruined the visit for me. It wasn't as if the place was busy, the tour guides were just sitting at the desk gossiping. After about half an hour we watched a video then the tour got started. Our tour guides must have been new because they basically read off a script. There are some interesting displays which I think is worth seeing. However I think this place may have more value as a self guided tour accompanied by a recording rather than utilizing the tour guides. Also parking is very difficult to find. The temple has a good sized parking lot in the back which they won't allow you to park in as it is reserved for employees only. When I went the parking lot was completely empty except for 2 cars. I offered to pay a fee to park there and they still declined. What a waste of good parking space.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank iLive4Adventuring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of the Temple also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to House of the Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing