We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park I'd never seen before”
Review of Meridian Hill Park

Meridian Hill Park
Ranked #149 of 437 things to do in Washington DC
Attraction details
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Went for only one reason. I read in the Washington Post about the statue of Joan of Arc here which has had its sword stolen four or five times. Had to see it. Has its sword right now and the park is a little gem. Parking a premium though

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Chinapjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"joan of arc"
in 5 reviews
"great green space"
in 2 reviews
"cascading"
in 8 reviews
"picnic"
in 14 reviews
"benches"
in 6 reviews
"fountain"
in 17 reviews
"trees"
in 3 reviews
"tourists"
in 3 reviews
"statue"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Surprise Surprise! We’ve stumbled upon a wonderful gem of an outdoor park in this city!
Lots of rich experiences here as we consumed our great picnic lunch from Henry’s Soul Cafe!
Nice large area to people watch walk dogs use the restrooms and picnic too. Loads of fun and & some drumming & dancing entertainment on occasion at end near to restrooms! Pleasant and friendly ambiance benches and a few tables to dine or enjoy solitude in nature! Many on skateboards about this large scale neighborhood area too.
We definitely appreciate the great Green space we’ve had here for our visit today!
Love that it’s maintained as well as it is...
I was quite pleased.
Bathrooms could use better attention and water levels for watching hands is at a trickle! Very glad to observe and spend time in this wonderful urban community space!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank legacyendeavors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

First of all, there are literally 4 designated parking spaces, and local residents were using them as their own permanent parking spaces. The second day we tried to go, we finally took a chance and parked in a permit only resident spot. I’m glad we didn’t get a ticket, because what we found was a run-down, graffiti-tagged, littered dog park. Such a sad shame. This is the first National Park I’ve ever felt was a waste of my vacation time. The fountains you see in the old photos don’t work. There is no water anywhere. Trash covers the grounds and all of the grass has been worn away by dogs. It also stinks from dog waste.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We visited during the fall, and while the park was still beautiful with colorful leaves and rich with history, the fountains were off and pools were dry.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank bneverha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Not sure what we were expecting as we were going off a 2007 National Park stamp, but what we found was a remnant if it’s former glory. Arriving at dusk we found a fountain system in disrepair and it had been for some time. Poorly lit the park was well used by surrounding residents but lacked little evidence of its glorious past. View of downtown has been obscured for many years by an uninteresting block of flats. Little parking so unless you have a particular interest would not bother. Such a shame....

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank leannes927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meridian Hill Park also viewed

 

Been to Meridian Hill Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing