We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and not meant for business trips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Ranked #30 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Overpriced and not meant for business trips”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Overpriced hotel in DC that takes advantage of the proximity to the Convention Center. However, it is full of families and noisy kids, so don't expect to have a quiet, professional business stay. The restaurant choices are no better than an average diner, and the complimentary breakfast doesn't meet international standards. It's impossible to even get a proper espresso in the morning. The good news is that there's a Starbucks across the street!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Miguel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesHill900, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello Miguel,

I would like to apologize for your experience here at my hotel. While we do tend to be a popular hotel for families with children, we go out of our way to ensure that we are equally accommodating to business travelers and professionals. I will send you a separate note and would appreciate the opportunity to personally connect and see if I can do something to win you back. I assure you that we make every effort to ensure our guests leave happy and we certainly want to make this up to you.

Thank you for selecting us for your trip and I am hopeful I can figure out a way to make it up to you.

Best Regards,
Charles Hill
Charles.Hill@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,593
    987
    239
    94
    57
See reviews for
1,397
385
74
825
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Talk to ATT for 25 min to fix internet connection on a first place , then it didn't work anyway. I could not send over the internet simple messages through the mail programs. Bed was not very comfortable especially in comparison to many hotels I travel for a business purpose across the country. If you travel for business and need good internet connection, this is not your hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Iryna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesHill900, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi Iryna,

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with our internet system and the comfort of your bed. We take these matters very seriously and our front desk is always on hand to help in situations such as these. Please always feel free to reach out in a situation like this so that we can assist with the issue. Additionally, we have several kiosks and a business center in the hotel which also provide internet service available to all guests.

Thank you for selecting us for your trip we hope in the future we will have an opportunity to provide a better experience for you.

Best Regards,
Charles Hill
Charles.Hill@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I've stayed in a number of different hotels in DC. I was attending an event at the convention center and decided to stay at the Embassy Suites. It is very convenient to the convention center. I like having a separate bedroom and living area. The suite has a small microwave and fridge, which is helpful. The breakfast is a nice perk. I upgraded to the top floor and had a nice corner room with a view. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesHill900, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello Drmgeorge,

I appreciate you taking a moment to write such a kind review of my hotel. The two-room suites really allow for more space and lounge room and I'm glad you enjoyed this amenity. I see you also took advantage of the free breakfast and close proximity to the convention center. I'm always happy to hear our guests enjoyed their stay and we are ready to welcome you back anytime as a home away from home. Till then.

Best Regards,
Charles Hill
Charles.Hill@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We traveled to DC for a combination of family and business. Stayed at the Embassy on 10th and it was pretty nice. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was included and high quality. The hotel was quiet for the most part. It was much busier on the weekend (we were there Wed-Sat). Parking was expensive at +$40 a day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altrego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesHill900, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Greetings Altrego,

I'm happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed a nice, quiet, clean and comfortable stay with us. As always, we welcome the feedback we receive from our guests and certainly appreciate you taking the time to do so. Parking can be a little more in the downtown DC area, particularly near the convention center but we hope our free breakfast and evening reception helped to alleviate some of that cost. We look forward to the opportunity to host you and your family again. Until then, happy and safe travels.

Best Regards,
Charles Hill
Charles.Hill@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights; Excellent hotel and super breakfast (in fact, the best thing is the breakfast that my kids loved). Parking is expensive though. We parked in the nearby parking lot that was cheaper. We stayed for a convention and it is very close to the DC convention center.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AbbuM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesHill900, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Greetings Abbu,

Nothing like enjoying a trip where the kids are happy, glad we could be of help with that! I appreciate you taking a moment to give us such positive feedback. Parking can tend to run on the higher end, particularly in Downtown DC and this close to the convention center but we aim to offset some of those extra costs with our free breakfast, roomy suites and evening reception. Thank you again for your stay and we hope to have you back with us soon.

Best Regards,
Charles Hill
Charles.Hill@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here during a 4-day conference in Washington DC. Walking distance to the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. I asked for a room with a pull-out bed and got a massive corner room!!! Was a wonderful stay - very clean, friendly front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with out pull out bed (even if you don't intend to use it!) Larger room fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Student_DOcs_onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesHill900, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello Future_DOS,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the roominess of the corner suite and of course, we would be happy to welcome you back in the future! Until then, safe and happy travels!

Best Regards,
Charles Hill
Charles.Hill@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This Embassy Suites has been one of the best Suites I've ever stayed at. The majority of the staff are friendly and extremely helpful. Their breakfast options are great - made to order omelets and eggs. They offer a good variety and the line staff are effecient and friendly. The Evening Reception is great too! The bartenders awesome - especially Regina. The reception staff work are friendly and work diligently to keep the serving line clean and bowls and platters filled.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesHill900, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi Annette,

thank you for the kind review! As someone who clearly knows the Embassy Suites brand I am honored that we have been rated one of the best by you. We certainly work hard to be the friendliest hotel in DC and are always appreciate when guests notice and comment on this. I will be sure to let Regina know how awesome you thought she was! Come again soon.

Best Regards,
Charles Hill
Charles.Hill@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
364 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Address: 900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-4405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing