We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Space and food, very practical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Ranked #34 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Space and food, very practical”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The suite, with a bedroom and a sitting room, is very spacious for a hotel. The set up let one person watch TV while the other slept. While there was no stove for cooking or large refrigerator, there was a microwave and a half refrigerator. We did not need more. As for other considerations, a full breakfast is served. You can have eggs cooked to order with omelet fillings. There is also fruit and cereal. Coffee and juice are also there. This is a huge plus for a D.C. hotel. We also had a free drink most nights at the happy hour. While not premium beers or wine, very nice, and they slacked our thirst just fine. The carpets are not plush and deep and the bed is nice but not cushy. The walls are covered with modest pictures and art work is at a minimum. All in all, we liked this site. It was roomy, it fed us well, we felt welcomed by a very friendly staff. It was just not on the luxury side. Practical. Nice. We'd choose again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jn0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,618
    996
    244
    96
    58
See reviews for
1,418
388
75
836
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a wonderful 4 day stay at the Embassy Suites. The hotel is in a grest location walking distance to almost all tourist attractions in DC. We had free vending machine access during our stay. the breakfast has something for everyone (I have meat eaters, a vegan and a vegetarian in my family), the happy hour has great snacks and beverages, perfect way to relax after walking the DC Mall and Museums all day.
the staff is exceptional, I want to call out a front desk staff person named Barabara, she was extremely welcoming and helpful. My husband left his sunglasses in a cab and she assisted with calling the driver and getting his sunglasses back. She made our small problem her problem and it was very much appreciated. The housekeeping staff was quick, never had to wait longer than 5 minutes when requesting something like towels or an additional pillow. Only complaint is the pull out beds are very uncomfortable, my daughter slept in the floor because it was more comfy than the pull out bed. Next time we are in DC we will be coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel as part of a large group attending a convention at FedEx field.

The staff were vey friendly and helpful and made us welcome.

The suites are nice with comfortable beds and a decent lounge area. The bathrooms acceptable.

We stayed on the five floor, the first five floors overlook the reception area and could get noisy at times. I recommend a higher floor.

There were lots of family and youth groups staying at the hotel and they could get a little noisy at night walking along the corridors.

Every evening there is a two hour happy hour where you can get free drinks and snacks including alcohol. It can get a little zoo like at times but hey, free beer!

The breakfast is pretty great, a good selection of pastries and breads, cereals and fruits. Plenty of juices and coffee on tap. The omelettes made to order are popular and my friends had them everyday on our stay.

One word of caution, don't lose your room key as a replacement is $25. We got two made at check in which were free.

Staying at this hotel certainly didn't detract from our stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel itself is very nice - rooms are decent (relatively large two room suites, considering in the middle of a large city). Staff extremely helpful. Parking expensive (but we found a garage around the corner for half the price). We found it conveniently located - we walked to some attractions and took the Metro (five minute walk) to others. We did have some issues with noise - walls are thin and I heard a toilet flush and a sneeze from a neighbor in the middle of the night! Also, the hotel was very crowded with large groups and as such, the noise level coming from neighboring suites (people talking in large groups) got out of hand. We knocked on the door and the guests were kind enough to quiet their party, but it's something to keep in mind when staying in a large hotel with suites (conducive to late night "parties") breakfast was really the biggest hotel issue - ridiculously long lines for omelette station as well as buffet. We always stay in Hilton properties with free breakfast, and I'm not complaining about the quality - you get what you get - but the crowds are ridiculous. It's a large hotel, have more than one line! Even with 3
Chefs making the omelettes, we waited quite a while. Overall, I'd stay again for the location and service, but be wary of the breakfast and potential noise.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My family and I stayed at the Embassy Suite during our visit to Washington DC. The hotel is just few blocks away from the White House and the Mall area. The front desk staff were very nice and friendly. The only thing that I didn't like was the parking. The cost of the hotel valet parking was $46 per night (including tax). Whenever I go back to Washington DC, I will definitely stay at the Embassy Suites. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adnanfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Pete Beach, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We are a family of 5 with kids, 10. 9 and 7 years old. We picked this hotel because it is "walking" distance to the National Mall Museums and it had free breakfast... two things that we were concerned about and wanted to be easy for us. We had to wait over 30 minutes in a long line of families for breakfast the first morning. Once we got breakfast, the fruit was the only thing worth eating. We ended up across the street at Starbucks. We never ate at the hotel again. It is quite a hike for young kids to the museums. We did it two days, but took a cab to the Lincoln Memorial and walked back the other day. Do not stay here if you think the breakfast will make your life easier with kids. Not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Management Please read.

Just finished up a week long stay and we had a great hotel experience! If you are looking for a hotel that is a short Uber ride to the sites this was a great choice for our family. Try to reserve a corner room so you can have extra room for your luggage and things, its well worth the extra space.

Hats off especially to the following employees:

Rosemond - 15th floor house keeping, very friendly and helpful. Great employee!

Keira - car valet, super nice and offered use bottled water with a smile.

Joseph - overnight manager, very accommodating to all of our questions, always very cheerful and he enjoys his job

Thanks!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Address: 900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-4405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing