We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Ranked #31 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel with great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here while attending a convention. It's location is great. Near the convention center but in walking distance to all of the tourist sites (mall, monuments, Smithsonian) as well as to great restaurants. The complimentary breakfast was as good as any you would otherwise pay for, including an omelet bar, and the evening manager's reception (beer, wine, snacks) was an unexpected surprise. My only concern was that there was no free WiFi in the lobby. There were many computers available but WiFi is nice and so we found ourselves going to the Hyatt or Renaissance, very nearby to use their lobby WiFi. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurimo1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,526
    959
    231
    92
    55
See reviews for
1,339
376
72
797
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I chose this hotel due to its proximity to the National Mall and Smithsonian museums; I was not disappointed. Everything except the zoo and a couple monuments were within walking distance!! The staff was friendly and even refunded me for losing a couple bucks in the soda machine and for being overcharged on the valet parking. Even the security guard was friendly and gave us helpful tips and advice about the DC area. The food in the bar area was tasty but a little overpriced. The house beer was good and decent value. The breakfast menu was seriously overpriced and we didn't eat there. There's an awesome panini place right next door, so go there! Watch out for hidden fees and charges for room service, I caught it before we ordered anything to the room, just take your lazy butt down to the restaurant and save yourself $4 + 18% gratuity. Room was small with an odd bathroom layout with a sink outside of the bathroom which made it difficult to exit the bathroom if somebody was using that sink. The beds were super comfy and I slept for almost 16 hours straight from Saturday afternoon to Sunday morning lol... overall the hotel is very well kept and I would definitely stay there again if I was planning to be in the area. Keep up the good work, guys!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank venomenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Excellent, would most definitely stay there again! The standard of the hotel was exceptional, all staff I had contact with were pleasant, courteous and very welcoming! No complaints to be made, all in all pleased with the service received. Already told my admin manager that any from the office travelling to the DC downtown area should stay there!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 811nadias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Embassy Suites chain has a great formula: get a good location, make the place presentable, hire nice people, have a little fun. This is a business hotel, and the price is right for conventions. It's not classy, but it is good comfortable accommodation. I have only two complaints: the room desk is set away from any natural light in the interior of the suite(it's like working in a cave), and our room cleaner took some shortcuts. For convention attendees this is an easy two-block walk, though. My wife and I normally enjoy the "manager's reception" in the afternoon, with a beer and some snacks, but in this hotel the reception is in a room split between the main floor and basement. Much less people-watching available! With all the families on holidays, also, the lineup for snacks was too long for us. It's probably better once summer is past. Breakfast is better than most, with a nice omelette bar that moves quickly. 20 minutes walk to most of the attractions on the National Mall, half that to the Verizon Center.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the neighbouring buildings have less light, but are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fracman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The suite, with a bedroom and a sitting room, is very spacious for a hotel. The set up let one person watch TV while the other slept. While there was no stove for cooking or large refrigerator, there was a microwave and a half refrigerator. We did not need more. As for other considerations, a full breakfast is served. You can have eggs cooked to order with omelet fillings. There is also fruit and cereal. Coffee and juice are also there. This is a huge plus for a D.C. hotel. We also had a free drink most nights at the happy hour. While not premium beers or wine, very nice, and they slacked our thirst just fine. The carpets are not plush and deep and the bed is nice but not cushy. The walls are covered with modest pictures and art work is at a minimum. All in all, we liked this site. It was roomy, it fed us well, we felt welcomed by a very friendly staff. It was just not on the luxury side. Practical. Nice. We'd choose again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jn0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a wonderful 4 day stay at the Embassy Suites. The hotel is in a grest location walking distance to almost all tourist attractions in DC. We had free vending machine access during our stay. the breakfast has something for everyone (I have meat eaters, a vegan and a vegetarian in my family), the happy hour has great snacks and beverages, perfect way to relax after walking the DC Mall and Museums all day.
the staff is exceptional, I want to call out a front desk staff person named Barabara, she was extremely welcoming and helpful. My husband left his sunglasses in a cab and she assisted with calling the driver and getting his sunglasses back. She made our small problem her problem and it was very much appreciated. The housekeeping staff was quick, never had to wait longer than 5 minutes when requesting something like towels or an additional pillow. Only complaint is the pull out beds are very uncomfortable, my daughter slept in the floor because it was more comfy than the pull out bed. Next time we are in DC we will be coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel as part of a large group attending a convention at FedEx field.

The staff were vey friendly and helpful and made us welcome.

The suites are nice with comfortable beds and a decent lounge area. The bathrooms acceptable.

We stayed on the five floor, the first five floors overlook the reception area and could get noisy at times. I recommend a higher floor.

There were lots of family and youth groups staying at the hotel and they could get a little noisy at night walking along the corridors.

Every evening there is a two hour happy hour where you can get free drinks and snacks including alcohol. It can get a little zoo like at times but hey, free beer!

The breakfast is pretty great, a good selection of pastries and breads, cereals and fruits. Plenty of juices and coffee on tap. The omelettes made to order are popular and my friends had them everyday on our stay.

One word of caution, don't lose your room key as a replacement is $25. We got two made at check in which were free.

Staying at this hotel certainly didn't detract from our stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Address: 900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-4405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing