We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair prices for DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
Ranked #67 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fair prices for DC”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

For business travelers this is a nice place to stay. Rates are fair, compared to Hotels closer to the Hill and, it's only about a 20 walk to the Capitol, House of Representatives office buildings and the Library of Congress. It is also a 5 minute walk to the ball park, so for sports travelers coming to the games this is a great place to stay. Neighborhood is safe.

Comfortable bed, warm rooms, nice decor; full size ironing board. What impressed me the most was how friendly the cafe and bar service staff was. Very accomodating and happy to assist in getting you around town. They have full breakfast, light lunch and Starbucks coffee

One glitch for business travelers. If you are traveling in a block that your employer is paying for, insist that they make sure the credit card has been ran (in person) prior to checking in. My colleague ended up putting 8 rooms on his card and then spent over an hour with our boss, taking the transaction off his card and onto our business account. If your on business this is a time-sucker one often cannot afford. The staff was very apologetic. Bottom line if the boss is paying make sure they do their diligence so you're not stuck with the check.

There is an indoor pool and gym to work off those networking happy hours. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: 1105 was a nice room for a single; however if you want a better view of the DC skyline ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Jody18-

Good day. Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you and the rest of your team enjoyed your accomodations. We do like to think that if your business takes you to Capitol Hill, then you are best off staying with us.

As far as the credit card authorization is concerned, you do raise an interesting point. However for your protection and for that of the company, our hotel has adopted a strict but simple credit card authorization process for security purposes.

Simply put, at check in, our Agent will need to "swipe" the credit card that the final charges will be placed on. If said credit card is not available at check in, then we would simple ask for a credit card authorization form to be completed and sent to the hotel prior to the guest arrival. This written authorization gives the hotel the consent that it needs to place charges on the credit card.

I hope this information sheds some more light on this matter. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you and your team members again in the near future.

Best
K. Andre Antoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    272
    76
    15
    24
See reviews for
238
132
43
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were at the hotel for 4 weeks, I would definitely recommend this hotel and I'd love to come back! The staff are so welcoming, friendly and helpful, especially Andre and Antoinne (hope I spelt his name correctly) Rooms were clean and spacious. Location was great, it is right by a metro station but we only used the metro once, we walked to all the sights including the Verizon Center for an Ice Hockey game.
Thanks again to Andre & Antoinne!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulaWatson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Paula-

Thank you for your kind words. It was truly a pleasure having you both here. I am really glad that you had a chance to celebrate your first Thanksgiving Day here with us in the States.

We look forward to having the chance to see you again. Unitl then, all the best.

K. Andre Antoine
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I was recently in DC for business and stayed for three nights at the Courtyard Navy Yard. My stay was nice. The room was updated and modern, check-in was a breeze, the bed was comfortable and everything was clean and nice. My only complaint was the lack of food in walking distance, which is not the hotel's fault. The hotel is close to the metro and was a quick 10 minute trip to the major monuments and museums. The staff was very friendly and everyone that I spoke to greeted me with a smile. I did not utilize parking so I cannot comment on that.
The one major complaint that I had was that the stay was 100% non refundable. The weather was terrible the week that I was there and I almost didn't make it due to airport closures. If my flights had been cancelled, I would have still been required to pay for the rooms. That's not a good practice for a hotel in this day and age.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZDisneyfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
AZDisneyfans -

Thank you for you kind comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Regarding your reservations, while the hotel does have advance deposit, non refundable reservations( these reservations are normally offered at a deeply discounted price) we do take inclement weather to account for all reservations. We would have been more than happy to make the necessary changes to your reservations to assure your satisfaction. I do apologize that this was not properly communicated to you.

Thank you again for your candid feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best
K.Andre Antoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Booked a stay here for orders. When my orders were cancelled on the day before check in, they were completely inflexible and insisted that the charge remain on my government card. This was done despite the fact that I called immediately upon being notified and only one hour after their deadline. When I tried to get someone from customer service on the phone to discuss this matter, I was placed on hold for hours. You would think a hotel in the Capitol region would be a little more understanding/considerate of issues surrounding military travel. Terrible experience. I will never stay with this place again, nor will I ever patronize Marriott's or Courtyard's in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
JB-

Good morning. My name is Andre Antoine and I am the Guest Services Manager. This is the first that I am hearing about this matter and I look forward to resolving it for you immediately. I am truly sorry that this has been your experience.

Due to our location in Washington DC and being so close to the Navy Yard, we get a lot of Government and Military Personnel that stay at our hotel. From time to time due to last minute changes with orders, reservations have had to be canceled. We have and will never have any issues making these changes to accommodate our men and women in uniform. I suspect since you were on hold for such a long time, that you may not have been in direct contact with the hotel.

At your earliest convenience, please call me directly at the Hotel; 202-479-0027. All the best and I look forward to talking with you soon.

Regards,
K. Andre Antoine
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryans Road, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Booked an overnight stay at this hotel, Check in was pleasant and fast, Upon arrival to the room, all seemed to clean and in order. Overnight parking was not cheap, but in line with most hotels in the area Valet staff was friendly and prompt with service. The location was very nice, within walking distance to Starbucks, a large chain pharmacy, and a few restaurants. The baseball stadium was within walking distance as well. Relaxed before our event in the room with a new flat screen. Room was also equipped with a small refrigerator. No need for an iron, room had a working iron w/ironing board for our use. After our event, enjoyed a soft bed. Generally, the hotel was quiet. Upon return, did observe a security guard monitoring the hotel lobby. Did not use the pool or fitness center during my stay. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a decent stay in DC.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryto82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you were able to bring in the New Year with us. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future; perhaps for a ball game. By that time even more great restaurants would have opened.

Best
K.Andre Antoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms in what appears to me a new build. Service was very good....I arrived at 10 am and they had a room for me. The rooms are large, but my room backed a chair (besides the desk chair) to relax in. The sofa that serves as a fold out bed was very uncomfortable to sit on.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrlandoSGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words. And you are 100% right; this area is growing. It seems like every month a new restaurant opens. We at the hotel can not wait to see what opens next. We hope to see you again at the hotel.

Best

K. Andre Antoine
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Johns, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We were there when it was cold so we took the trains and taxis everywhere but in nice weather it's a good location to walk to the Capitol. There is a subway stop a block from the hotel. The staff was great. There isn't too much within a block or so of the hotel for those who want to be within a block of restaurants etc... It's probably not a great location. It's also close walking distance to Nationals Park if you are in town for a game.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYWASNY1, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Ms. Alison G-

Thank you so much for your kind words. I'll be sure to pass this along to our Front Desk. Comments like yours truly validate that we are doing to ensure all our guests are happy works.

Best
K. Andre Antoine
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington DC - Navy Yard
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington ...
#84 of 141 in Washington DC
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Capitol-Navy Yard
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Washington Capitol Hill Navy Yard
Residence Inn Washington Capitol...
#114 of 141 in Washington DC
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Capitol Skyline Hotel
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#78 of 141 in Washington DC
583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Washington DC / National Mall
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard

Property: Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard
Address: 140 L Street SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-3335
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away to one of the most beautiful Washington, D.C. hotels on Capitol Hill, Courtyard by Marriott Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard. Our modern accommodatioins and attentive staff will provide you with the perfect home away from home! Conveniently located near Nationals Park and local attractions such as monuments, museums and the US Capitol in the up and coming Capitol Riverfront neighborhood, our Capitol Hill hotel is in the heart of Washington, DC office buildings such as Lockheed Martin, Northrup Grumman, Parsons, BAE Systems, General Dynamics and Booz Allen Hamilton just to name a few. We are also surrounded by government agencies such as the US Department of Transportation, DC Health and Family Services, Bureau of Land Management and convenient to the Navy Yard, Joint Base Anacostia Bolling and Ft. McNair. The striking and modern Courtyard by Marriott Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard is ideal for business and leisure travelers alike. Top among hotels near Capitol Hill, we offer 2,215 square feet of meeting space that can accommodate up to 180 guests, plus on-site catering from The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. Enjoy breakfast in the mornings from with delicious Starbucks® coffee or relax with a glass of wine in the evening from The Bistro. You can also stay active during your stay with an on-site 24-hour fitness center, offering cardiovascular equipment, an indoor pool and whirlpool. Our lobby features all of the amenities that saavy travelers have come to expect such as FREE WIFI, a quick print station for your boarding pass to save you time at the airport, comfortable in-room work areas with conveniently located outlets and lighting and a 24-hour business center with a library. The modern lobby would not be complete however without our state-of-the-art GoBoard® that offers directions, up to the minute flight and weather information and information on local attractions with the ability to print you directions! It’s personalized service available at your fingertips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hill/Navy Yard Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing