We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good young crowd” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fado Irish Pub

Fado Irish Pub
Ranked #8 of 176 Nightlife in Washington DC
Attraction details
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good young crowd”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Fado's gets a good young crowd at night. I've been there for trivia and it was pretty fun.
They changed their menu so it's not a simple pub menu. Last July, I had a GREAT Irish Club sandwich...it had Irish rashers on it instead of bacon. I like simple, plain food.
When I asked the waitress about the club sandwich her reply was "That sounds good," and then pointed out the turkey wrap,. somehow, I think they could have made what I wanted without any undue hardship. It wasn't very busy, otherwise I would not have asked. I ended up with the cheeseburger, which was fine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gatorgent007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Three drinks and simple dinner, 40 bucks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

I have three Black & Tans and Irish Breakfast (fantastic), but $40??? Over priced drinks. Coming back tomorrow for morning match of football, they open at 8:30, I want to check out the crowd.

Helpful?
Thank jwj1269
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Despite the reluctance on my part to drop into an Irish bar (mainly because they are now seemingly ten a penny any big city you go to) I was glad to sample a lunch-time in Fado's.

It's a homely place with a number of different styled seating areas. There was a great choice of both draft and bottled beers, not just concentrating on Irish brews, and whilst the menu was fairly simple there was a lot to choose from that made the tastebuds tingle.

I had the Rueben sandwich, which was both mammoth and very very tasty. My mate had the roast lamb sandwich with lamb jus dip which he said was very good indeed as well.

All in all, a great lunchtime spot for a quick lunch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank iwficon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An Irish Oasis!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch on a rainy day. Sat near the front window and enjoyed people watching. Great warm ambience. A pint of Kilkenny Ale slaked my thirst and the Shepherd's pie was outstanding! Waitress was very friendly!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Djknightga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not quite authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Most bars in the U.S. that claim to be Irish are far from it. Fado, meaning "long ago" in gaelic, is damn close to authentic as they come. There is the standard bar fare of burgers, wings and a few Mexican inspired eats but included are traditional favorites. The black and white pudding was a real surprise. Fado goes beyond throwing up an Irish flag. There are Gaelic expressions everywhere and the abundance of wood walls, a fireplace and homey feel would make a real Irishman feel welcome. Where Fado falls short is the playing crappy 80's/90's tunes on crappy speakers. There was no Irish staff, at least not on my visit. Not a big deal but I expect to see some native staff in an ethnic establishment. The location is in a very touristy area of the city so the customer make up makes for good people watching. So if you're visiting D.C. and are looking for a real Irish bar, Fado is worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank irishguyinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fado Irish Pub also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Fado Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing