We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greenbacks anyone? ”

United States Department of the Treasury
Book In Advance
More Info
US$400.00*
and up
Customized Private Sightseeing Tour of DC
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Half-Day Grand Tour of Washington DC
More Info
US$999.00*
and up
Private Washington DC Day Trip from New York
Ranked #126 of 444 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
los angeles
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Greenbacks anyone? ”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Fun visit of the museum and followed by a guided-tour of the various stages of money printing. We had a wonderful, knowledgable guide that showed us around. Tip: Go early to the back of the museum, there's a booth where they distribute a certain number of tickets for that day in 30 min timeframe.

Helpful?
11 Thank kanicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
1,790 reviews
572 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Cool area”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This building is next to the white house. There is a lot to walk around and see. The building is beautiful. I didn't try to go inside.

Helpful?
1 Thank Autumn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Too technical. Highly informative when by yourself. Enjoy the place on your own. If you have the time take all the time you need to see the building.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Show me the money”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This institution is a must-see for all true-blooded Americans. Very interesting watching how money is made!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sbtsweep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Teenager enjoyed the Treasury Building tour”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We could not get the tickets to see the Bureau of Engraving and Printing. But our congressman's office helped us arranged the tour of the Main Treasury Building.

It is next to the White House and we could see the chandelier in the White House. Our tour guides, Mike and Jerry, are employees in the Treasury Dept. who volunteer to be the tour guide on Saturdays. They are very knowledgeable and friendly.

They took us to see the various conference rooms, offices, the Cash Room and told us the stories related to these rooms. I think that kids in middle school or up can really appreciate the tour. My 7th grade daughter did.

The Dept of Treasury website has directions for the meeting place for the public tour. It is wrong. Our group entered the building from the north side, not the south side as specified by the Dept of Treasury website. Please arrive a few minutes early in case you need to go from one side to the other of this large building for entry.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank citytiger98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed United States Department of the Treasury also viewed

 

Been to United States Department of the Treasury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing