We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too good and still true”
Review of Akwaaba DC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akwaaba DC
Ranked #3 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

After having tried over 5 hotels for a variety of business trips, my colleagues booked me this B&B, to try something new for the organisaton. It was my pleasure to be the guinea pig. It was a bit hard to get in the first time, as the note on the door asked me to call a US number, but as an overseas traveler, my phone didn't work. But I asked a bypasser to call and then lady who was working in the basement heared me and opened the door. Once inside: it was home, but than even better! No problem, they washed my shirt without a problem, and everynight they had a nice small snack and a glass of wine. I will never stay anymore anywhere else while in DC.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dirk Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Akwaaba home was came up in my search for B&B's. The Langston Hughes suite was spacious, romantic and cozy. The decor was stunning and the books inside the rooms and all around the home set the tone. Joanna was provided gourmet meals at breakfast and tasty snacks at happy hour, Akwaaba is located in downtown Washington DC. We parked in our reserved spot and moved around via the Metro, cabs and by foot

Room Tip: The rooms in the front 16th st are sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I work for a major hotel chain company and decided to bypass my hotel discount to finally check out the highly recommended B&B. This turned out to be a great decision to discover a wonderful little gem in my own backyard. I live/work/play in DC, and this was a lovely "staycation." The innkeeper, Joanna, exemplifies great customer service and anticipating guests' needs from arrival to departure. No hotel stay is perfect, but if something does go awry and a hotel is able to recover and keep the experience momentum on a high level, then there's nothing else you can ask for! It was extremely cold this past weekend; thus, Joanna checked our room ahead of time and noticed the bathroom water was lukewarm but not hot. Joanna brought it to our attention and immediately upgraded the room to the Langston Hughes suite. Since that room was only available for one night, we were changed to the Zora Neale Hurston Suite the next night. It was a flawless transfer, no worries at all. Each room/suite presented individual character and charm, indicative of the famous writer the room was named after. Having been out exploring the city all day, we missed the evening reception and the yummy cookies, but fear not! Joanna made a fresh batch - heaven! We checked out on a full stomach of banana-nut pancakes and fresh fruit. I am even more motivated to check out the other B&Bs in the Akwaaba family. Thank you Joanna and Akwaaba for such a delightful weekend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had the pleasure of spending two romantic nights at the Akwaaba DC. Our room, the Zora Neale Hurston, exceeded expectations. It is VERY spacious, with a charming window seat in the bay window, a cool reading chair, desk, comfy bed... Decor was charming. Joanna was very helpful in advising about wonderful local dining choices, and about getting to all of the venues which we targeted for our stay. Proximity to Dupont Circle is very convenient, breakfasts were very good. Located in a peaceful district of other historic homes. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: It is MORE than worthwhile to book one of the two largest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hiddenheavenfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We had a great stay and really enjoyed the warm atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious. The room (we had modern classic) and the sanitary were beautiful, charming and cosy. This actually goes for the whole house. It was awesome!! We can absolutely recommend it!! The service and cooking of the innkeeper were perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IngaWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Didn't know what to expect but it exceeded our expectations. Felt right at home from the very beginning. The innkeeper whose name was Joanna really knew her stuff. She was very helpful with things to do around town and cook a mean breakfast. We said we were going to come back 7 more times to try every room in the house. Being 5 blocks away from the White House it was at the center of everything. We get this place 5 stars and highly recommend it to all we shall return.

Frank & Ty from Philly

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank frankrolex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Akwaaba commends itself in so many ways ... location (in the heart of a vibrant cultural center of the District) ... facility (a thoughtfully-appointed brownstone with the comforts of home) ... service (which starts even before your arrival with a call from the innkeeper inquiring if you need directions or have any special requirements upon your arrival ... to a welcoming glass of wine ... and touches when you return to your room after a night out on the town ... that are sure to warm even the coldest heart ... one truly feels as if they are a treasured guest ... welcomed into the innkeeper's home) ... price (for a tad more than a room in the Virginia/Maryland suburbs [with the ambiance of expressway traffic noise] ... one can stay in a comfortable suite within walking, taxi, or Metro of all of the District's attractions... with a hot breakfast to boot).

It should be apparent that we highly commend Akwaaba for the discerning traveler who also appreciates the opportunity to acquire a taste of what living in the District of Columbia can be like.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reginald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,389 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,219 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Embassy Circle Guest House
Embassy Circle Guest House
#2 of 35 in Washington DC
708 reviews
Malolo Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 35 in Washington DC
350 reviews
Adams Morgan
Adam's Inn
Adam's Inn
#7 of 35 in Washington DC
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akwaaba DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akwaaba DC

Address: 1708 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-3104
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: £115 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akwaaba DC is located in Dupont Circle at the heart of the Nation's Capitol. This 1890's historic townhouse is within walking distance of the White House, and the many fine restaurants, and shops of Dupont Circle. Access to the Smithsonian and National Monuments is a short ride on the Metro just 4 blocks (less than a 10 minute walk). Choose from 7 guest rooms, each with private bath or an apartment with accommodations for 6. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Akwaaba Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing