We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Ever!”
Review of Akwaaba DC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akwaaba DC
Ranked #3 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best B&B Ever!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Akwaaba was one of the best parts of a fabulous vacation in DC. Breakfasts were delicious and the house is gorgeous. Innkeeper Joanna helped make our trip so wonderful. She gave us personalized restaurant and tourist information. We spent 10 days at the Akwaaba and found the location perfect and transportation easy. We loved our fourth floor room. We also enjoyed our fellow guests who were a mixture of international and American visitors - working and those on vacation. We would HIGHLY recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the DC area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    72
    7
    9
    2
See reviews for
58
235
42
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairway, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Akwaaba turned out to be even more than we expected. It is a charming old home with a ton of character and in a great location. Plenty of opportunities abound to explore the local neighborhood, DuPont Circle, or the White House and Mall(only a mile away). The Metro is a short walk and once you figure it out is a terrific way to get around town.

Service was fantastic. Joanna, the innkeeper, is incredibly friendly and welcoming and always quick with a recommendation to a local restaurant or "must do". Breakfast was terrific every morning. Would highly recommend Akwaaba to anyone visiting DC, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnygren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

room was great, breakfast was very good and location is 30 min max from almost everywhere.
one tip - use the bus from this location as the metro is a bit far.
also claim 3 floor with no elevator can be challenging.

Room Tip: I would go for the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsraeliG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I booked Akwaaba because a friend of a friend recommended it, knowing little about it. It turned out to be a very special experience - the decoration of the room took me by surprise - a most pleasant one. I felt I was a house-guest of a good friend. The breakfast was excellent, service most friendly and personalised. The atmosphere was such that one starts talking with other guests. The location was also excellent - close to supermarket and great restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 256PurpleDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This B&B is a short walk from the Metro station, about 7 minutes even dragging luggage -- through nice neighborhoods, with great architecture. Restaurants are in easy walking distance. Stately old home, with well-appointed rooms. Mine had a Jacuzzi. The B&B is African-American-owned, and each room is themed to a different black writer. My room also had editions of great African-American writers, which I enjoyed reading over dinner. Innkeeper was friendly. Breakfast good.

One drawback is breakfast is served at 8, where everyone sits at the same big table. This means there isn't much flexibility in when you eat (unless you want cold cereal). But the innkeeper went out of her way to meet my food needs including soy milk and gluten-free toast (made into French toast! a real treat.)

I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try to be on second floor to avoid lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marjoriehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dusseldorf
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights we felt at home , It is clean .very Nice with old. Furniture .the staff is so helpfull. And chèerfull. Thé brekfast is so excellent ( 3 différent in 3 mornings) and névér eated. Such blueberry muffin. If. We Côme back from france we Will. Go to this place again thank You. Very much

Room Tip: We liked toni. Morrison room very quiet bécause. At thé back. Nô view but on noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanDusseldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was gifted the opportunity to stay at Akwaaba for a weekend after a friend could no longer make her reservation. I am forever thankful for this gift. Being in grad school and working I do not often have time for extended self-care activities. Akwaaba provided me with the most relaxing atmosphere with a location that allowed me to explore my city in a new way. The innkeeper Joanna was the picture of hospitality and welcome, she made me feel at home from the very start. I'm not sure if it was because of the literary theme and being surrounded by the spirit of so many amazing writers but I was able to get a lot of work done as I sat in the living room sipping a glass of shiraz from the complimentary happy hour. I stayed in the Modern Classics room which for a solo stay was more than adequate and the bed was very comfortable. Joanna was gracious enough to open the doors to the unoccupied rooms so that I could peek inside; I will definitely be booking the Zora Neale Hurston or Langston Hughes room for my partner and I in the future. Thank you Akwaaba and Joanna for some well needed R&R and for being a gem in the midst of the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Latishia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,142 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,098 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
387 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,276 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akwaaba DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akwaaba DC

Property: Akwaaba DC
Address: 1708 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-3104
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akwaaba DC is located in Dupont Circle at the heart of the Nation's Capitol. This 1890's historic townhouse is within walking distance of the White House, and the many fine restaurants, and shops of Dupont Circle. Access to the Smithsonian and National Monuments is a short ride on the Metro just 4 blocks (less than a 10 minute walk). Choose from 7 guest rooms, each with private bath or an apartment with accommodations for 6. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Akwaaba Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing