We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akwaaba DC
Nearby Hotels
US$424
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$301
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)
US$418
US$228
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$311
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$503
US$458
The Watergate
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$152
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$237
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
US$193
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
402
74
7
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
74
7
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bzora neale hurstonlangston hughes roomother guestsbed and breakfastinspiration roomromance roomdupont circlepoetry suitejacuzzi tubbreakfast was deliciouswhite houseno elevatoreach morninghome away from hometop floorgreat neighborhood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Good location, beautiful rooms , tasty brakfast and a charming innkeeper - what more could we wish for. Joanna does a great job and made us happy every day. Our big room (Langstom Hughes) has dark charm and a balcony overlooking the street, great for afternoon relaxation (after walking the town). Surely our choice if we are lucky to visit DC again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our recent four day stay at Akwaaba while in Washington D.C. was a wonderful experience. Two things stand out most for me during our stay there. One being Joanna, the inn keeper, who consistently provided excellent service with a smile and secondly, the convenient location to the metro, restaurants and sight seeing. Another highlight of our trip was meeting a lovely couple from California who we immediately connected to; something more likely to occur in a B&B setting and a very welcome bonus for us. I would highly recommend Akwaaba to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor "Inspiration" suite and found it to be large and roomy. We had read some people had problems with the stairs to the 4th floor but we did not really find it an issue.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cssAurora_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was our first experience at a B&B and we fully enjoyed ourselves. The room was so romantic, attentive service and we were able to disconnect from the daily race of life. It was nice to enjoy diligently prepared breakfast with other friendly guests. Our innkeeper, Joanna look for every opportunity to make our trip special. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer. We look forward to planning our next trip to Akwaaba.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TDesouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I have just spent 3 days in DC and we were very fortunate to have stayed at the Akwaaba bed & breakfast. Right from our personal greeting from Joanna, we had a fantastic stay there. Joanna made us feel very welcome, and along with the housekeeper she prepared a beautiful breakfast every morning. Complimentary refreshments were available early evening if anyone wanted them. Joanna was on hand to advise use on the many places of interest throughout DC. It was nice to sit at the breakfast table with the other guests too. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in DC, try the Akwaaba, I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: My wife and I stayed in the Romance room on the first floor which was nice.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Halky74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Comfortable and conversation-inducing dining room let us meet many new people at breakfast. Joanna was the outstanding one-woman-band employee who went out of her way to please. If you don't want the huge and filling breakfast, she will bring you Greek yogurt with fresh berries.

The beautiful and comfortable front room is also a great place for reading and conversations. Akwaaba DC was an excellent place to stay away from home.

Room Tip: Book lower level rooms if you have trouble with stairs.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews