We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Churrascaria”

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 3,229 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$51 - US$51
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 11th St NW
Description: Fogo de ChaoR (fo-go dee shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, FogoR began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 16 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service. We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet salad bar, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Churrascaria”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Not completely authentic, but compares very well with other North America takes on the brazilian food fest. Too many options for me to try them all. I gave up after 10 kinds of meat. Caiprinias and cheese buns very good. I have to say it again - so much meat!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikerutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    742
    418
    110
    45
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best Mojitos in town!”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Great food, excellent and courteous service! This was not our first visit - we go more frequently to the one in the Inner Harbor in Baltimore - make sure you go with an appetite otherwise just get the salad bar - an excellent choice for those who don't want to over do the carnivorous on them! The wine selection is awesome! enjoy!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DePonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but not quite like in Brazil”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was a spacious and nice restaurant, but the service was slow and not terribly attentive. The food was good, but over-priced. I'll save the money and spend it on the real deal during my next trip to South America

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank weeverbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not for anyone on a diet! So much food!”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Easy central location with valet. Upon arrival, the front entrance was packed and I had to squeeze through to get to the hostess stand. However, we had a reservation and we were seated immediately. The salad/side bar was just okay, but in my opinion not amazing and borderline disappointing in size and selection. Could have been much better. However, in a way, I’m glad as I saved my appetite for the amazing cuts of meat and side dishes. Don’t go if you’re a light eater or vegetarian!
The warm cheese bread is phenomenal and I had to force myself to stop eating it! The caramelized bananas are also incredible! A few of the meats were overly salty for my liking, however, the sirloins were amazing. The service was fantastic and very attentive. Overall – great restaurant and I would recommend to anyone not on a diet!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LejonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Service!”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This chain is one my favorite!!! The salad bar is awsome, full of top quality food to include meat, cheese and bread. There is so much meat to chose from that they bring fresh and cut right on your plate. I love the sides they give you. The service is the best. I have never had to ask for a refill. They never even let the glass get half full. We visit everytime we are in town.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ndnontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing