We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but... off this time?”

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 3,259 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$51 - US$51
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 11th St NW
Description: Fogo de ChaoR (fo-go dee shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, FogoR began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 16 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service. We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet salad bar, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great, but... off this time?”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Fogo de Chao in Washington is without doubt a top class operation in its class. It is full, it gives you lots to eat and you can chose from a great salad bar and lots of tender meats.

But at the same time it is a quite depressing setting. It is all focused on eating as much as possible... Not really of this time, not really showing the best side of man.
Its all about as much as possible. Too bad one enjoy the quality in a more enjoyable setting.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    761
    423
    112
    47
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place for a social dinner”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Fogo de Chao has great food, unfortunately, I went with my boyfriend and it's not really a great date place. The servers work as a team so there is always someone stopping by the table to ask if you need anything in addition to the meat guys.

Also, our servers didn't seem to know much about wine, 2 stopped by and asked us if we needed wine suggestions and then couldn't help at all when we asked about a few of on the list. The 3rd that stopped really knew what he was talking about though.

Overall, we had a great meal, but I wouldn't go back if I wanted an intimate date night. The atmosphere is better for a social gathering.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Meats were good, salad bar fantastic ”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Fogo is a fun overall experience, especially if you have yet to try the Brazilian steakhouse concept. In terms of pure meat quality and flavor, in my view its not on the same level as Ruths Chris, The Capital Grill, or Morton's, but not too far below.
Their salad bar was a pleasant surprise, particularly the apple salad, chicken salad and smoked salmon.

Helpful?
Thank GeoffChing88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley on Thames Oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A real experience”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We took the kids here after visiting this restaurant in Brazil and Baltimore it didn't disappoint. The salad bar was lovely and extensive beware enjoying it too much leave room for the meat! The service was excellent and attentive and our 16 year son really enjoyed the variety of meats and the volume. It's a bit of an expense but you know that before you go make sure eat very little all day to make the most of it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, Connecticut, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Took the kids--we all enjoyed it a great deal. Better than a typical (stuffy) restaurant experience for the kids while as adults, you can still get a nice meal. Don't miss out on the Parmesan-encrusted pork and the lower sirloin--both were amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Deirdre2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing