We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Gourmet”

Central Michel Richard
Reserve with OpenTable
Central Michel Richard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 3,236 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 11th
Transit: walk from Archives/Navy Memorial, Federal Triangle, or Metro Center
Description: Central Michel Richard Restaurant in Washington DC.
maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“First Rate Gourmet”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

When this restaurant first opened it was almost impossible to get in, but I was pleased to find at the right time it is now possible. The service is excellent. The last time I had the salmon with was cooked to perfection and they have a special chocolate dessert that is like a frozen chocolate bar on your plate. I would avoid the deconstructed profiteroles, however, which are mostly ice cream with little bumps of pastry on the out side of the ice cream.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 711Guillaume4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    237
    98
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food, a little too loud”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

You can't argue with the food and they take basic items (cheese balls and fries) to new hights. The tuna burger is easily the best sandwich in the area, with the tuna diced and spiced into a patty. My only critism is that it can get very loud during lunch and is not a good location to have a serious business lunch. This is better suited to a higher end casual lunch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CannistraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent every time”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I have now been here three times, and we've been thoroughly delighted with every meal. The meal always begins with fresh, warm, delicious bread. The entrees are reasonably priced, and have never left either of us disappointed. During our most recent visit, we both had the fried chicken, which was delectable. The desserts, too, are a real treat. We usually share the chocolate mousse and another dessert.

Every time we find ourselves in DC, our first order of business is making a reservation for Central.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helixcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“upscale comfort food”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We ordered the fried chicken (signature dish) and meatloaf based on the waiter's reco. Without a doubt, the best versions of either of those that we have ever eaten. The chicken is remarkably juicy, tender, and perfectly crispy. Truly delightful! And the meatloaf was anything but ordinary. It was beautifully flavored, with a lovely texture more reminiscent of steak than ordinary ground meat. The sides were all wonderful, but the brussels sprouts were a surprise hit. The portions were generous, and the service was fantastic.

It's not a quiet, romantic kind of place. In fact, it was quite loud and very busy, but we very much enjoyed the vibe.

Seriously. Eat at this restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodFan1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort lee , new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
598 reviews
410 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Go for excellent French food....................”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Visiting my son frequently in DC, this restaurant never disappoints. Whether you have steak tartare or mussels & fries, you will be happy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lfbmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Michel Richard also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Central Michel Richard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing