We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and exceptional staff at the newly constructed building.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol
Ranked #92 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I have stayed at this property twice this month. It is a newly constructed and recently opened hotel at one of the rapidly redevelopment areas in DC.

Pros: The management and staff members have the ability to relate to a wide spectrum of business and leisure travelers in a varied selection of work endeavors. Housekeeping does the superb job to keep this property clean.
Among all dedicated employees, Ms. Teemon has excelled herself at work. She carefully analyzes the business duties she engages in and is not prone to rash or rushed decisions. She is agile on her feet and is able to resolve issues in a timely and professional manner. I compliment her abilities to perform her multiple tasking duties in a superior manner. Never idle, she always assist guests. I am sure that she is the epitome of the strong work ethics so eagerly sought after in the job market.

I wish there were a shuttle service to/from Union Station and places within 3-5 mile radius. A near-by hotel near GU offers the service.

Cons: 1. Park your car at the hotel's valet. Parking one on the streets is "AYOR" (At Your own Risk). It is still a redeveloping area and I would not recommend it.
2. This is the first hotel to try to charge me some free amenities. I have stayed at Park Hyatt. Grand Hyatt, Hyatt Regency, Andaz, Hyatt House, Hyatt Place and other hotels; however, this was the first hotel to ask me to pay for a make-up remover and so forth in my second visit to this hotel this month.
3. On my day of checking out, I received a surprising call from a female employee who asked me who had allowed me to check out at 4:00 p.m. As a Diamond member, none of other Hyatt hotels contacted and asked me such a question.

Setting side the minor issues, I don't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Give the newly opened hotel a chance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Whisper808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Whisper808,

We are delighted you have enjoyed your experience. It was a pleasure meeting you in the lobby and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experiences.

We look forward to seeing you again. I apologize for my host contacting you regarding your departure time. We thank your for loyalty.

Best wishes,

Stacy Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel! Very clean and modern/new. This hotel is only about 2 months old. We stayed 4 nights. The room was very nice and spacious with a great view of the capitol and the Washington monument. The staff is very friendly and goes out of their way to accommodate your needs. Naomi at the front desk was very sweet and checked with us daily to see if we needed anything. The parking fee of $30 per night seemed steep, however, your car will be parked in a well secured lot that is monitored by staff. This is a must if you drive a nicer car. The amenities ok. The outdoor Pool was very nice, however a tad bit small. The continental breakfast was very nice with fair selection of hot items to choose from. The location is not bad. Just 2 blocks from the NoMa Gallaudet U metro station. I would defiantly recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear BrianN,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and staying with us. We are delighted you stayed with us. Naomi and the team look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Washington, DC.

All the best,

Stacy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed week of August 13 - 2014

Excellent hotel. Room was brand new as I was probably the second person to sleep there. The room was large with 2 queen size beds AND a pullout couch for a great price. We stayed on the top floor because I read about the road noise issue. Stayed on the south side.
THE STAFF WAS THE BEST. The pool was a great touch although small. Everything was new right down to the gym room.
New hotel with very minor kinks that I am sure they will resolve.

Pros
Top floor with a great view. Room was perfect. Floor to ceiling window on 14th floor as if you are in the clouds.
Staff.
Food, restaurants, pharmacy, metro, and sites all within walking distance yet just far enough not to be right downtown.

Cons
Breakfest could be better (pancakes and french toast are not supposed to be crispy). Need more variety of fruit (I am being picky now)
Parking cost of $30 plus tax for an outdoor spot down the street is not worth it. You can leave your car on the street. I used the valet and parking because I was not sure of the neighborhood.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _x_x_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear XXJoe,

We are delighted you stayed with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Washington, DC.

All the best,

Stacy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family stayed for three nights and had a great time! We were on the 14th floor and had a great view of the Capitol Building. Travel was so easy from the Metro which was within short walking distance. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and always fully stocked. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. We are Hyatt Passport members and this hotel met our expectations of Hyatt.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear JessicaC,

We are delighted you stayed with us. Thank you for being a loyal Hyatt Gold Passport member. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Washington, DC.

All the best,

Stacy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Couldn't decide on the 4* or 5* ranking. This hotel is new as of June 2014, so the new/clean factor helped bring the rating up. We stayed 4 nights and it was a great place for the end of our busy days in DC. The pool on the roof of the 2nd floor was nice, especially in the afternoon when it is hot and sunny. The rooms are plenty large and of course all the furnishings are new and clean. The maids were good about leaving a lot of towels, but never seemed to replace the TP or shampoo. The staff in general are VERY nice people. If you walk out the back entrance of the hotel and turn left, the Metro is a large block away, very convenient and seemed safe enough area. If you turn right at the first stop sign after exiting the back door of the hotel, you will find multiple places for a quick bite to eat as well as a Moe's on the block by the Metro. We ordered in pizza one night, and the staff were sweet to bring dishes/napkins over to our table in the lobby/breakfast area. Biggest thing to save money, consider parking down the street, it is $ 7 a night vs. $ 30 (plus $5 in parking tax) that the hotel charges, and the valet lot is pretty much in the same location. We should've moved our car. Called down for valet early in the morning the day of our departure, and no one even answered the phone, so had to walk down to ask for our car and wait anyway. Definitely a neighborhood that is reinventing itself, a lot of new builds.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank snowfall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Snowfall1,

We are delighted you stayed with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Washington, DC.

All the best,

Stacy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

There are definite pros and cons to this hotel. Pros are that the hotel is within 2-3 blocks of the Metro, a grocery store, pharmacy, and plenty of quick-eat restaurants serving good food.

It's also very secure, which is good, as it is surrounded by a mostly seedy area. Which takes me to the cons: Look out the window of your fab hotel room and you will see graffiti, rundown apartment buildings and empty parking lots, which was supremely ironic to us as there was no room in their secure lot for us to park our car. The valet warned us not to park in the street as several cars had been vandalized out there the night before. Not a great start to our stay, especially after driving with our kids six hours and getting there after dark. Just...don't drive.

Desk and bar staff were not overjoyed when we arrived. A shred of enthusiasm would've been nice. The rooms are very nice. The pool is on the rooftop of the second floor - nice but it's tiny and got crowded in the evenings. Really nice workout room.

The biggest gripe my family had was with the noise coming up from the streets. Even from the 9th floor (there are 14), we heard traffic noise all night long, including an almost constant serenade of police and ambulance sirens. I noticed others had mentioned this is their reviews, but I didn't realize it would be THAT noisy. Avoid if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear CLL,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay. We truly are appreciative to receive the positive and the learning opportunities to provide our guest the best experience. I look forward to sharing your feedback with our staff and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Washington, DC.

All the best,

Stacy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed 8 days at Hyatt Place Washington DC, and believe me, you will come back. Excellent services, 2 blocks from the Metro Train, and believe me if you like to walk, you might even need it, probably only when you have been walking all day. 20 minutes walking to the Capital, 30 to the White House, 40 to the Washington Monument area, near Union Station, restaurants, fast food, grocery stores, in other words excellent location, excellent rooms, and excellent FREE breakfast. Every staff member very friendly and does the best to help you. The staff reminds me when I stay at the Ritz, warm welcome, “my pleasure”, “allow me to escort you”, “welcome back”, and the best, the manager, Stacy, she really impress me the way she relates with the guests during breakfast, never seen it before. Definitely I recommend it and I will stay here again.

Room Tip: High floors, you will get a excellent view no matter what side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Bayoun,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are delighted you loved our hotel, service and our team members. The entire team looks forward to taking care of you on your next trip to the Hyatt Place, Washington, DC/US Capitol.

All the best,

Stacy Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#114 of 141 in Washington DC
640 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#62 of 141 in Washington DC
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
979 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol

Address: 33 New York Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-3325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £78 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 14-story hotel is located in the northern portion of the NoMa district of Washington, D.C., the fastest developing neighborhood in D.C. with a vibrant mixed‐used development that sits just north of, and in view of the Capitol Building. The 200 oversized guestrooms are perfect for unwinding and relaxing with earthy colors and natural materials include a small sitting area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing