We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annie's is the place”

Annie's Paramount Steak House
Ranked #287 of 3,257 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$32
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Dupont Circle
Germantown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Annie's is the place”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Clientele is predominately male. Serves decent steaks, a good Athenian chicken and an acceptable beef tips in gravy. Wait staff are friendly. It can get very chummy. Food is good and drinks are strong. A good watering hole in the Dupont area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rehman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    120
    44
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Open late”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

ok, so this may neither be the healthiest nor most exquisite place to eat, but it is definitely a "solid performer" and it got two important things going for it in this town: 1) service and 2) open late with full meals instead of little snacks or appetizers.
The location is great and if you are out hunting for food you will not regret it.
Brunches are also pretty good, but it can get quite busy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MyTravelJournal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“There's a very good reason it's been around forever ...”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My partner (now husband) and I used to make it up to DC 3 or 4 times a year in the decade between 1985 and 1995. It was a wonderful place to spend a weekend. We'd stay at the big hotel on P Street (which is now the Palomar), shop at 12" Dance Records, Melody Records, Lambda Rising, hang out at the Eagle, Mr. P's, The Frat House, eat at Sala Thai, Café Japone, and of course ... Annie's. We had many suppers there before heading out to the clubs, and had many brunches there, nursing hangovers and dishing about the night before.

We recently made it back to DC after a -very- long absence, and found ourselves in a -very- different Dupont Circle. Thank goodness that Annie's was still there!

We ate at Annie's twice. Once as officially "single" men, then again to celebrate finally getting married after 32 years together! Both meals were wonderful!

We sat in a booth opposite the bar the first time. It was a busy evening and the place was packed with happy people. I had a medium rare filet mignon, rice pilaf and steamed broccoli ... and it was delicious! A few days later I had a filet mignon at Tom Colicchio's Craftsteak restaurant in the MGM Grand in Las Vegas and although it was good, it couldn't compare to the steak at Annie's. Seriously. It was that good. My husband had the fried oysters and he cleaned his plate! The service was friendly and unobtrusive, and the drinks were potent!

We went back the evening of the day we'd gotten married and scored a table out on the patio section. It was rainy out, and not very busy. This time I had the crab cakes, slaw and French fries. My husband had the fish. We also enjoyed a couple of potent Coconut Dream cocktails. Again, everything was delicious, the service was excellent, and the atmosphere couldn't have been better.

I love me some Annie's Paramount Steakhouse!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dgtl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“More than a steakhouse”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Bustling restaurant with excellent service and good sized menu. We had chicken/avocado sandwich, chicken burrito, and baked trout. Each was very nicely prepared. The trout, in particular, was delicious.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kiddoc1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

If you want a nice place to enjoy a great meal this is your place! Great place to sit and watch people walking by on the street, the staff is amazing and everyone knows each other. Perfect locals place, they welcome out of town guest in with open arms. The fried chicken is amazing!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cruiser911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Annie's Paramount Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Annie's Paramount Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing