We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unavoidable, an excellent place for meat”

Annie's Paramount Steak House
Ranked #250 of 3,215 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Dupont Circle
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unavoidable, an excellent place for meat”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were in town for three nights and we chose to eat dinner there twice, with no regrets. Their steaks were excellent, service was very good (Willam the first time and Martin the second time). We wish we could have stayed another night to try other items on the menu. Some will tell you that the place is a bit noisy but you can't blame the place for being popular. Besides, we've eaten in much noisier places. Their wine selection is not huge but well-balanced. Prices are very reasonable, especially considering what you get in terms of quality. Portion size is also very good; we never walked out hungry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    115
    43
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My new favorite local spot”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped in late for a bite to eat and was not disappointed. It is hard to find good food in the area after 8:30/9:00 and I am often getting in late after a flight.

The "bull in a pan" (steak tips) is a house speciality and it was very good. I think the prices are actually very good for the area (DC is expensive) so I would rank it high on value as well.

The interior is cozy but not cramped. Many of the tables and booths are close together so I might not do a business lunch here if privacy is a concern.

Atmosphere makes you feel like you have discovered a local hangout, even if it is your first time here.

I waffled on giving this a 4 or 5. It is a solid 4.5 in my book.

Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The food was good but not fantastic, a little expensive for only mediocre service and a very noisy atmosphere. We could barely hear the server.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Celina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Good location, Good food great service, they make you feel like you have been coming to this restaurant for years. I look forward to going back the next time I am in DC.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always accepting”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

For my DC trip this year during Capital Pride, I came here because I knew I was going to feel welcomed. While as an entertainer I travel throughout the east coast, I usually do not stop in a restaurant when I am dressed. However, I did this time and no one there batted an eye. They served me and my friends as though we were family.
So of course, I went back the next day and thanked them for everything that they had done and had yet another wonderful meal with friends.
Coming to DC?? Come to Annie's!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Annie's Paramount Steak House also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Annie's Paramount Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing