We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Circle Guest House
Ranked #2 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2008

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OhioNena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2008

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank samizdat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2008

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Gordon777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2008

My husband and I live in just a few blocks away from this B&B, but felt like we really needed a night away from home. While I initially doubted that a city B&B would provide any sort of tranquility, Embassy Circle did just that. It is a modern, warm, spotless, comfortable, and quiet B&B. We had breakfast with Laura and had a great time talking to her, and we also had the opportunity to meet Raymond. This couple has clearly put a lot of personal thought, time, and energy into this establishment and it shows. We highly recommend this B&B. It is a rarity: affordable and special.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsm617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2008

Bright, airy, clean, fabulous staff. Top Class, Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank himselfetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

The consistent reviews on Tripadvisor that wax lyrical about how fantastic this beautifully run B&B is really say it all.

My words cannot do justice to how professional, caring and complete our stay with Raymond and Laura Saba was and I cannot wholeheartedly recommend this B&B enough to all international travellers visiting Washington DC.

The house, a former embassy, has been superbly restored to a point that just oozes effortless grace and charm. You feel surrounded by refined opulence yet incredibly comfortable immediately.

Raymond and Laura take a personal interest in every guest yet they don't make you feel that you must engage with them constantly or rude if you want to get out and explore which can sometimes happen at B&Bs. They have found a perfect balance of harmony with their many international guests.

Raymond and Laura deserve every terrific review they have received on Tripadvisor and more - if all of us 'satisfied customers' can make one suggestion to every traveller looking for a place to stay in Washington it's this - stay at the Embassy Circle Guest House, you will not stay in a better B&B or hotel in DC. And as the ad says, 'that advice is priceless!'

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NataliaMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2007

I am sincerely touched by the welcome we received at Embassy Circle Guest House on our first DC visit. The owners, Laura and Raymond Saba, always made us feel as if our comfort was their highest priority. My family's stay at Embassy Circle Guest House came at a busy and also a sad time for the owners, Laura and Raymond Saba. Raymond was out of town at first for the sad event of his mother's funeral. Laura and her warm and professional staff, especially Nelly, carried on beautifully in Raymond's absence.

We were having a wonderful stay, and didn't think things could get any better, as the standards of hospitality were already excellent. But they did get even better. The night before Raymond returned, Laura explained that he had been away for his mother's funeral. My husband lost his father last year, so we all felt deep empathy for Raymond. We met Raymond at breakfast the next morning, and I am truly impressed at his remarkable strength, heart, and the sincerity of his welcome. He put aside his own feelings and put the needs of his guests first. He really did far more than we expected. When it was time for us to check out, he waited outside with us, until our ride to the airport arrived, to make sure we were all taken care of.

In addition, Laura and her staff were preparing the guest house for a lot of walk-in visitors, because the Embassy area was having a special open house on the day that we checked out. Yet, we never even noticed any of the preparations...we felt, during our entire stay, as if every attention was focused on taking care of us and the other guests!

I have given much thought to writing this review since our September 2007 visit. I couldn't think of the right words to express what a gem of a place this is. Laura and Raymond Saba are very special people, and Embassy Circle Guest House has been beautifully restored. It has everything you could wish for...the perfect combination...it is tucked away on a quiet street, and yet is an easy 6-minute walk to the Dupont Circle Metro.

Without writing an entire novel I cannot express all of the special moments. For example, we arrived by car, but my husband wanted to return our rental car, as we didn't need it in DC. Laura volunteered to drive her car in order to show my husband the way, so he wouldn't get lost, and she gave him a ride back to the guest house from the car rental place!

BREAKFAST:
Breakfast is a social time at the guest house, and my favorite tasty items are the coffee, which is gourmet, and the fresh home-made quality whole grain bread which I toasted in the dining room each morning at the continental buffet. The fresh fruit salad was also excellent. Yogurt, cheeses, hard-boiled eggs...plenty to choose from in this "continental plus" breakfast. It is interesting to chat with Raymond and Laura, and the other guests, at breakfast.

ROOMS:
My husband and I had the beautiful room 124 upstairs, the "Pearl Gazvin" room, on the second floor. Big, quiet, comfortable room with a power shower and a bed that is both very comfortable and firm. Lovely antique furniture and Persian rug.

My 2 young adult daughters and son shared the only room that has 2 queen beds...a 1st floor room, room 102. They were pleased with their room as well.

We were very happy that the guest house is non-smoking and delighted that there aren't any TVs. In our opinion guest houses are quieter at night for sleeping without TVs.

Washington DC is a fascinating, bustling, noisy, confusing city with a lot of incredible sites to see. And staying at the Embassy Circle Guest House gave us a safe and quiet haven to return to each night. It was very convenient being easy walking distance to the Dupont circle Metro. Restaurants, cafes, and shops are within walking distance.

Will we stay at Embassy Circle Guest House on our next visit to DC? Definitely! Raymond told us to come for dinner next time, and we're looking forward to that. (Raymond and Laura Saba occasionally have dinners for their guests.)

Thank you, Laura, Raymond, and Nelly, for a truly special stay.

Embassy Circle Guest House
embassycircle.com
2224 R St. NW
Washington DC

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Melissa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,424 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,755 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
612 reviews
Malolo Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 35 in Washington DC
351 reviews
Upper Northwest
Woodley Park Guest House
Woodley Park Guest House
#5 of 35 in Washington DC
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Circle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Circle Guest House

Address: 2224 R St NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: £143 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Circle Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our historic and elegant Washington DC bed and breakfast, steps to the metro, shops & dining in Dupont Circle. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine & snacks, parking & internet access at our Dupont Circle inn. Our Washington DC B&B is centrally located with easy access to the famed monuments and sights of our Nation's Capital. If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast in DC, look no further than Embassy Circle, a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Circle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Circle Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing