We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Circle Guest House
Ranked #2 of 36 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

What a lovely stay! This enchanting B and B is located in a stately area of the city - within a few blocks of Dupont Circle and a short walk to Georgetown. The inn is impeccably elegant, yet warm and inviting. Our room was beautiful. The owners, Laura and Raymond are simply the best - they are hospitable, engaging, knowledgeable about all aspects of the city, and generous (they found out it was my birthday and a sublime box of chocolates was placed in our room!) The breakfasts were delicious and varied, and the morning conversations with guests from around the world replicated in many ways what the capital city is: a gracious oasis of cultures and ideas. We shall be returning!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cam0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Circle Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

If you are going to stay in a B&B in DC look no further than this place. The owners take their role as hosts really seriously and do their utmost to make you feel that you an honored family guest, not merely a fee paying contributor to the overhead! They have restored this beautiful early twentieth century former Taiwanese Embassy with impeccable taste and with a view to comfort and luxury - ok I admit the mattress is a little to "firm" for my taste but it is a small niggle. The communal evening drink in the living room when you don't know what might come up in conversation with the other guests is an added bonus but don't be bothered, it isn't mandatory if you are feeling unsociable. Breakfast is fresh and wholesome and the permanent supply of tea and coffee all day long more than welcome.

Besides the owners the staff are thoughtful, and gracious and everyone goes that extra mile.

So, what's not to like? Go ahead and book if they have room for you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JRB10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

While I have never stayed here my parents always do when they visit me in DC. Embassy Circle has truly spoiled them and I don't think they would ever stay anywhere else. The Guest House has been amazingly restored and the rooms are beautiful. My parents rave about the food and the fascinating mix of people they always meet when staying here. The innkeepers are also extremely friendly and accommodating. The location is great with easy Metro access and plenty of restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank AndrewB294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Raymond and Laura and their wonderful staff are truly top class! A very warm and welcoming place to stay! Thoroughly recommend it as the number 1 stay in Washington. We have never been so well looked after in all our travels! Perfect location and their home is divine ... Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank libster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed with this place. From the moment you walk in you feel looked after. Our room was lovely. Spotlessly clean with a cosy, yet spacious, feel. Raymond and Laura (and their team) were so welcoming-even going as far to recommend, book AND drop us off at a local restaurant on our first night when we arrived tired and jet lagged. The breakfasts were fantastic and were a great opportunity to chat with other guests and share tips. Likewise with the wine and nibbles in the evening. We really felt like we had been invited to stay at a friends beautiful house, rather than that we had booked a hotel.

The location was also great. We were easily able to walk to all of the main sights and attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank itchyfeetsarah82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Since D.C. has so much to offer my husband and I came back again. We loved this B&B so much that we decided to go back to D.C. again and stay at the Embassy Circle. What can you say about a place that is beautiful, clean and in a great location. We love the breakfast as we feel it is a nice healthy way to start the day. There is always a nice selection of fruit, breads, cheese and salmon, plus cold cereal. The breakfast also includes a nice hot entree with the meal. Lovely late afternoon wine and assortment of nuts is served each day. There is always coffee, tea and nice assortment of cookies to choose from. The rooms are beautiful and clean, truly you cannot go wrong booking your stay here. There is nothing like the feel of a B&B and the owners do a wonderful job of hosting. Conversations are always fun and lively and they are a welcoming start to a day at breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank newyorker96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our first trip to the USA and we had so many plans for our visit to Washington. However we needed to revise these during the Shut Down. A warm friendly welcome from Betty and Laura quickly welcomed us to Washington. A delightful home and beautifully decorated rooms.
The evening gatherings were super and quickly helped share the news of the days adventures of our fellow lodgers. These friendly chats over complimentary drinks and snacks were fabulous for getting us all together and one night responsible for a group of us very quickly deciding to head off to an Ice Hockey game. A unique experience for us, shared with a Queensland couple and our
"Coach" for the night, a US local. Delicious breakfast served each morning in a delightful breakfast room. Betty was helpful in helping with our plans to see the sights and booking for us, Thank you Laura for your friendly assistance and hospitality. It didn't matter that some major areas were shut down, we had plenty to see and do and enjoyed just wandering around this beautiful location. Highly recommend a stay here and if I ever return to see all the things I missed this time,
I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hopejoy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
436 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,192 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 142 in Washington DC
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Circle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Circle Guest House

Address: 2224 R St NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: £189 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Circle Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our historic and elegant Washington DC bed and breakfast, steps to the metro, shops & dining in Dupont Circle. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine & snacks, parking & internet access at our Dupont Circle inn. Our Washington DC B&B is centrally located with easy access to the famed monuments and sights of our Nation's Capital. If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast in DC, look no further than Embassy Circle, a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Circle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Circle Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing