We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treated like family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Circle Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Circle Guest House
Ranked #2 of 37 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasanton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treated like family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

What a lovely find in DC. We spent 3 nights in our nations capital and could not have picked a more perfect spot. Our hosts Laura and Raymond and the entire staff were wonderful, accommodating and engaging. The room was perfect, breakfasts were yummy and varied, and the conversation with our hosts and guests was delightful. Words will not do justice to the level of care that you will be treated to if you decide to stay here. We will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    20
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
69
395
61
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

What a lovely stay! This enchanting B and B is located in a stately area of the city - within a few blocks of Dupont Circle and a short walk to Georgetown. The inn is impeccably elegant, yet warm and inviting. Our room was beautiful. The owners, Laura and Raymond are simply the best - they are hospitable, engaging, knowledgeable about all aspects of the city, and generous (they found out it was my birthday and a sublime box of chocolates was placed in our room!) The breakfasts were delicious and varied, and the morning conversations with guests from around the world replicated in many ways what the capital city is: a gracious oasis of cultures and ideas. We shall be returning!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cam0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

If you are going to stay in a B&B in DC look no further than this place. The owners take their role as hosts really seriously and do their utmost to make you feel that you an honored family guest, not merely a fee paying contributor to the overhead! They have restored this beautiful early twentieth century former Taiwanese Embassy with impeccable taste and with a view to comfort and luxury - ok I admit the mattress is a little to "firm" for my taste but it is a small niggle. The communal evening drink in the living room when you don't know what might come up in conversation with the other guests is an added bonus but don't be bothered, it isn't mandatory if you are feeling unsociable. Breakfast is fresh and wholesome and the permanent supply of tea and coffee all day long more than welcome.

Besides the owners the staff are thoughtful, and gracious and everyone goes that extra mile.

So, what's not to like? Go ahead and book if they have room for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRB10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

While I have never stayed here my parents always do when they visit me in DC. Embassy Circle has truly spoiled them and I don't think they would ever stay anywhere else. The Guest House has been amazingly restored and the rooms are beautiful. My parents rave about the food and the fascinating mix of people they always meet when staying here. The innkeepers are also extremely friendly and accommodating. The location is great with easy Metro access and plenty of restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewB294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Raymond and Laura and their wonderful staff are truly top class! A very warm and welcoming place to stay! Thoroughly recommend it as the number 1 stay in Washington. We have never been so well looked after in all our travels! Perfect location and their home is divine ... Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank libster58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed with this place. From the moment you walk in you feel looked after. Our room was lovely. Spotlessly clean with a cosy, yet spacious, feel. Raymond and Laura (and their team) were so welcoming-even going as far to recommend, book AND drop us off at a local restaurant on our first night when we arrived tired and jet lagged. The breakfasts were fantastic and were a great opportunity to chat with other guests and share tips. Likewise with the wine and nibbles in the evening. We really felt like we had been invited to stay at a friends beautiful house, rather than that we had booked a hotel.

The location was also great. We were easily able to walk to all of the main sights and attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itchyfeetsarah82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Since D.C. has so much to offer my husband and I came back again. We loved this B&B so much that we decided to go back to D.C. again and stay at the Embassy Circle. What can you say about a place that is beautiful, clean and in a great location. We love the breakfast as we feel it is a nice healthy way to start the day. There is always a nice selection of fruit, breads, cheese and salmon, plus cold cereal. The breakfast also includes a nice hot entree with the meal. Lovely late afternoon wine and assortment of nuts is served each day. There is always coffee, tea and nice assortment of cookies to choose from. The rooms are beautiful and clean, truly you cannot go wrong booking your stay here. There is nothing like the feel of a B&B and the owners do a wonderful job of hosting. Conversations are always fun and lively and they are a welcoming start to a day at breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank newyorker96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Circle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Circle Guest House

Property: Embassy Circle Guest House
Address: 2224 R St NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Circle Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our historic and elegant Washington DC bed and breakfast, steps to the metro, shops & dining in Dupont Circle. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine & snacks, parking & internet access at our Dupont Circle inn. Our Washington DC B&B is centrally located with easy access to the famed monuments and sights of our Nation's Capital. If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast in DC, look no further than Embassy Circle, a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Circle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Circle Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing