We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Windsor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windsor Park Hotel
Ranked #125 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Windsor Park. The hotel is in a very nice area and within walking distance to several reasonably priced restaurants. We caught the bus from NY and it dropped us off at DuPont Circle and the hotel is only about a 15 minute walk. Our room was very spacious with a separate living area. Everything was clean and the room was quiet. Breakfast was better than lots of other hotels we had stayed at. They had fresh fruit! If you like walking as we do you can walk to all the famous sights from the hotel. The other plus about the room was you could open the windows and let fresh air in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MST52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPHWashington, Manager at Windsor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your good review. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    79
    46
    22
    27
See reviews for
32
40
27
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Nice and quite place. Well situated and great value for the money. i was there for just one night but service was pretty good. Nice surroundings and plenty of restaurants. Breakfast was good and wifi connections was also good

Room Tip: Nice and well situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VGMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPHWashington, Manager at Windsor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
We do appreciate your kind review. Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Reading the extremes in some of the reviews gave me second thoughts about staying here. The past 2 weeks I had been staying in a 3+ star hotel near Union Station. When rates doubled after Labor day I needed to find More reasonably priced lodging. Windsor hotel came up in bookng.com so i tried it. Yes the place is dated, musty and small in scale but well worth the price. My 3+ star hotel didn't provide a continental breakfast nor a refrigerator nor free wifi and only had a few tv channels. It did have gym which the Windsor doesn't. But then the 10 minute walk to the metro provides exercise. Nice neighborhood and plenty of restaurants to chose from. Since I will be staying in the dc area for a few months I would have liked a better long stay lodging rate. I address that next week.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onvacationx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPHWashington, Manager at Windsor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your good review. We have always tried to provide the things that guests need the most and include them with no extra charge. We understand that cost is a very important issue and we are always looking for ways to add value. We hope you come back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I have just arrived at the Windsor Park and am surprised by the negativity expressed by some previous reviewers. It is great value for money, very well situated (a few minutes from Connecticut Avenue), everything seems to work and there is free internet access (laptop and desk top). If the critics want something better then there are a lot of other hotels in the area - but at a much higher price of course.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Catrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPHWashington, Manager at Windsor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Your response is greatey appreciated. We have always felt that those who have the most negative responses are those that did not research our hotel and find out all the facts about us. We have a very in depth website which describes the age of the building and there are many photos of all areas of the hotel. You are obviously well traveled and have experienced all aspects of the lodging industry. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel has a nice old fashioned feel to it and the rooms are great value for money. I was in a room on the fifth floor with 2 others for 3 nights and the 2 queen beds were comfortable and clean. Housekeeping came each day. The bathroom looked much newer than the rest of the hotel and it was also clean. Wi fi worked fine on my floor and in my room. I very much enjoyed the continental breakfast which was an assortment of bagels, muffins, cereal, tea, coffee, juice and bananas. Nice, quiet location and quick walk down hill to Dupont Circle and the metro station there. No complaints about the radiator, our room was set at a comfortable temperature and we didn't have to touch it. I was wary after reading many negative reviews on here, but once again I've discovered that there are so many fussy people out there who only have negative things to say! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPHWashington, Owner at Windsor Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

find another place to stay--keys not cards? safety!!!--room dirty--bed broken--rust on all fixtures--wow--you guys really need to do some work. Tile floor on bathroom loose. I stayed here as courtesy to a friend who booked it--I would of left, but in no position to do so. This place has so much potential--let it reach that potential--there were a lot of asian speakers in the hotel--booked out of country I guess---they were unhappy as well--one had a kleenex when they opened their door--we both laughed--laughter is the same in all languages.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaestroOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed here on business. I used to live in Cleveland Park (which is a mile north of this hotel), but recently moved to Maryland and needed a cheap place to stay two nights for work. Aspects of this hotel ranged from terrible to decent, so in no particular order:

1) Location = Woodley Park is an excellent area. It's clean and safe. The hotel is about 0.7 miles north of Dupont. The walk downhill is super easy and fast. It puts you right at the Metro (red line), wonderful restaurants, and a flurry of DC hot-spots. Parking is a bear, though. There's only street parking, and the times are restricted. My advice is to take a cab from the Woodley Park or Dupont metros. Walk down the hill on Connecticut Ave to the Hilton on the left for the easiest place to find a cab.

2) The Smell = in a word, bad. The hotel reaked of stale cigarettes. But I'm also pregnant, so I have a keen sense of smell. Regardless, it was gross.

3) The Staff = very friendly and helpful. They do the best they can with the very limited space and resources they have.

4) The Room = ugh. Where to start. For $168 per night, we were upgraded to a suite on the 5th floor, which was huge. But, it was very old, dated, and uncomfortable. The living room had one sofa chair that fit one person, a tiny flatscreen tv, a trundle bed, and an old desk with wooden chair. My husband and I ended up watching tv from the bed, which was so far away we could hardly see the screen. Sadly, we also ended up sleeping on the daybed...it seemed much cleaner than the queen in the bedroom. Although the walls were paper-thin and the curtains were gossamer (blocking out zero sunlight), I actually slept pretty well.

5) Temperature = As other reviewers mentioned, the temperature controls are a total mess. I was a little cold the first evening (a cool spring night), so I put on the heat. Cold air blasted from the vents, and I gave up. There was a thermostat that is probably as old as the hotel. If this stay had been during the winter or summer, I probably would have checked out immediately.

6) Bathrooms = For me, the bathroom can make or break a hotel. This place got 2 stars because it was very clean, comfortable, and had a decent shower. The water was hot, pressure was good, and the showerhead was new. Maybe I have low standards, but it greatly improved my stay.

7) Incidentals = Free internet is a nice perk (both in the business center and in the rooms). Free breakfast is also nice, but it's a grab-and-go type deal. My husband said the muffins and croissants were good as a quick start to the day. Nothing to write home about, and very little space in the kitchen to eat them.

All in all, I would not recommend this hotel. But, it's very cheap compared to area hotels, and if one is willing to look past the old, outdated feel, it's a fairly comfortable place for a day or two. I did get home and remark that my house is exponentially cleaner than this hotel....which is pretty sad.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drosen81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#114 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#127 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#129 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#128 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#85 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Park Hotel

Property: Windsor Park Hotel
Address: 2116 Kalorama Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-1689
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windsor Park Hotel offers 43 guestrooms in a variety of configurations. Built in 1926, this charming hotel has been restored and updated to provide everything expected by those traveling for business or pleasure. All bathrooms have been recently renovated (2009) and there is free wireless internet throughout the hotel. Two computer stations are also available for our guests use and our free Continental Breakfast saves the time and expense of finding a restaurant in the morning.Windsor Park Hotel is in a charming, quiet, safe neighborhood with over 100 establishments offering shopping, art, entertainment and cuisine from around the world. Embassies, majestic homes parks and tree-lined streets are a pleasure to see throughout the year. Guests can walk to Rock Creek Park, DuPont Circle, Adams Morgan, the National Zoo and many other points of interest. There are three major convention hotels within a short walk and two metro stations -Woodley Park-Zoo and DuPont Circle- are within a few short blocks enabling our guests to reach all the wonderful sites in our Nation’s Capital. The friendly personalized service of this small hotel makes all our guests feel right at home. This is where yesterdays charm is today’s treasure.Hotel and Room Amenities24-Hour Front Desk AC/HEAT w Individual Comfort Control ElevatorBusiness Services Free Local Calls Voice MailVending/Ice Machines Iron/Board RefrigeratorSafe Deposit at Front Hair Drier in bathrooms Map/Tour InfoRollaway/Cribs available Comcast Digital TV w over 100 Channels We have only street parking but there are two large garages within a few blocks.We are a “Smoke Free Property” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Park Washington Dc
Hotel Windsor Park
Windsor Park Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing