We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, atmosphere and service”
Review of Proof

Proof
Reserve with OpenTable
Proof is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #137 of 3,261 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 8th and G
Transit: Gallery Place/Chinatown Metro
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and service”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I suppose the one negative is the giant wine list, which is somewhat overwhelming and challenging to maneuver. Otherwise, this is a great place. It is very expensive, so be prepared for spending a good amount.
It was two of us. We shared the Boston bib lettuce salad. It was large enough for two and delicious. I had the duck breast on risotto. Exceptional. I asked for the duck to be cooked medium rare and it was down exactly as I requested. The risotto was possibly the best or one of the best risotto I have had. My companion had the grilled tofu. Who would have thought of having tofu for a main meal? It came with grilled vegetables. I got to taste it and it was delicious!

I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    164
    67
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“comfortable for foodies”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Proof is a cool spot that hits the sweet spot between fabulous food and warm service. The quinoa salad is the best i ever had. But all in our party liked each different salad. Halibut a great choice in the fish line. My husband liked the hangar steak- actually truly properly med rare. Joseph, the sommelier, is fun and knowledgable about small, fresh wine selections. Made the evening fun. Don't forget to try the warm sticky toffee pudding. excellent. Even the manager stopped by to say hello. And I've now experienced 3 waiters- all of whom hustled, yet were remarkable attentive. Our new favorite before theater, although it's a shame to cut the night short- make the restaurant your entertainment. Fun crowd. Plus- they take reservations, and check ahead. That's important to us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Was here for a business event, and all the food and wines were picked for us ahead of time, but everything we had was great. I tried a couple of varieties of wines I'd never heard of prior to visiting there. Lovely time, good food, friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank savingparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent Restaurant Near Verizon Place”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had the tasting menu here and it was ok. The portions were large for a tasting menu. I like the atmosphere. Nice bar and outside. Great place to eat before a concert at Verizon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeetingProDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Proof is one of those places that you don't want to tell others about because you want to keep the secret to yourself. Well, I visited again recently and feel that they deserve my praise. I will keep going back even if I have to make reservations ahead of time. Drinks and selection are fantastic, service is very good, with top notch sommeliers and servers, Food is great and just melts in your mouth. Fair pricing. Just a great place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tcamp0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Proof also viewed

 

Been to Proof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing