We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place for business colleagues to meet”
Review of Proof

Proof
Reserve with OpenTable
Proof is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #127 of 3,228 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 8th and G
Transit: Gallery Place/Chinatown Metro
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun place for business colleagues to meet”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Food was good, wine list was robust, service was attentive and atmosphere was fun and lively - but, thankfully, not too noisy. A good place for dinner with business colleagues. A bit pricey.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllisonK64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    163
    68
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Went here to celebrate a wedding anniversary. Very nice staff greets you as you enter. One small complaint is that we were never offered outside seating. We would've like that, but either it was already reserved or they just didn't think we would want to? I don't know. Next time I will ask when we arrive. The waitstaff is friendly and accommodating. Service is impeccable. Water never empty, no dirty plates left on the table. The Halibut that I had was incredible. Very tasty piece of fish. My wife had the pork chop, which was also very tasty. We started with some Charcuterie. Everything was very good. Didn't have any wine but the list looked extensive. Decent beer list. No room for dessert but the selections looked good. We left pleasantly full and happy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jefe96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Proof is in the Eating”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Proof offers excellent food creatively prepared and presented. The mains are outstanding and the wine list gives a wide range of choices to satisfy any palate. Appetizers and cheese boards offer more creativity, quality, and fun than you will find at most top quality restaurants. Paired with outstanding by-the-glass wine choices it is possible to build a wonderful light meal from appetizers and cheese boards. The extra ingredient is the highly professional and friendly management and staff - they are "on their game". You are the center around which the experience revolves. The result is a relaxed friendly atmosphere with great food and wine focused on you and your guests. The Proof is in the eating and they deliver.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, PA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“The nicest waitstaff!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It's nice to be able to be seated early when you could only get a reservation for 8PM and you have an event to attend at 9:15. This was our case and the hostess was sweet about it. Bam. We were in. Our waitress was lovely and our glasses were never empty. The food was elegant and nicely presented. I would go back here in a hot second!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodielicious2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went to Proof last Friday night. The menu was excellent, the wine selection was fantastic, and the service with knowledgeable, attentive and really pleasant. The atmosphere is pretty cool and nice/casual. Loved this place - and will come back when I return to DC!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkWeGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Proof also viewed

 

Been to Proof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing