We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Hotel Awkward"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georgetown Inn West End
Ranked #97 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Hotel Awkward"”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The BW Gerogetown was a generally satisfying experience. Staff pleasant and helpful, good room size, usable kitchenette, good value, free wi-fi, convenient location, etc., but I can't get over the awkwardness of the arrangement of my room, #803.

A comfortable chair...placed directly in front of the closet so I had either to move the chair or reach deep into the closet just to use it; a pull-out sofa, good for extra guests...directly in front of a large, low air conditioner, making it awkward to open and close the curtains of the largest window in the room; a toilet paper dispenser...placed so awkwardly that it could only have been less convenient if they had installed it in the living room.

I don't want readers to get the impression that they shouldn't stay here. Again, it's a good value with a convenient location. (Also, the room was very, very clean, so thanks to Housekeeping, the most thankless job in any hotel.) But what can they have been thinking with the room arrangement? On the surface it may seem minor, but it was the difference between a decent stay and a good one.

BTW, full props to the front desk. They were helpful and pleasant. I zipped down to pick up some toothpaste (thanks!) and the young man behind the counter was handing some difficult guests with aplomb, a sign of good management and training. Overall, I liked the BW Georgetown and would stay again in similar circumstances, but oh, that awkward room!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SomewhatJaded2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nana-Kojo A, General Manager at Georgetown Inn West End, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear SomewhatJaded2013,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We will look into the layout of this room for better accommodation. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kojo Aboagye,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    368
    160
    60
    30
See reviews for
289
200
56
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Mass.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Nice room, nice bed, nice staff, everything nice except.....tortoise-like WiFi. If you're going to tout this as an amenity, invest in the bandwidth to make it a meaningful one. Otherwise, you're engaging in something right on the border of false advertising. Another time I might not have cared, but on this trip I needed a decent internet connection, and didn't get one. Next time I'll look somewhere else, which is too bad, because they're doing everything else right.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nana-Kojo A, General Manager at Georgetown Inn West End, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us. The issue with the Internet is one we have had in the past and we are working hard to target the problem. Before you give up on us completely, call us the next time to see if the problem still exists. We hope to have solved it by your next visit to Washington, D.C. We will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 202-457-0565.

Kojo Aboagye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel is not really in Georgetown, but in Foggy Bottom. The location is good for central DC, the monuments and for a walk into Georgetown. The king bed suite had a nice sitting area separated from the bed area, a small kitchenette with fridge and microwave, but limited utensils and crockery. No parking on site, but discounted self parking is available in the Ritz Carlton nearby. The complementary breakfast buffet was good. The staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: The extra cost for a king bed suite was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonyman_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nana-Kojo A, General Manager at Georgetown Inn West End, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear anonyman_49,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We value your feedback. Please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance on your next visit to our property!

Warm Regards,
Kojo Aboagye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was the 4th year we had a group of about 20 academics in town for a workshop. For our needs, it was perfect. The staff couldn't be more helpful, cheerful or efficient. The rooms were more than adequate, mindful that professors do not stay at the Ritz Carlton. The included breakfast was a welcome and enjoyable benefit. The location is central and within walking distance of many popular attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank rdt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nana-Kojo A, Manager at Georgetown Inn West End, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear rdt4,

Thank you so very much for your kind words. They inspire us to keep moving forward in our customer service and guest relationships. We are so honored that you continue to keep coming back to our hotel and we would like you to know that your comments mean a lot. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Washington, D.C.!

Sincerely,

Kojo Aboagye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel was great! It was conveniently located near all the sites you would want to visit when in DC. We were able to easily catch the train and move around the area without driving. That was a HUGE plus since parking is quite pricey. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nana-Kojo A, General Manager at Georgetown Inn West End, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Jennie O,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us online. We appreciate your generosity and can't wait to see you when you come back! Let us know when you're coming and we'll prepare some complimentary welcome snacks for you at check-in.

Warm Regards,
Kojo Aboagye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We got a competitive, excellent rate at under $100 for a room that slept 4 and included a wet bar and full breakfast buffet. Clean, city hotel in an excellent location. Great for families wanting to buy food, eat in and save on breakfast expenses by eating at the huge buffet of great, healthy choices. Sofa bed was pretty rickety and low quality but Queen Bed was excellent as were bathroom linens and amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nana-Kojo A, Manager at Georgetown Inn West End, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Ellen C,

We are excited that you enjoyed your room and all of the amenities we have to offer. It is important to us that our guests's experience at our hotel feels like home and... according to you, we're not far from that. We will work on the sofa-bed issue since this is not the first complaint. Thank you so much for taking the time out to let us know what we are doing right and what we can improve on. We value your opinion. Come back and see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Kojo Aboagye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Earl, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very nice hotel. Friendly staff. We arrived at noon, and one of our four rooms was ready. We were allowed to check in and place all of our luggage in that one room. Then off for some sightseeing, and the Nationals baseball game A short walk to the metro, and within walking distance of the National Mall. Our rooms were very clean, and the beds were very comfortable. It is in a very nice part of town. After the game, we had no problems walking back from the Metro at midnight.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Edwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nana-Kojo A, Manager at Georgetown Inn West End, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Edwin D,

We appreciate your kind words very much! Thank you for leaving such a nice review. It lets us know that we are on the right track to keeping our guests happy and the rooms clean.

Next time try to do some shopping in Georgetown and have lunch or dinner on the beautiful Washington Harbour! We can suggest a lot more for you to do here in our city. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Kojo Aboagye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
517 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#75 of 141 in Washington DC
961 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#94 of 141 in Washington DC
665 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
1,356 reviews
Georgetown
The Georgetown Inn
The Georgetown Inn
#86 of 141 in Washington DC
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn West End

Property: Georgetown Inn West End
Address: 1121 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1522 (Formerly Best Western Georgetown Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgetown Inn West End 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the secure, exclusive downtown Georgetown neighborhood, close to the White House, Dupont Circle, World Bank, George Washington University & more. Convenient walk to 3 METRO Stations & more than 50 restaurants within 3 blocks Easy access to museums, monuments & all sightseeing points of interest Walk to famous Embassy Row & numerous international embassies Shopping & entertainment right at your doorstep Just a short walk to numerous art galleries! SUPERB ACCOMMODATIONS & SERVICES All 76 elegant guestrooms are spacious suites with separate living room & bedroom areas Equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board & hairdryer Recently renovated bathrooms with beautiful blue pearl vanities, tiles & foyers The new Business Center is well equipped for your on-the-road office needs 500 Square feet of flexible meeting space available for up to 30 people Free high-speed wireless internet access in all guestrooms Free day passes for LA Fitness Center nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Georgetown Inn West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Georgetown Hotel And Suites
Best Western Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Best Western Washington Dc
Washington Dc Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing