We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georgetown Inn West End
Ranked #97 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The location of this hotel is good to walk to the Lincoln Memorial etc. It is very close to Georgetown University, hence the name. The neighborhood is Foggy Bottom not the actual Georgetown neighborhood. There are a few restaurants nearby, a subway and a Whole Foods.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nana-Kojo A, General Manager at Georgetown Inn West End, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Todd M,

Thank you very much for response. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be accommodating. We hope you come back to our property on your next visit to nation's capital. Thank you again for taking out the time to leave your comments on our page. Your feedback is very helpful.

Take Care,
Kojo Abaogye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    368
    160
    60
    30
See reviews for
289
201
56
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel was easy to get too, location is also good to get around Washington for the sites. The room was actually nice for a Best Western. There were four of us traveling including my two teenage daughters and they recommended the room with the pull out couch. The room was fine, nice size, clean, but the pull out couch was insanely uncomfortable. Also, while there was a blanket and pillows for the couch, there was no sheets so we needed to call down. After about an hour of attempting to sleep the girls gave up and folded it back up, one slept on the couch and the other on the floor because it was so uncomfortable. I would stay there again, but I would make sure there were two double beds if traveling with more then two people. Couple of other issues is that AC did not work well, had it on full blast to keep the room around 74 degrees. The Closet doors were off the track and when I went to use the hair dryer it did not work. I did let the front desk staff know when we checked out. If you are staying multiple days, having the fridge and microwave is fantastic. Word to the wise, pull up to the hotel and unload and get the parking pass as the parking garage is actually at the Ritz Carlton and is about a block away. It's an easy walk, but better to do without luggage. When we checked it, the person checking us in was pretty much non-communicative and not very helpful. The other front desk person was more so, but I did notice they were never at the desk. They tended to hang out in the back room and only popped out after a minute or two of guests waiting at the counter. We observed this both in the evening when we checked in and out as well as when we were sitting in the lobby. Breakfast was typical free breakfast food, but was ediable and best of all had something my Gluten Free daughter could eat. Overall a decent hotel for the money and a good location for seeing the sites, but not sure if I would stay there again. Might try someplace else.

Room Tip: Make sure if you are intending to use the pull out couch...DON'T. Get a room with more then one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLH61293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nana-Kojo A, General Manager at Georgetown Inn West End, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Dear TLH61293,

Thank you for leaving a review on our page. I am sorry that your stay was not as perfect as we were aiming for. Every day we strive to give superior guest experiences . We are in the process of implementing changes to our hotel for future guest approval. We appreciate your comments because it helps us to better ourselves more and more. I truly hope you do come back and visit us at some point so that we may have the opportunity to try again.

Sincerely,
Kojo Aboagye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Georgetown Best Western. it was within walking distance to so many of the sites in Washington DC it was clean and a very ppleasant place to stay. We enjoyed the morning breakfast, it was very nice, and we were then able to get on with seeing the sights offered in the area

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Vickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nana-Kojo A, Guest Relations Manager at Georgetown Inn West End, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Dear Vickie C,

Thank you very much for commenting on our TripAdvisor page! Thank you also for choosing to stay with us at the BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel and Suites! I'm glad we could be a nice start to your days of sightseeing. We try our best to make sure we can make you feel right at home before you explore our city. We appreciate your time and hope you will come back another time to see some sights you didn't see the first time.

Warm Regards,
Regina Childs
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

great value for the money and even if more expensive would have been worth it. great location . surprised at cost so close in dc near the metro stops and many restaurants large room with 2 queen beds. nice that included breakfast

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank vacationmomnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nana-Kojo A, General Manager at Georgetown Inn West End, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Dear vacationmomnyc,

Thank you so much for your review. I think it will be very helpful for people who are looking at coming to our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to do so! Please come back and visit us soon!

Sincerely
Kojo Aboagye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked this hotel, as we liked the idea of having a kitchenette (fridge is handy) and the extra safe would be nice. As other reviewers have said, the hotel is a bit out of date with interior design - but it's purely aesthetic. Everything works, the TV was flatscreen and the bathroom suite looked modern.

The staff were pleasant at the front desk and check in was easy. The room was huge, and the A/C was not right next to the bed and quiet - so great sleeping potential for fellow light sleepers! As long as you don't require a modern design/gadgets then this room is great. Lots of nearby restaurants and with a bike rental you can cycle around the main touristy locations.

Breakfast had a good selection, and lots of seats (with an extra room) - though the staff weren't the happiest people (probably because it's a very busy job?)

The hotel also had Laundry facilities downstairs if you need to do any washing.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor suites, and it was very quiet (though facing the road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nana-Kojo A, General Manager at Georgetown Inn West End, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Andy T,

Thank you very much for your response. I hope it helps others when trying to find out more about our location. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review about us. We hope you come back soon!

Sincerely,
Kojo Aboagye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, CT
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked this hotel through Hotwire and got a fair price for this location (Georgetown/Foggy Bottom, near DuPont Circle.). Tariff came to just over $160/night including the onerous local taxes. Includes breakfast, which is good because this part of Washington is sadly lacking in breakfast places.
Hotel looks OK but still needs some upgrading. Entryway into lobby, while attractive, has strong smell of mildew. Fortunately, rooms did not share that odor. However, toilet stopped up, and they sent someone to fix it while we were out to dinner. Came back and it was not properly cleared. We were then told that the person who does this had left for the night. Front desk seemed to think that that was OK. On my insistence (but only on my insistence) they moved us to another room. Thus, I'd rate service no better than "C."
Room was comfortable, adequately spacious, and had small fridge and kitchenette sink (all to the good). Ceiling over bath had mold stains indicating some leakage from above. Another example of refurbishing work that still needs to be done.
Breakfast was the usual buffet of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, rolls and fruit. Not fabulous but perfectly alright for an included breakfast.
Parking is across the street at the Ritz Carlton. So unpack before you park, because it's quite a schlep back from your parking space (with at least one flight of stairs or an arduous haul up a long car ramp.) Parking was an additional $26-$28 per night: Cheaper than New York, but that's about the best you can say about it.
Big plus is location in Georgetown, and easy walk to lots of restaurants. We liked Grillfish (about one block north) and went there twice. Note that the Best Western is limited service: No on-premises food or drink except breakfast. It ain't the Ritz, but then again, neither is the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertNorwalk_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nana-Kojo A, Guest Relations Manager at Georgetown Inn West End, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear RobertNorwalk_CT,

Thank you for your review. It is accurate and thorough! Because we are not a "full service hotel, we try our best to make accommodations available to our guests. Thank you for highlighting some key facts such as our parking, breakfast, location and our low price. We keep our rates (parking and room rates) lower than other hotels in our area, we love having complimentary breakfast available for our guests, and we love our location too! We even keep menus available at the Front Desk with delivery from restaurants like Chili's, T.G.I. Friday's, and more.

By telling us what you enjoyed, as well as possible areas of improving,you're helping us to implement a better experience for guests in the future-thank you! Come back soon!

Warm Regards,
Regina Childs
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcoa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is in a very convenient location--a 10 minute walk to the Foggy Bottom Metro station. The room was large and well furnished but the carpet is to the point of needing repair. Check in was very efficient and shortly after we got to the room the receptionist called to ask if there was anything we needed--a nice touch. The breakfast was good and the breakfast room was very inviting. Considering that more expensive hotels do not provide breakfast that helps the room rate here seem reasonable. The hotel was quiet so we slept well. Would definitely stay here again. We had no car as we came to DC by train but I would not suggest staying here if you have a car as parking is some distance and expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bill531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nana-Kojo A, Guest Relations Manager at Georgetown Inn West End, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Bill531,

We are happy to have met your expectations during your stay at our hotel. We appreciate you taking out the time to say so. Come back and see us again. We would love to host your stay again!

Kind Regards,
Regina Childs
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
517 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#76 of 141 in Washington DC
961 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#93 of 141 in Washington DC
666 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,356 reviews
Georgetown
The Georgetown Inn
The Georgetown Inn
#92 of 141 in Washington DC
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn West End

Property: Georgetown Inn West End
Address: 1121 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1522 (Formerly Best Western Georgetown Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgetown Inn West End 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the secure, exclusive downtown Georgetown neighborhood, close to the White House, Dupont Circle, World Bank, George Washington University & more. Convenient walk to 3 METRO Stations & more than 50 restaurants within 3 blocks Easy access to museums, monuments & all sightseeing points of interest Walk to famous Embassy Row & numerous international embassies Shopping & entertainment right at your doorstep Just a short walk to numerous art galleries! SUPERB ACCOMMODATIONS & SERVICES All 76 elegant guestrooms are spacious suites with separate living room & bedroom areas Equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, iron/ironing board & hairdryer Recently renovated bathrooms with beautiful blue pearl vanities, tiles & foyers The new Business Center is well equipped for your on-the-road office needs 500 Square feet of flexible meeting space available for up to 30 people Free high-speed wireless internet access in all guestrooms Free day passes for LA Fitness Center nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Georgetown Inn West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Georgetown Hotel And Suites
Best Western Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Best Western Washington Dc
Washington Dc Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing