We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, musty room odor”
Review of The Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgetown Inn
Ranked #87 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient location, musty room odor”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I love the location of this hotel on Wisconsin and N streets. The staff is courteous. The rooms and bedding are nice, but it smells like mold. The whole second floor was having trouble with the drains. Our shower wouldn't drain and the maid had to call the plumber numerous times. I used another bathroom in another room and the drain didn't work there either. Finally, the plumber showed up and fixed the drain after an hour and I had an appointment. Also, the AC didn't work, so we had a room with an AC in the window and we couldn't open the windows. The first night the room smelled like sulfur, but is the second night it was better. This could have been due to the backed up drains. The panel in the bathroom dropped, so we had to ask for it to be fixed. I booked online, too. Then, I called to confirm my reservation and asked for a lower rate since I had seen it on line at least fifty five dollars less than when I had booked it four days earlier. The man who answered agreed to the lower price until another man said they could not do this because they were fully booked (not according to the website) and he would have the manager call me the next day which he did not.I called the manager from home. He lowered the price but not to lowest price which was registered on their website. I like the convenient location, parking, the bedding. I do not like the plumbing, ac, and moldy smell. I have stayed here at least three times in a 17 year period. The infrastructure needs to be redone. Fabric chairs had stains on them

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemariem989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to make improvements. We apologize your stay was less than expected, but please be assured we are using your comments constructively and will make any neccessary corrections to insure similar instance does not occur. We do appreciate your business and we hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    182
    84
    35
    30
See reviews for
202
106
28
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this hotel! I stayed with my teenage daughter for a week in August and returned a week later for another night. The location is fabulous and the service is first class. The staff is wonderful -- helpful, efficient, friendly. The young women on the front desk were always most obliging and always able to accommodate our various requests. An internet access issue was quickly sorted by hotel management. Dave from Housekeeping solved a serious laundry problem. Hamid from the bell staff arranged a limo for Dulles airport that cost less than the Super Shuttle and -- more importantly -- went at a time of our choosing. They also stored our extra luggage for us, while my daughter and I took a train up to Boston to look at various colleges. And, as requested, they gave us the same room on our return a week.
The Daily Grill has a great menu and the room service was excellent.
Our room overlooked Wisconsin Ave but was surprisingly quiet. The bedding was lovely, the mattress nice and firm. Only two negatives: the air conditioning was a bit loud and the bathroom was slightly disappointing, with only a shower and no bath. Having said that, we did specifically request a room on the second floor with a street view, so perhaps we would have had a different bathroom configuration on a higher floor. (It clearly wasn't that important, as evidenced by the fact we not only kept the room for the week, but requested it again for our return!)
True, the hotel may be a bit worn in places but it has far more character and charm than any of the sterile chain hotels we've stayed in on past visits to DC.
We go to Washington at least once a year and we will certainly be returning to the Georgetown Inn!

Room Tip: Street side was surprisingly quiet, even on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InternatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

When I went to Georgetown University, the Georgetown was THE luxury, in place to stay near Georgetown. That was 40 years ago. I booked there last week while visiting and was able to get a very attractive rate in the crazy expensive D.C. hotel market.

It turned out to be a really good value. The Inn shows the ware of its years of service. Some of the desks and tables were clearly originals and had survived a few toga parties, but the bedding was good and everything was clean and old elegant. The service was great.

The Inn is at a prime location and walkable to anything Georgetown and given they do not appear to be targeting the lobbyist expense account price point, this is a good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WTPArmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for stying with us again. We're pleased you found our hotel to be a good value in Washington DC. We appreciate your business and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The weekend before our daughter began her career as a new Doctor started out with a near hurricane of challenges. Both the hotel we were staying at in Bethesda and my daughter's nearby apartment wre amongst the places hit as destructive wind and rain poured through the Mid Atlantic. After considering our options, the choice to pick up and move to another location was clearly the best option. We found the Georgetown Inn on line. After navigating our way through downed trees and through traffic snarled by the lack of traffic signals, we arrived. The hotel staff was so accommodating, immediately responding to our needs, and welcoming us in like we were family. Throughout our stay, we just kept saying how grateful and fortunate we were to find this beautiful gem! What could have been a disaster quickly became an oasis for us during this stressful time. My daughter started her Residency at Walter Reed in Ob-Gyn with the Georgetown being her 'home' during these first few important days of her life.
Thank you to. All of the staff, especially the young woman who was at the front desk when we first arrived. Her spirit and attitude helped us know that everything was going to work out just fine. It did, thanks to all of you!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJBarrett413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We will insure the staff is aware of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attert
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed 1 night in this hotel and it was an overall good experience. Rooms are fine but a little noisy when in fron of the building.
The quality of the bar and breakfast are very good.
The best thing is the location which is very good when going do Washington as the city center itself is usually very very quiet (nothing to do for sure).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomDoc2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed at the Georgetown Inn recently and are happy to be returning next month! We'll also recommend to friends/associates who travel to the Washington, DC area. The staff at the Inn were all very warm, friendly, polite and professional! Everyone from the front desk, parking valet and housekeeper treated us well, and even the bartender was helpful and forthcoming with information about local restaurants, etc. We stayed for two nights and our room was lovely, had a nice view, and the short walking distance to restaurants and the Capitol were a huge plus as well. Georgetown Inn should get the highest of ratings!!! ...The Fishers

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the Georgetown shopping area which was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fisher533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you Fishers! We look forward to seeing you again next month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2012

the always reliable Georgetown Inn continues to succeed. New management is sprucing the place up while many of the old staff remain to make the stay personal and personable. The Keurig coffee makers are a great addition to the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DayTrip_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommentManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
We sincerely appreciate your continued patronage of the Georgetown Inn. Thank you for sharing your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#81 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#118 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Georgetown University Hotel and ...
#117 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgetown Inn

Property: The Georgetown Inn
Address: 1310 Wisconsin Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#83 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Georgetown, Washington DC. Walk to world class shopping, popular restaurants and pubs and local attractions including Georgetown University, M Street and the Waterfront. Full service hotel offering upscale amenities and the Daily Grill Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing