We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO CLIMATE CONTROL!”
Review of The Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgetown Inn
Ranked #87 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NO CLIMATE CONTROL!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

BEWARE, This hotel has no climate control. We stayed there 2 weeks ago and thankfully there was a cool breeze on an unexpected warm weekend so I opened a window . In the winter there is only heat, summer only cool. NO thermostat in the room. The front desk manager had no time for me and responded to my complaint with disdain. The bar staff was equally as incompetent. Never again!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, General Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. We regret that our facilities and services did not exceed your expectations. However, currently we are replacing our entire heating ventilation and air conditioning systems with a personalized climate control system to ensure that future guests will have more enjoyable experiences at our hotel. We hope to win back your confidence as we move forward with this project and other improvements to our hotel. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    182
    84
    35
    30
See reviews for
202
106
28
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The hotel is old but if you want a good deal that is walking to Georgetown shops then this the hotel for you. but expect that the hotel is a bit outdated and needs a renovation.

Good restaurant downstairs, The Daily Grill.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaiMeiLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, General Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. Your feedback is vital to our continued success and we are very interested in your opinion as we move forward with the necessary improvements to our hotel. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a large king room and the bed was great, as were the linens. The bathroom, not so much. The toilet was very low and the shower had a small low square tub area as the base...would be good for bathing my dog but not for anything else. The shower was weak. There were two rooms with our room number, which was confusing. The elevators are very shabby and there is no help getting a taxi, so load Uber on your phone before you go. Location, great and price moderate, which earned the average rating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f00lme0nce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, General Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful and balanced comments about your most recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. Your assessment means a great deal to all of us at The Georgetown Inn. We are pleased that your visit to Georgetown and the nation's capital was an overall success! All of us at The Georgetown Inn will certainly look forward to your future visits. In the meantime, we will continue to work hard toward improving our facilities and services. Thank you, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
739 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Pros
Spacious room
Good free Wifi
Windows can be opened,noise level relatively low if facing the back of the hotel
Price OK
Good location for Georgetown
Cons
No concierge
Bathroom antiquated
No lounge to speak of downstairs
No newspapers
Restaurant offers mediocre food and poor service
Altogether deserves 3 1/2 stars but the rating system does not allow for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, General Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful balance sheet of pros and cons regarding your most recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. Your feedback means a great deal to all of us at The Georgetown Inn. We are very interested in our guests' opinions as we move forward with the necessary improvements to our hotel. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again sometime soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I've stayed here several times. One things has improved: the television is now fully up to date, with HD sets and HD signal.
The bathrooms are still very small and this time I had a fairly serious plumbing problem.

I have no trouble with street noise while I'm here, but YMMV because I grew up in a noisy city.

The location makes the Georgetown Inn worth returning to for me (no real alternative), but it really isn't in good shape, and on the whole it seems to me to be declining.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crito0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your comments -- we appreciate your choosing The Georgetown Inn for your visit to Georgetown. In many ways, we are actually "on the rise" as we conclude an extensive project to replace our entire air conditioning system with an advanced personalized climate control system. Thank you for noting the enriched high definition on our over-sized flat screen TV's. These are just two examples of many initiatives now underway to focus on greater guest satisfaction. With these improvements combined with our reputation for excellent customer service, we are very pleased that we can count on your continued support and enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Given my fond memories of Georgetown as an undergrad, I felt a sense of loyalty towards the Georgetown Inn. Unfortunately that loyalty was tested when I came down for wedding and stayed at the Inn. Upon discovering my TV and half the lights in my room didn't work, I asked for an upgrade. The guy at the front desk was nice enough and "upgraded" me to an adjacent room with a tv that actually worked. The bathrooms are out of the 70's. I practically broke my arm trying to get the sink faucet to turn on. The same scenario went for the shower. I was hoping that would be the end of it, until I attempted to fall asleep. The noise outside my window made it impossible to sleep (given I had a street view). When I called down to the front desk for earplugs, the lady was downright rude and said they A) did not have earplugs and B) are a hotel situated in the center of Georgetown so that was to be expected. I responded that they should then be prepared with earplugs for their guests. The noise was so bad that I had to get out of bed and make a CVS run at 1am. Not my ideal scenario after an exhausting week at work. Additionally, given the hotel is out of date, the price should be considerably lower than it is- they charge as much as the Ritz (which I highly recommend). If you're looking for a nice hotel with a great price I recommend the Georgetown Suites on campus. I stayed there after my abysmal Georgetown Inn experience. Luckily THAT was the Georgetown experience I was looking for, without the noise!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. We regret that our facilities and services did not meet or exceed your expectations during November of 2012. However, there have been many improvements since that date such as the installation of a new high speed internet service, new 37-inch high definition televisions in all guestrooms and other similar upgrades. Currently, we are replacing our entire heating ventilation and air conditioning systems to ensure that future guests will have more enjoyable experiences at our hotel. We hope to win back your trust as we move forward with this project and other necessary improvements to our hotel. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

The Georgetown Inn was most likely a very nice hotel at one point but it's day has passed. My stay here was disappointing at best. My room was incredibly small and the furniture was old. The bathroom was so small you had to nearly be in the shower to close the door. Luckily the shower door opened into the shower. I thought this might be to accommodate the bathroom door turns out if the shower door didn't push into the shower you could not have opened it far enough to actually get in. In addition the air conditioner had been turned off and the room was unbearably hot. I advised the front desk and they unapologetically informed me the air was off for the season. I asked if anything could be done to cool the room and a member of the engineering staff came and opened the window. Oh yea, the TV didn't work either. With so many other choices in Georgetown I will go elsewhere.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank travelingcoroner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. We are disappointed that our facilities and services did not meet or exceed your expectations especially the air conditioning situation. However, we have recently undertaken a vast project to replace our current heating, ventilation and air-conditioning system so that our future guests will have much more enjoyable experiences. In the meantime, we are very interested in your opinion as we move forward with this project and other necessary improvements to our hotel. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#81 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#118 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Georgetown University Hotel and ...
#117 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgetown Inn

Property: The Georgetown Inn
Address: 1310 Wisconsin Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#83 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Georgetown, Washington DC. Walk to world class shopping, popular restaurants and pubs and local attractions including Georgetown University, M Street and the Waterfront. Full service hotel offering upscale amenities and the Daily Grill Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing