We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and Well-Situated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Georgetown Inn
Ranked #90 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quaint and Well-Situated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I recently spent two nights at the Georgetown Inn. I found the staff to be extremely polite and attentive. The hotel is well-situated for a stroll around Georgetown or a longer walk into DC. Their restaurant and bar has a wise range of entrees and both of the meals I ate there, a breakfast and dinner. were very good. My room was rather large, but I suspect that was because it could accommodate handicapped guests. My only complaint was that the electrical outlet in the bathroom was rather loose and the lighting rather dim. I would stay there again if I had the occasion to visit Georgetown.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 688Jo2011688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Director of Sales at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your choosing The Georgetown Inn for your most recent visit to Georgetown and this nation's capital! We are pleased that your visit was an overall success! What a great location for a one-of-a-kind Georgetown experience. The exclusive Georgetown neighborhood of Washington, DC surrounds you with historic and pre-revolutionary homes, high-end shopping, international embassies and a multitude of unique restaurants and shops. All of us at The Georgetown Inn sincerely look forward to the opportunity to have you host your future visits. In the meantime, we hope that you will refer our hotel to other travelers who want to be nestled in the heart of Georgetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    179
    83
    34
    30
See reviews for
198
103
28
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were asked to change rooms one morning on our way out to a meeting. The front desk called after engineers knocked several times and then fled when we responded(obviously just checking if we were there). I indicated that it would make us late to our appt., and asked if they were willing to reduce our rate for doing so, the woman at the front desk said "never mind".
When we returned that evening there was a VERY STRONG sealant smell in the hallway that was burning our eyes and irritating my daughter's asthma. When I inquired I was told that regular maintenance had been performed in a bathroom on our floor. They agreed to move us, but were fairly unapologetic until I really complained. Then our rate was reduced by about $40. I wasn't overly impressed with the customer service or condition of the property. There was an evident mildew smell in both rooms as well.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mamakel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Director of Sales at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at The Georgetown Inn. However, we regret that our facilities and services did not meet or exceed your expectations. We are very interested in your opinion as we continue our efforts to restore our property to its previous grandeur. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

My son and I just returned from a 4 stop college tour, and I’m sad to say that our first stop at the Georgetown Inn was the only one that did not earn good reviews from us. Our guest room was plain – I would say plainly decorated but it really wasn’t decorated at all. Looked nothing like the photo online -- no resemblance whatsoever. The mattresses were fairly comfortable, but no headboards and no wall art hanging above left us feeling like we were staying in a box. With all white bedding the only color in the room being the navy rug and one picture hanging over the tv (which was not facing the beds). The room was clean when we arrived, but the following day not so much –the in room breakfast dishes were placed outside of our door when they cleaned and those stayed there I think until the next day. Our Wifi was spotty at best, and the telephone number that we were instructed to call to help us troubleshoot never answered our call. There was no in room refrigerator or safe. We didn’t even have a room number marking the outside our room so we had to guess which was ours by trying our key. The entry light did not work. Every time I tried to adjust the cheap and dusty vertical blinds they would fall off (disconnect). The fitness room was a joke. A tiny closet of a space with a treadmill, an elliptical, and a few light handweights.

The bathroom was modern and clean and functional so no complaint there. The employees were all very nice. With one exception, when they emailed after the trip to ask for a review, the email address of the person they provided bounced back as unavailable!

Our next 3 stops at the Holiday Inn in Williamsburg, the Homewood Suites in Davidson, NC, and the Washington Duke Inn in Durham, NC, were all far superior to our experience at the Georgetown Inn. It was really a shame and I hope that the hotel puts some serious effort into improving your facility because the location was really great with respect to the University. I’m afraid I cannot recommend it to fellow travelers as it is.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 948karenm948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Director of Sales at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. We regret that our facilities and services did not exceed your expectations. However, we have completed the replacement of our entire heating ventilation and air conditioning systems with a personalized climate control system to ensure that future guests will have more enjoyable experiences at our hotel. We hope to win back your confidence as we move forward with other such projects and other necessary improvements to our hotel. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

While it was a good location, the hotel and the rooms were not upscale. The furnishings and bathrooms were old, carpet dirty and dingy. They told us they were in the midst of a refurbish, but did not see any evidence of work being done. We got a refund and moved to another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dd2853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. However, we regret that our facilities and services did not meet or exceed your expectations. We are very interested in your opinion as we continue our efforts to restore our property to its previous grandeur. We sincerely hope that we can win back your confidence and have the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Georgetown Inn has a great web site - and it is nothing like the hotel itself. To call yourself an upscale boutique hotel, you had better be right! The room decor was very old, tired, worn. Furniture was like a Holiday Inn from 1970 that had never been updated. The carpet had faded to grey, the coffee tables had chips on them, the sofas were polyester and very old. We checked out and got our money back after viewing 2 rooms.

Whoever does their web site is a genius. Gross. Disappointing. Depressing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at The Georgetown Inn. However, we regret that our facilities and services did not meet or exceed your expectations. We are very interested in your opinion as we continue our efforts to restore our property to its previous grandeur. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

While conveniently located this hotel is very tired and in need of a major refresh. Room was adequate, gym was a joke (smaller than the room and 2 machines in it!). Dining room/bar was outdated and food was average

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mts304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. We are very disappointed that our facilities and restaurant did not exceed your expectations. Our success depends on guests like you who take the time to tell us about their experiences. We hope to win back your confidence as we continue to improve our historic hotel. In the meantime, all of us at The Georgetown Inn can only hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Great location in Georgetown! Within walking distance to good dining and shopping spots. The hotel itself is need of refurbishment. Very old and dated. The shower was horrible and bathroom tiny. Beds are super uncomfortable. But location and friendly staff save the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H_R_Desai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. We appreciate your recognizing the members of our staff for their friendliness and the attributes of our great location in the heart of historic Georgetown. Let me assure you that your feedback is very important to our continued success. As we continue to move forward with necessary improvements to our facility, we hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#80 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#118 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Georgetown University Hotel and ...
#117 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgetown Inn

Property: The Georgetown Inn
Address: 1310 Wisconsin Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#83 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Georgetown, Washington DC. Walk to world class shopping, popular restaurants and pubs and local attractions including Georgetown University, M Street and the Waterfront. Full service hotel offering upscale amenities and the Daily Grill Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing