We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel. Great location.”
Review of The Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Georgetown Inn
Ranked #96 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

From the moment I entered the lobby and was greeted by a friendly young woman behind the desk, who checked us in efficiently and early. My daughter who lives in Georgetown came to meet us and we enjoyed unique beers and a fantastic Bloody Mary. We set out on foot to explore the neighborhood and the campus at Georgetown. After a busy afternoon I retired to the comfy bed for a little nap. We visited the bar again, and decided we were all tired and we would spend the evening snuggled in our room and order room service. We had a fantastic meal, complete with delicious desserts. We enjoyed a couple movies and just settled in. My husband and I slept wonderfully in the comfy bed, and check out, parking, every detail of our stay was pleasant and smooth. We're going back again soon!

Room Tip: I'm quite sure any room would be lovely. We were high up and had a nice view of the city below u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzie814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Director of Sales at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We are pleased that your visit was an overall success! What a great location for a one-of-a-kind Georgetown experience. As you know, the exclusive Georgetown neighborhood of Washington, DC surrounds you with historic and pre-revolutionary homes, high-end shopping, international embassies and a multitude of unique restaurants and shops. Since new ownership, there have been many improvements such as the installation of a new free high speed internet service, new 37-inch high definition televisions in all guestrooms, a free 24-hour business center and other similar upgrades. Most recently, we completely replaced our entire heating ventilation and air conditioning systems with a new state-of-the-art personal climate control system. All of us at The Georgetown Inn sincerely look forward to the opportunity to have you host your future visits. In the meantime, we hope that you will refer our hotel to other travelers who want to be nestled in the heart of Georgetown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights and were very happy with the staff, the room and we loved the great location! This was a last minute trip and they were able to get us into a room early in the day and were very accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plsitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Director of Sales at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your choosing The Georgetown Inn for your most recent visit to Georgetown and this nation's capital! We are pleased that your visit was an overall success! What a great location for a one-of-a-kind Georgetown experience. The exclusive Georgetown neighborhood of Washington, DC surrounds you with historic and pre-revolutionary homes, high-end shopping, international embassies and a multitude of unique restaurants and shops. All of us at The Georgetown Inn sincerely look forward to the opportunity to host your future visits. In the meantime, we hope that you will refer our hotel to other travelers who want to be nestled in the heart of Georgetown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I recently spent two nights at the Georgetown Inn. I found the staff to be extremely polite and attentive. The hotel is well-situated for a stroll around Georgetown or a longer walk into DC. Their restaurant and bar has a wise range of entrees and both of the meals I ate there, a breakfast and dinner. were very good. My room was rather large, but I suspect that was because it could accommodate handicapped guests. My only complaint was that the electrical outlet in the bathroom was rather loose and the lighting rather dim. I would stay there again if I had the occasion to visit Georgetown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 688Jo2011688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Director of Sales at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your choosing The Georgetown Inn for your most recent visit to Georgetown and this nation's capital! We are pleased that your visit was an overall success! What a great location for a one-of-a-kind Georgetown experience. The exclusive Georgetown neighborhood of Washington, DC surrounds you with historic and pre-revolutionary homes, high-end shopping, international embassies and a multitude of unique restaurants and shops. All of us at The Georgetown Inn sincerely look forward to the opportunity to have you host your future visits. In the meantime, we hope that you will refer our hotel to other travelers who want to be nestled in the heart of Georgetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were asked to change rooms one morning on our way out to a meeting. The front desk called after engineers knocked several times and then fled when we responded(obviously just checking if we were there). I indicated that it would make us late to our appt., and asked if they were willing to reduce our rate for doing so, the woman at the front desk said "never mind".
When we returned that evening there was a VERY STRONG sealant smell in the hallway that was burning our eyes and irritating my daughter's asthma. When I inquired I was told that regular maintenance had been performed in a bathroom on our floor. They agreed to move us, but were fairly unapologetic until I really complained. Then our rate was reduced by about $40. I wasn't overly impressed with the customer service or condition of the property. There was an evident mildew smell in both rooms as well.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mamakel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Director of Sales at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at The Georgetown Inn. However, we regret that our facilities and services did not meet or exceed your expectations. We are very interested in your opinion as we continue our efforts to restore our property to its previous grandeur. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My son and I just returned from a 4 stop college tour, and I’m sad to say that our first stop at the Georgetown Inn was the only one that did not earn good reviews from us. Our guest room was plain – I would say plainly decorated but it really wasn’t decorated at all. Looked nothing like the photo online -- no resemblance whatsoever. The mattresses were fairly comfortable, but no headboards and no wall art hanging above left us feeling like we were staying in a box. With all white bedding the only color in the room being the navy rug and one picture hanging over the tv (which was not facing the beds). The room was clean when we arrived, but the following day not so much –the in room breakfast dishes were placed outside of our door when they cleaned and those stayed there I think until the next day. Our Wifi was spotty at best, and the telephone number that we were instructed to call to help us troubleshoot never answered our call. There was no in room refrigerator or safe. We didn’t even have a room number marking the outside our room so we had to guess which was ours by trying our key. The entry light did not work. Every time I tried to adjust the cheap and dusty vertical blinds they would fall off (disconnect). The fitness room was a joke. A tiny closet of a space with a treadmill, an elliptical, and a few light handweights.

The bathroom was modern and clean and functional so no complaint there. The employees were all very nice. With one exception, when they emailed after the trip to ask for a review, the email address of the person they provided bounced back as unavailable!

Our next 3 stops at the Holiday Inn in Williamsburg, the Homewood Suites in Davidson, NC, and the Washington Duke Inn in Durham, NC, were all far superior to our experience at the Georgetown Inn. It was really a shame and I hope that the hotel puts some serious effort into improving your facility because the location was really great with respect to the University. I’m afraid I cannot recommend it to fellow travelers as it is.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank 948karenm948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Director of Sales at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. We regret that our facilities and services did not exceed your expectations. However, we have completed the replacement of our entire heating ventilation and air conditioning systems with a personalized climate control system to ensure that future guests will have more enjoyable experiences at our hotel. We hope to win back your confidence as we move forward with other such projects and other necessary improvements to our hotel. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

While it was a good location, the hotel and the rooms were not upscale. The furnishings and bathrooms were old, carpet dirty and dingy. They told us they were in the midst of a refurbish, but did not see any evidence of work being done. We got a refund and moved to another hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dd2853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. However, we regret that our facilities and services did not meet or exceed your expectations. We are very interested in your opinion as we continue our efforts to restore our property to its previous grandeur. We sincerely hope that we can win back your confidence and have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Georgetown Inn has a great web site - and it is nothing like the hotel itself. To call yourself an upscale boutique hotel, you had better be right! The room decor was very old, tired, worn. Furniture was like a Holiday Inn from 1970 that had never been updated. The carpet had faded to grey, the coffee tables had chips on them, the sofas were polyester and very old. We checked out and got our money back after viewing 2 rooms.

Whoever does their web site is a genius. Gross. Disappointing. Depressing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at The Georgetown Inn. However, we regret that our facilities and services did not meet or exceed your expectations. We are very interested in your opinion as we continue our efforts to restore our property to its previous grandeur. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#9 of 142 in Washington DC
569 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#75 of 142 in Washington DC
973 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 142 in Washington DC
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#118 of 142 in Washington DC
58 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Georgetown University Hotel and ...
#121 of 142 in Washington DC
293 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgetown Inn

Address: 1310 Wisconsin Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#83 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £124 - £852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its 50-year tradition of elegance and sophistication, The Georgetown Inn is a classic Washington, DC hotel that is full of history and nostalgic glamour. Located in historic Georgetown, steps from trendy shopping and dining, our hotel offers a boutique European style with charming decor and distinctive luxury in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing