We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Needs to be Renovated.”
Review of The Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Georgetown Inn
Ranked #95 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We quite unexpectedly needed to go to Georgetown (from NYC) for a funeral and my spouse who lived in D.C. many years ago thought that at least we would feel a tiny bit better by staying overnight at a really nice place. Thus a reservation was made at the Georgetown Inn. She relayed to me that this was one of the classier places in the immediate area. Well, I'm sure that it used to be. Our "executive" room did have a seating area but that's truly the only positive thing that we could say about it. What struck us is that everything looked shabby. The sofa in the room was in disgraceful condition and the furniture was worn looking and kind of sad. Clearly the A/C was new and that worked well but that wasn't enough to make us feel that it was worth close to $300. which is what it cost. As everyone says, the location is great but the Management must have delusions of grandeur if they think that the condition of their hotel is acceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbgshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your balanced comments regarding your recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. Your feedback is absolutely critical to our continued success. We regret that our facilities and services did not meet or exceed your expectations. However, we are very interested in your opinion as we continue to steadily move forward with the necessary improvements to our hotel. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future at The Georgetown Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Whilst the location is great,right in the heart of Georgetown, the hotel has the feel of an inn, not a city hotel. The rooms are tired, the air conditioning did not work properly, the bathroom was tiny with only a shower and there was no safe in the room. We stayed for 2 nights but on our return to Washington we cancelled our reservation and stayed elsewhere. What a pity as we loved the location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P4017GHpeterl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your balanced comments regarding your visit to The Georgetown Inn. Your feedback is very important to our continued success. However, since your last visit we have invested well over $1million to install a brand new state-of-the-art air-conditioning system which guarantees individual climate control in all guestrooms. This improvement will ensure that future guests will have always enjoy cool, comfortable conditions as they visit Georgetown and the nation's capital during the upcoming summer months. We sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you again in the future at The Georgetown Inn under these improved circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Anyone considering the Georgetown Inn for their next stay should be aware that the "fitness center" advertised under services on its web page is practically nonexistent. From what I can tell they took one guest groom, cleared it out and put in a recumbent bike and a treadmill. Yes, that is about it. There is no other aerobic equipment in the room, indeed none would fit. In my opinion, while their claim of having a fitness center is technically true they should make clear in their advertising what patrons can actually expect. If the fitness center is irrelevant to you, then you should add a star to my review. Overall, the hotel is very attractive and well maintained. The location is superb. My room was clean, attractive and well appointed. Indeed, in my view, the hotel is overall rather charming.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twocat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

All of us at The Georgetown Inn are, of course, very proud and pleased that you enjoyed your stay enough to have you say:

"Overall, the hotel is very attractive and well maintained. The location is superb. My room was clean, attractive and well appointed. Indeed, in my view, the hotel is overall rather charming."

However, we regret that our limited fitness facilities did not meet your expectations. We want you to know that we have been pursuing a partnership with a very near-by full-service nearby fitness center which will allow our guests the daily use of their facilities without charge. We hope that we will have the opportunity to offer this additional service to you on your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights here. The room was spacious and modern and well equipped, although i was disappointed not to find a safe. Breakfast at the hotel was also excellent.
The hotel is fantastically situated - lots of historic points of interest literally minutes away and I managed to stroll to the tourist spots too in about half an hour.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Loopycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your choosing The Georgetown Inn for your most recent visit to Georgetown and Washington, DC! We are pleased that your visit was an overall success! What a great location for a one-of-a-kind Georgetown experience. As you know from your own experience, the exclusive Georgetown neighborhood of Washington, DC surrounds you with historic and pre-revolutionary homes, high-end shopping, international embassies and a multitude of unique restaurants and shops. All of us at The Georgetown Inn hope that we can welcome you back sometime soon. In the meantime, please refer our hotel to other travelers who want to be comfortably nestled in the heart of Georgetown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was my second time staying here. The first time was for one night and this time was for one night as well. I'll start with all the good stuff. The location is great; right in the heart of Georgetown (walking distance to Georgetown University). The lobby and rooms are very pretty. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. It was very large and very nicely decorated. There was a sleeper sofa when you walk in and a bedroom and bathroom towards the back of the room. We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel's restaurant, which had decent food and good service. The parking was fine. The rate (room and parking) was reasonable for a Georgetown hotel. The not so good part was that the walls were incredibly thin. You could hear all the city noise and you could hear everything from the room next door. Not to be gross, but my husband said he could clearly hear the person in the next room using the bathroom. I didn't hear this and neither did our daughter on the sleeper sofa. Another disappointment was the exercise room. It was honestly the size of a closet and had two pathetic machines. Also, when we were checking out, we had to get our car and our stored luggage, which seemed to throw the attendant for a loop because he was in charge of both and couldn't figure out how to manage the parking lot and the luggage at the same time. I think they need to hire another person for the lobby. So I would recommend this hotel to anyone except light sleepers and those who want a place to exercise.

Room Tip: Highest floor. Away from street, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Organized10580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Director of Sales at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your balanced comments regarding your recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. Your feedback is very important to our continued success. We regret that our facilities and services did not meet or exceed your expectations. However, we are very interested in your opinion as we move forward with the necessary improvements to our hotel. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future at The Georgetown Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This Inn looks historically charming and its greatly and centrally located. The deal was the best we could find in the area with a short notice. I didn't interact much with the staff during our 2 day stay- but whenever I did they seemed pleasant.
Free wi-fi included ( a big deal for me!) and cable TV.
The only reason why I didn't rate it higher is because the rooms are not very fresh and clean. While the sheets and bedding were OK- I spotted a dust and dirt at the several spots at the celling. At the celling there were also some halls at the strange places- I wasn't sure will something come out from them :) Also I would have preferred if I was able to open the window or find some way to freshen up the air in the room in the morning.
Each person gets a welcome complimentary bottle of water. Parking overnight around $33

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danolear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Director of Sales at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at The Georgetown Inn. However, we regret that our facilities and services did not meet or exceed your expectations. We are very interested in your opinion as we continue our efforts to restore our property to its previous grandeur. Since new ownership, there have been many improvements such as the installation of a new free high speed internet service, new 37-inch high definition televisions in all guestrooms, a free 24-hour business center and other similar upgrades. Most notably, we just replaced our entire heating ventilation and air conditioning systems with a new state-of-the-art personal climate control system. Come stay with us again and cool off during the upcoming summer months. We look forward to welcoming you back to Georgetown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

From the moment I entered the lobby and was greeted by a friendly young woman behind the desk, who checked us in efficiently and early. My daughter who lives in Georgetown came to meet us and we enjoyed unique beers and a fantastic Bloody Mary. We set out on foot to explore the neighborhood and the campus at Georgetown. After a busy afternoon I retired to the comfy bed for a little nap. We visited the bar again, and decided we were all tired and we would spend the evening snuggled in our room and order room service. We had a fantastic meal, complete with delicious desserts. We enjoyed a couple movies and just settled in. My husband and I slept wonderfully in the comfy bed, and check out, parking, every detail of our stay was pleasant and smooth. We're going back again soon!

Room Tip: I'm quite sure any room would be lovely. We were high up and had a nice view of the city below u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzie814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Director of Sales at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We are pleased that your visit was an overall success! What a great location for a one-of-a-kind Georgetown experience. As you know, the exclusive Georgetown neighborhood of Washington, DC surrounds you with historic and pre-revolutionary homes, high-end shopping, international embassies and a multitude of unique restaurants and shops. Since new ownership, there have been many improvements such as the installation of a new free high speed internet service, new 37-inch high definition televisions in all guestrooms, a free 24-hour business center and other similar upgrades. Most recently, we completely replaced our entire heating ventilation and air conditioning systems with a new state-of-the-art personal climate control system. All of us at The Georgetown Inn sincerely look forward to the opportunity to have you host your future visits. In the meantime, we hope that you will refer our hotel to other travelers who want to be nestled in the heart of Georgetown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#89 of 141 in Washington DC
984 reviews
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
588 reviews
Dupont Circle
Georgetown Inn West End
Georgetown Inn West End
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Georgetown University Hotel and ...
#125 of 141 in Washington DC
302 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#122 of 141 in Washington DC
58 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 141 in Washington DC
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgetown Inn

Address: 1310 Wisconsin Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#83 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £73 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its 50-year tradition of elegance and sophistication, The Georgetown Inn is a classic Washington, DC hotel that is full of history and nostalgic glamour. Located in historic Georgetown, steps from trendy shopping and dining, our hotel offers a boutique European style with charming decor and distinctive luxury in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing