We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty pretty good”
Review of The Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Georgetown Inn
Ranked #92 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel and service are good but not great. There was a lot of noise in the corridor.We needed to be in Georgetown and the location is perfect. The so called fitness centre is an inadequate tiny room with a couple of machines in it .The room was serviced promptly and well.

Room Tip: Try to avoid being near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Director of Sales at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your balanced comments regarding your recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. Your feedback is very important to our continued success. We regret that our limited fitness facilities did not meet or exceed your expectations and we want you to know that we are pursuing a partnership with a near-by full-service nearby fitness center. We hope that we will have the opportunity to offer this additional service to you on your future visits. Thank you again for choosing The Georgetown Inn for your visit to the most important capital city in the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for my 25th year Georgetown reunion. Location is prime in the heart of Georgetwon and a stone's throw from Georgetown University. Staff is very friendly, and the restaurant/bar is nice with good food. The rooms are spacious - I had a suite with a sitting room - and comfortable, but the physical plant could use some renovation (the only thing really holding it back from 5 circles).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, General Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for choosing The Georgetown Inn for your visit during Georgetown University's Reunion weekend. Our success depends on guests like you who take the time to tell us about their experiences at our hotel. Since new ownership, there have been many improvements such as the installation of a new free high speed wireless internet service, new 37-inch high definition televisions in all guestrooms, a free 24-hour business center and other similar upgrades. Most notably, we just replaced our entire heating ventilation and air conditioning systems with a brand-new state-of-the-art personal climate control system throughout the hotel. In the next year, we will continue to upgrade and make necessary improvements to our facilities so that your subsequent reunions will be even more enjoyable. In the meantime, we will look forward to saying, "Welcome back to Georgetown" on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

For those who want to be slap band in the middle of Georgetown this is the place to stay. Although the rooms are a little outdated ( for my taste) they are quite big. "Martins tavern" a great restaurant with history is right next door.
If your the type to sit in the hotel all-day then this hotel is NOT for you ,but if you want to be right in the middle of Georgetown with a great hotel price and can ignore the fact that it is in need of a little facelift. I say....give it a try. OH and if you want to have a nice walk down to the harbor. Turn right out of the hotel. Keep walking,cross M street ..then keep walking same direction all the way..to the harbor. Great place to go on a sunny afternoon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor so as to avoid having to listen to the traffic on Wisconsin ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bornabrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, General Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your choosing The Georgetown Inn for your most recent visit to Georgetown and Washington, DC! We are pleased that your visit was an overall success and that you enjoyed our great location for a one-of-a-kind Georgetown experience. As you know from your own experience, the exclusive Georgetown neighborhood of Washington, DC surrounds you with historic and pre-revolutionary homes, high-end shopping, international embassies and a multitude of unique restaurants and shops. All of us at The Georgetown Inn hope that we can welcome you back sometime soon. In the meantime, please refer our hotel to other travelers who want to be comfortably nestled in the heart of Georgetown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hotel is a little tired but very comfortable.
Fabulous location for exploring Georgetown and the waterfront.
Staff were really friendly and helpful.
Room was spacious, well furnished and very quiet.
Bathrobes provided but no slippers!
Grill/Bar downstairs was lively and served great food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your choosing The Georgetown Inn for your most recent visit to Georgetown and Washington, DC! We are pleased that your visit was an overall success! The exclusive Georgetown neighborhood of Washington, DC surrounds you with historic and pre-revolutionary homes, high-end shopping, international embassies and a multitude of unique restaurants and shops. Walk to the Potomac River waterfront, the movies theaters and even a new 32,000 square foot bowling bistro called Pinstripes in less than ten minutes. All of us at The Georgetown Inn look forward to welcoming you back to Georgetown sometime soon. In the meantime, please refer our hotel to other travelers who want to be comfortably nestled in the heart of Georgetown as they visit our national treasures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We quite unexpectedly needed to go to Georgetown (from NYC) for a funeral and my spouse who lived in D.C. many years ago thought that at least we would feel a tiny bit better by staying overnight at a really nice place. Thus a reservation was made at the Georgetown Inn. She relayed to me that this was one of the classier places in the immediate area. Well, I'm sure that it used to be. Our "executive" room did have a seating area but that's truly the only positive thing that we could say about it. What struck us is that everything looked shabby. The sofa in the room was in disgraceful condition and the furniture was worn looking and kind of sad. Clearly the A/C was new and that worked well but that wasn't enough to make us feel that it was worth close to $300. which is what it cost. As everyone says, the location is great but the Management must have delusions of grandeur if they think that the condition of their hotel is acceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbgshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your balanced comments regarding your recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. Your feedback is absolutely critical to our continued success. We regret that our facilities and services did not meet or exceed your expectations. However, we are very interested in your opinion as we continue to steadily move forward with the necessary improvements to our hotel. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future at The Georgetown Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Whilst the location is great,right in the heart of Georgetown, the hotel has the feel of an inn, not a city hotel. The rooms are tired, the air conditioning did not work properly, the bathroom was tiny with only a shower and there was no safe in the room. We stayed for 2 nights but on our return to Washington we cancelled our reservation and stayed elsewhere. What a pity as we loved the location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P4017GHpeterl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your balanced comments regarding your visit to The Georgetown Inn. Your feedback is very important to our continued success. However, since your last visit we have invested well over $1million to install a brand new state-of-the-art air-conditioning system which guarantees individual climate control in all guestrooms. This improvement will ensure that future guests will have always enjoy cool, comfortable conditions as they visit Georgetown and the nation's capital during the upcoming summer months. We sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you again in the future at The Georgetown Inn under these improved circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Anyone considering the Georgetown Inn for their next stay should be aware that the "fitness center" advertised under services on its web page is practically nonexistent. From what I can tell they took one guest groom, cleared it out and put in a recumbent bike and a treadmill. Yes, that is about it. There is no other aerobic equipment in the room, indeed none would fit. In my opinion, while their claim of having a fitness center is technically true they should make clear in their advertising what patrons can actually expect. If the fitness center is irrelevant to you, then you should add a star to my review. Overall, the hotel is very attractive and well maintained. The location is superb. My room was clean, attractive and well appointed. Indeed, in my view, the hotel is overall rather charming.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twocat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

All of us at The Georgetown Inn are, of course, very proud and pleased that you enjoyed your stay enough to have you say:

"Overall, the hotel is very attractive and well maintained. The location is superb. My room was clean, attractive and well appointed. Indeed, in my view, the hotel is overall rather charming."

However, we regret that our limited fitness facilities did not meet your expectations. We want you to know that we have been pursuing a partnership with a very near-by full-service nearby fitness center which will allow our guests the daily use of their facilities without charge. We hope that we will have the opportunity to offer this additional service to you on your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
596 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#90 of 141 in Washington DC
993 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Georgetown University Hotel and ...
#125 of 141 in Washington DC
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Georgetown Inn West End
Georgetown Inn West End
#76 of 141 in Washington DC
119 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#120 of 141 in Washington DC
61 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 141 in Washington DC
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgetown Inn

Address: 1310 Wisconsin Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#83 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £109 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its 50-year tradition of elegance and sophistication, The Georgetown Inn is a classic Washington, DC hotel that is full of history and nostalgic glamour. Located in historic Georgetown, steps from trendy shopping and dining, our hotel offers a boutique European style with charming decor and distinctive luxury in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing