We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location with a very helpful staff!”
Review of The Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Georgetown Inn
Ranked #93 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Frankford, Delaware
1 review
“Excellent Location with a very helpful staff!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have been a guest at the Georgetown Inn twice in the past 6 months. The hotel has charm, history, amenities, location and a great restaurant and bar. Members of the Housekeeping, Front Desk, Valet, Room Service and Restaurant staff are always friendly and willing to help. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys staying in the heart of Washington. The hotel is right in Georgetown and it is a short cab ride to all the museum and historic attractions DC has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel are quieter. Rooms on the street side give the guest an excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49Classic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, General Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your choosing The Georgetown Inn for your most recent visit to Georgetown and Washington, DC! We are very pleased that your visit was an overall success! What a great location you chose for a unique one-of-a-kind Georgetown experience. As you know from your own experience, the exclusive Georgetown neighborhood of Washington, DC surrounds you with historic and pre-revolutionary homes, high-end shopping, international embassies and a multitude of unique restaurants and shops. All of us at The Georgetown Inn hope that we can welcome you back sometime soon. In the meantime, please refer our hotel to other travelers who want to be comfortably nestled in the heart of Georgetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    189
    85
    37
    30
See reviews for
211
109
29
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

For location in Georgetown (and proximity to Georgetown University if you are a parent), you cannot beat this hotel's location. Its at Wisconsin and O street walking distance to all things in Georgetown. The hotel is a bit tired in my opinion. Old wallpaper, old carpet, small bathrooms, etc. It is very clean...but really needs an update. However, they price the rooms accordingly as it is the least expensive hotel in Georgetown. For the price, the Key Bridge Marriott is a better value, but its quite a long walk to all the Georgetown activities. For the money, its a great location but it definitely is a "you get what you pay for" situation."

Room Tip: The suites are quite cheap and very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff5123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your balanced comments regarding your visit to The Georgetown Inn. We sincerely regret that our facilities and restaurant services did not exceed your expectations. However, we have just completed the replacement of our entire heating ventilation and air conditioning systems with a personalized climate control system to ensure that guests will have more comfortable experiences at our hotel. Next up -- we have begun re-furbishing all of our guestroom bathroom with a much more contemporary design. We hope to win back your confidence as we move forward these and other necessary improvements to our hotel. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I'm not a picky traveler and did enjoy my stay, though I'd suspect those with more sophisticated tastes would be left wanting.

Positives include the friendly staff, who were very attentive and generally interested in making me feel welcome. The location was also a bonus, as it was right in the heart of the Georgetown area. The room was quiet spacious for a single traveler, and likely so for a couple as well. In general, I'd say everything was cleaned well, too.

On the negative side, the room's amenities weren't comparable to others I've stayed in for the same price. The shower (no basin) was extremely small and the rest of the bathroom was also lacking. The other parts of the hotel were simple average and nothing really stood out to 'wow' me.

In all, an average stay. The price may compare to others in its location, but certainly I've stayed at other hotels in the country with higher standards at cheaper prices by far.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, General Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments! We are pleased that your visit to Georgetown and the nation's capital was a great overall success! At The Georgetown Inn we are committed to providing the traveling public with a superb location combined with clean rooms and friendly service. We are very interested in your opinion as we continue our efforts to improve our services and restore our facility to its previous grandeur. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We've been at Georgetown Inn twice with our three kids. We really enjoyed it and recommend it. Georgetown is a nice place to stay. The hotel has nice rooms, friendly staff and a good restaurant. It worths the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, General Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your choosing The Georgetown Inn for your most recent visit to Georgetown and Washington, DC! We are delighted that your visit was an overall success! What a great location you chose for a one-of-a-kind Georgetown experience. As you know from your own experience, the exclusive Georgetown neighborhood of Washington, DC surrounds you with historic and pre-revolutionary homes, high-end shopping, international embassies and a multitude of unique restaurants and shops. All of us at The Georgetown Inn hope that we can welcome you back sometime soon. In the meantime, please refer our hotel to other travelers who want to be comfortably nestled in the heart of Georgetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Arnaud, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A charming character hotel but quite pricey. My revamped room was finished to a pretty poor standard considering the price. Staff were courteous and the building work did not run into antisocial times.

Room Tip: I was in one of the newly re-modelled rooms and the quality of the finish was poor to say the least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful feedback. We are pleased that your visit to Georgetown and the nation's capital was a great overall success! At The Georgetown Inn we are committed to providing the traveling public with a superb location combined with clean rooms and friendly service. All of us at The Georgetown Inn will certainly look forward to your future visits. In the meantime, we hope that you will refer our hotel to other travelers to our destination We are very interested in your opinion as we continue our efforts to restore our property to its previous grandeur. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Georgetown Inn was a nice hotel with good amenities. However the air conditioner made a screaming noise all night long and the toilet ran until you jiggled the flapper valve. When I reported it to the front desk apparently nothing was done.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Evon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, General Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for choosing The Georgetown Inn for your visit to Georgetown and Washington, DC. We sincerely regret that our facilities did not exceed your expectations. However, as you know, we have just completed the replacement of our entire heating ventilation and air conditioning systems with a personalized climate control system. We want you to know that we've also had to replace a few defective parts to ensure that future guests will have quieter experiences at our hotel. We hope to win back your confidence as we move forward other necessary improvements to our hotel. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the spacious and quaint room we were placed in. The room was on the sixth floor and had a great view; we could see the Washington Monument from our room. The location is perfect as well, it's directly on Wisconsin Ave., and is surrounded by great restaurants and coffee shops. As far as service goes, the front desk couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, and the valet was really flexible and friendly as well. If you're staying in Georgetown and don't feel like paying 400-500 dollars a night, I would highly recommend you check out the Georgetown Inn for a great value experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NRF97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgetownGM, General Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your choosing The Georgetown Inn for your visit to Georgetown and Washington, DC! We are pleased that your visit was an overall success! As you know from your own experience, the exclusive Georgetown neighborhood of Washington, DC surrounds you with historic and pre-revolutionary homes, high-end shopping, international embassies and a multitude of unique restaurants and shops. All of us at The Georgetown Inn hope that we can welcome you back sometime soon. In the meantime, please refer our hotel and its unbeatable location to other travelers who want to be comfortably nestled right in the heart of Georgetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
547 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#76 of 141 in Washington DC
966 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#117 of 141 in Washington DC
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 141 in Washington DC
231 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Georgetown University Hotel and ...
#121 of 141 in Washington DC
285 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgetown Inn

Property: The Georgetown Inn
Address: 1310 Wisconsin Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#83 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its 50-year tradition of elegance and sophistication, The Georgetown Inn is a classic Washington, DC hotel that is full of history and nostalgic glamour. Located in historic Georgetown, steps from trendy shopping and dining, our hotel offers a boutique European style with charming decor and distinctive luxury in the nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing