We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Graham is pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Graham Georgetown
Ranked #19 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Graham is pretty good”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stay at the Graham while on business in DC and have been there 6 ties since it opened earlier this year. It is located in the heart of Georgetown and so there are many options for walking to places to go out. If you walk downhill 2 blocks, you will be on the river. You are just off of M Street and 2 blocks from Wisconsin. The roof top bar gets packed and the bar manager needs a lesson in how to handle a crowd. Other than this one complaint, thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obieone911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    105
    39
    11
    10
See reviews for
115
172
23
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This small hotel is located in Georgetown, very convenient to all the sights in DC, the Kennedy Center and to the nightlife and restaurants in Georgetown. It is reasonably priced for it's location. There is valet parking ($48/day) and also a public lot just down the street.

We were only staying one night and had booked an Executive room. However, when we arrived in the lovely decorated lobby, we were told that they had upgraded us to a suite. Not sure why, but it was a very pleasant surprise. The suite was large, with a separate living room with big flat screen TV, a dressing area and reasonable closet and storage, a lovely bathroom with big shower and the bedroom with another big TV. The bed was very comfortable and though we were facing the street, it was very quiet.

We had breakfast in the hotel which was very nice. The staff was very personable and helpful.

We would definitely come back here and would recommend it to others visiting DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msdillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is an excellent hotel with a great bar on the roof with fantastic views.
Easy walking to the harbour or Georgetown
Great breakfast and comfortable rooms
Clean and modern with great staff
Near to all the shops and restaurants and walkable to some of the major attractions - about 35 minutes walk
But Georgetown was definitely the best place to stay and travel into the city

Room Tip: Go high to get the views but only 7 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Wonderful hotel! Hotel is in great location, within walking distance to shops & restaurants, the rooms were lovely, beautiful view from roof deck and the staff was very friendly! I travel a ton, so I'm very picky! I will definitely be going back to The Graham Georgetown on my next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I attended this hotel while on Business. It offered me exactly an experience I would expect from such a wonderful venue and staff, but then exceeded expectations with their lovely customer service approach. Especially a Ms. Lexie, she definitely was a stand out performer during my stay. The rooftop had such a beautiful view and the ambiance was just magnificent. I will suggest this hotel to everyone I come in contact with and cannot wait for another Business trip back to the capital. God bless.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A modern, chique Hotel. We stayed one night and it was a good experience. Also because it is within walking distance to the new harbour with a lot of great restaurants and hip people as well as to M street, Georgetown.
At breakfast they didn't have any milk and put powder creamer on the table istead! Only after asking intensly did they organize some real milk. Most annoying, though: the aloof, arrogant and condescending attitude of the waiters. They made it very clear that they thought they were better than the rest of us... An unpleasant surprise in such an otherwise great hotel!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Spuetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

I'm seriously thinking this is the best hotel I've stayed at in the boutique range. Location is to die for central Georgetown, the best coffee i've had in USA is one minute away. Rooftop cocktails in the summer in utter luxury with attentive service. Jackie on reception extremely helpful and friendly; as were the rest of the staff. My room had a balcony/patio which was large and furnished well. The room itself was luxurious and comfortable. I cant recommend it enough.

Helpful?
1 Thank Asspro
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
179 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
1,408 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel
The Watergate Hotel
#7 of 140 in Washington DC
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Graham Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Graham Georgetown

Property: The Graham Georgetown
Address: 1075 Thomas Jefferson Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly Hotel Monticello)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Graham Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Graham, where cultured sophistication meets modern luxury in one of the most refined residential hotels in Georgetown DC. Named after famous Georgetown resident Alexander Graham Bell, inventor of the telephone, our Georgetown hotel draws inspiration from Bell's inventiveness and consummate poise, offering a mix of innovative style and gracious service that fit naturally with the spirit of the neighborhood. Nestled along the banks of the Potomac River, The Graham sits in the heart of DC's most affluent and historic area. Our central Georgetown location makes it easy to walk around this intimate neighborhood, home to important landmarks and historic estates, prestigious universities, and numerous independent shops and restaurants. Georgetown University, George Washington University, Washington Harbour, the Kennedy Center, and the National Cathedral are all located nearby, and the area itself is within close proximity to downtown Washington D.C. When the day is over, retreat to one of our Georgetown hotel's 57 guestroom and suites, stylish and spacious with luxurious residential comforts and amenities designed for the discerning guest, including complimentary Wi-fi and a 24-hour fitness center. Experience our new craft cocktail cellar and small-plate dining concept The Alex, and afterwards head up to The Observatory, The Graham's open air rooftop bar and lounge, to take in one of the most stunning views of our nation's capital-martini and cigar in hand, of course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Graham Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monticello Hotel Washington Dc
Monticello Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing