We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Graham Georgetown
Ranked #8 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We were a family of 6, occupying 2 rooms for one night, as a transit stop through Washington.

The position was great, in the heart of Georgetown.
The rooms were large with the most comfortable beds.
The service and assistance from all the staff was excellent.

I would highly recommend this hotel for the convenience of its position and the helpfulness of its staff.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank 2Holiday101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david m, Manager at The Graham Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation of our hotel staff, location and and room size. All of our employees here at The Graham take great pride in what we do and compliments like yours make each day here more enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

The decor is modern and cool. Upgraded to a suite on a dead December weekend night - not a shock but nice nonetheless. Room was like a sauna. Staff at first in attentive to complaint about room temperature, then incompetent to do anything about it. Poor night sleeping in a room that was likely close to 80F. No offer for compensation or future assistance, just a bunch of 'sorrys.' Too bad. Great location, cool look but will not stay there again. Get your act together, Graham, if you want to compete in a crowded boutique hotel market in DC. To potential guests: spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMMinPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C, General Manager at The Graham Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Greetings from the Graham Hotel Georgetown,

We would like to thank you for your comments which allows us to improve upon product and services for our guests. We are delighted to hear that the staff upgraded you to one of our beautiful suites. We have notified our engineering team about your issue with temperature to remedy this. Your comments serve to strengthen our committment to providing world class service and accommodations. We thank you and hope that you will provide us with an opportunity to host you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Robert Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Wonderful! Highly recommended. Customer service and amenities are impeccable! Roof top bar and AGB Lounge are excellent for drinks even if you are not a guest at the hotel. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

Room Tip: Frank Sinatra Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david m, Manager at The Graham Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Wonderful! Highly recommended. Customer service and amenities are impeccable! Roof top bar and AGB Lounge are excellent for drinks even if you are not a guest at the hotel. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! When I see reviews with the word impeccable in them I know with certainty that the world class service we offer om our boutique-chic hotel is a successs. We are pleased that you enjoyed our lounge and rooftop and hope that you come back to enjoy our new happy hour specials offered in AGB from 5-7pm seven days a week. We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. King suite was spacious and comfortable, then bar in the basement was cozy and the location was perfect for Christmas shopping in Georgetown. If only the the rooftop lounge was open to take advantage of the unusually warm weather!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TarikAmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C, General Manager at The Graham Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experiences at the Graham Hotel Georgetown.
It is such a special time of year in December when you visited and the shopping in Georgetown is always a plus! We are delighted that you and your wife were able to enjoy the intimacy and feel of our lounge and restaurant, AGB, as well as the comfort of the room! We certainly look forward to the warm weather and the excitement that Springtime brings to Washington DC as our open air rooftop re-opens. We will be happy to share another great experience with you and your wife when you return to Washington DC to partake in the beauty and uniqueness of our destination rooftop, The Observatory lounge. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Robert Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We have just stayed here for one night on our way back to South Africa. What a lovely hotel. The location is brilliant - close to shopping and restaurants. The staff were brilliant. They are so friendly and could not have been more helpful. From Keith who carried all our luggage for us to the ladies at the front desk we can not fault them at all. They kindly upgraded our room for us and allowed us to check out late with absolutely no charge. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my clients who visit Washington.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C, General Manager at The Graham Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

On behalf of everyone at the Graham Hotel Georgetown, I thank you for taking the time to share your experiences while staying with us. It is very rewarding to hear from you and know that not only the location and product were outstanding but also our fantastic and experienced staff.

Your comments will serve to strengthen our resolve to providing outstanding service and accommodations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you bcak to the Graham Hotel Georgetown on your next visit to Washington DC.

Be Well,
Robert Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We only stayed two nights, but this was what we found:
1. The staff are brilliant. Starting with Cartrell (apologies for the spelling) at the main desk, all the way through to Evelyn two days after we left who hunted down the iPad we left in the room, and arranged for it to be Fedexed to our next hotel.
2. The rooms were brilliant. We slept in until 930am the rooms were so dark and quiet (I should be complaining about that, but we didn't set an alarm, and we had the best night of sleep we had had in two weeks in the US).
3. The location was excellent. Just at the start of Georgetown, so you're not in the thick of it, but you walk 50m to M Street, and 500m to Wisconsin. You're also a very short walk (250m?) to the canal.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room (perhaps a suite) on the second floor, but I reckon most of the rooms wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmo1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I enjoyed my stay here! For sure, the location is tops. Just off M street in the heart of Georgetown. The front desk staff were friendly and though I declined the turndown service, he was also warm and helpful. I was upgraded to the larger size suite, and it was really spacious. The bathroom was also very large (though others have noted, with no racks/hooks for towels). There isn't much to find fault with, but I did find the lighting a bit dark. I had to turn on every possible light for it to be comfortable to work in the front room. I couldn't figure out how to get the light in the closets on, sometimes they magically lit, other times no, making it almost impossible to see anything (e.g., coffee/tea, safe, minibar). My view was also not great, just across a courtyard (with a sofa in it?) to another building. I'm not sure if there are other better views. I liked that the window opened, especially because the heater was a bit tricky.

A few tips--if you are coming from Union Station, there is a wee bus called the Circulator that goes to the exact corner on M street where the hotel is located. It costs $1. I don't know where you pick it up, but I took it from the hotel to the station, which was fabulous, not having to trek with luggage to the train (there aren't any metro stops very close by) and then take the train to the station. It took a good 45 minutes when I left around 11 so if you go during rush hour, allot plenty of time. There is also another route that goes to DuPont Circle. Again, very handy. Look for the little red signs on the street, they are easy to miss. The one staff member I asked about the bus didn't really know about them, but they do have maps at the front desk.

Two great dining choices are Le Pain Quotidien, especially if you are looking for a good breakfast, and DAS Ethiopian. Both just a couple of blocks up M street.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank brooklynprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#14 of 142 in Washington DC
426 reviews
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 142 in Washington DC
250 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#11 of 142 in Washington DC
1,536 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
3,285 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Graham Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Graham Georgetown

Address: 1075 Thomas Jefferson St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-5248 (Formerly Hotel Monticello)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £200 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Graham Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Graham, where cultured sophistication meets modern luxury in one of the most refined residential hotels in Georgetown DC. Named after famous Georgetown resident Alexander Graham Bell, inventor of the telephone, our Georgetown hotel draws inspiration from Bell's inventiveness and consummate poise, offering a mix of innovative style and gracious service that fit naturally with the spirit of the neighborhood. Nestled along the banks of the Potomac River, The Graham sits in the heart of DC's most affluent and historic area. Our central Georgetown location makes it easy to walk around this intimate neighborhood, home to important landmarks and historic estates, prestigious universities, and numerous independent shops and restaurants. Georgetown University, George Washington University, Washington Harbour, the Kennedy Center, and the National Cathedral are all located nearby, and the area itself is within close proximity to downtown Washington D.C. When the day is over, retreat to one of our Georgetown hotel's 57 guestroom and suites, stylish and spacious with luxurious residential comforts and amenities designed for the discerning guest, including complimentary Wi-fi and a 24-hour fitness center. Experience our new craft cocktail cellar and small-plate dining concept The Alex, and afterwards head up to The Observatory, The Graham's open air rooftop bar and lounge, to take in one of the most stunning views of our nation's capital-martini and cigar in hand, of course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Graham Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monticello Hotel Washington Dc
Monticello Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing