We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible front of hotel staff / unwelcomed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Graham Georgetown
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible front of hotel staff / unwelcomed”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived at hotel with rental car, valet instructed me to drive on without listening to request. Self parked and when entering hotel with two bags in hand, bell boy (looked like a bouncer dressed in black) did bot offer to help or even open door.
Front desk staff seemed uninterested in helping and rudely told to have a seat while room was readied. Waited for over 30 minutes before we politely commented on reviewing hotel on this forum (room had been ready all along). Attendant then became more engaged and gave us $50 dollar voucher to correct her behaviour.
Room was decorated nicely but located above service entrance. Needless to say we where awoken following morning at 6 am by garbage / delivery trucks.
Felt UNWELCOME during our stay.
Hotel staff should be formally educated in hotel management. Our local motel staffed by high school students provides better service.
Expensive, pretty hotel, good location, HORRIBLE SERVICE.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdulla_Almutairi, Director of Rooms at The Graham Georgetown, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear John F,
As you can imagine, it was absolutely disconcerting to read your review. Having a guest feel that their stay was ultimately unexceptional is truly disappointing to us, as our priority is to give our guests the best possible experience that we can. The service that you describe is certainly not the norm at The Graham Georgetown or the staff. However, I can assure you that we are addressing your comments and addressing it to ensure that our guests receive great service. We do apologize for the challenging stay that you describe and thank you for reaching out to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    106
    42
    11
    10
See reviews for
119
175
25
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Outstanding! I have stayed at several boutique hotels and rate this one of the very best. We had a room on the 6th floor that was absosutely spotlessly clean with an outstanding bath with an amazing shower. We enjoyed the rooftop bar with views of M Street, the Kennedy Center, Watergate, and the rest of Washington. Our breakfast was verygood.The location is also right next to M Street and all of the shops in Georgetown. Washington Harbor is only two blocks away. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V Wayne Speedy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdulla_Almutairi, Director of Rooms at The Graham Georgetown, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear V Wayne Speedy L,

Thank you for choosing The Graham Georgetown, Washington, D.C. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I am happy that you were satisfied with all accommodations as well as service received. I hope that we are able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best,

Abdulla Almutairi
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great location if you like the Georgetown atmosphere. The staff is great and the room was VERY comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance to waterfront and great shopping. The metro station is close so you can walk and then travel to any area in DC.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish24825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This small boutique hotel is in a perfect location. While it's not the most slick when it comes to concierge/valet services it has a lot of positive features. The rooms are contemporary yet warm. They are clean and have good amenities. I like it for its charm and price. Best of all the roof top deck is lovely. It's unfortunate that it doesn't open until 5PM. I've suggested they have it open all day when the weather is favorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindabcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Well, this was a great location in Georgetown-it is a small hotel with a beautiful roof bar. I was helping my son move into his new apartment in Georgetown, just up the street, so this was a good location for us to settle for a few nights. The location is near all the restaurants and upscale stores you would ever want yet it is on a quiet side street. It has almost no amenities-no room service to speak of, no laundry or dry-cleaning. The door to the mini-bar was broken-it happens. The maid service was not done even though I was out all day and got home after dinnertime. I had to ask twice for most things that I needed. When I made the reservation and booked a junior suite I was told that the sofa pulled out to a bed. It did not. My 21 year old slept on the sofa, but it was so close to the door and he heard loud noises of the bar hopping crowd until 3am. Their excuse for the sofa bed mix-up was: "you must have called the number on our website-they really do not know the hotel". Gee! There were lots of things they just did not know. I wanted to get a smoothie in the morning and they had no idea where to get one-it turns out that there was a great smoothie bar across the street!
The staff tried to be somewhat caring but they were just not "with it". It was strange returning on Saturday evening. There was a big line outside of the front entrance for the bar-bouncers, etc. I had to show my card to get in-to prove that I was staying there. A bit embarrassing. I would not stay here again, although I loved the location.
Perhaps they are just getting started here-I heard it was purchased a year ago. Maybe after some time, they will get the management up to speed. They definitely should warn people about those rooms with all the noise from the bar/restrooms.

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY ON THE FIRST FLOOR, at least not on a weekend! You will be behind the reception desk and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

they could have been more caring although the staff serving breakfast were very helpful. This hotel is in an excellent location and ideal for wandering around the Georgetown district. The room was very good but we did not consider it good value. This wasn't helped by charging 6 dollars for three small pieces of bacon at breakfast and later, in the rooftop bar, charging 23 dollars for a small beer and a glass of something described as Sangria.
Their inability to answer three emails sent to them prior to our visit did not inspire us neither did they send to us a parcel to one of our later holiday destinations as arranged and promised.
Would we stay here again? Afraid not.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerekHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Let me start by saying that I did not actually stay at the Graham. We were going to stay, we went as far as trying to make a reservation directly with the hotel. We spoke with someone in reservations who was supposed to confirm the rate and email us later in the day. We never received the confirmation so we called back the next day. We were put on endless hold then were switched to others who were rude and uninterested in helping us with our reservation. It was at that point that we decided that this would not be a good place to stay judging from their nasty staff on the phone. We booked the Jefferson instead which was great. The Graham should take lessons from them.........

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nyer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 141 in Washington DC
214 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,449 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Graham Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Graham Georgetown

Property: The Graham Georgetown
Address: 1075 Thomas Jefferson St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-5248 (Formerly Hotel Monticello)
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Graham Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Graham, where cultured sophistication meets modern luxury in one of the most refined residential hotels in Georgetown DC. Named after famous Georgetown resident Alexander Graham Bell, inventor of the telephone, our Georgetown hotel draws inspiration from Bell's inventiveness and consummate poise, offering a mix of innovative style and gracious service that fit naturally with the spirit of the neighborhood. Nestled along the banks of the Potomac River, The Graham sits in the heart of DC's most affluent and historic area. Our central Georgetown location makes it easy to walk around this intimate neighborhood, home to important landmarks and historic estates, prestigious universities, and numerous independent shops and restaurants. Georgetown University, George Washington University, Washington Harbour, the Kennedy Center, and the National Cathedral are all located nearby, and the area itself is within close proximity to downtown Washington D.C. When the day is over, retreat to one of our Georgetown hotel's 57 guestroom and suites, stylish and spacious with luxurious residential comforts and amenities designed for the discerning guest, including complimentary Wi-fi and a 24-hour fitness center. Experience our new craft cocktail cellar and small-plate dining concept The Alex, and afterwards head up to The Observatory, The Graham's open air rooftop bar and lounge, to take in one of the most stunning views of our nation's capital-martini and cigar in hand, of course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Graham Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monticello Hotel Washington Dc
Monticello Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing