We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Graham Georgetown
Ranked #12 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed for four nights in this nice hotel in pretty Georgetown. Our room was very quiet, tasfully decorated and had the best bed we ever experienced in a hotel. The staff was very courteous and attentive. We had a very very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVB/JK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    110
    43
    11
    10
See reviews for
129
185
28
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Small, cosy boutique hotel.
Friendly staff, large lovely and clean room with nice bathroom with thick towels. King size bed with beautiful sheets and lovely duvet. No view from the room, but didn't matter.
Beautiful roof-top bar with view over the city - there were many local people during the weekend.
The hotel is situated near Washington Habour and near many nice restaurants. Also very close to all the best shopping in Washington DC/Georgetown.
The breakfast is nice, no buffet, but a little expensive. Maybe not compared to the rest of Washington.
Would recommend it any day - especially for business and couples. Or with older children.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wonderful hospitality, great experience, I am going back in another month again, great roof top bar!! It's near everything in walking distance in the Georgetown area. Close to all stops for the bus to tour Washington DC. Great restaurants close bye that I am going to go back too. From the time you walk in door you know you are going to have a great time. The service from valet to the director is unbelievable. Much appreciated to the staff at the Graham Georgetown for the mini vacation with my kids and wife had there, we stopped after are vacation in Mrytle beach, and my wifes birthday. Thanks again

Erik McDowell

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erikmcd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Graham is in a great location, has a very attractive setting and décor, and recently provided me with a wonderful hotel experience. Their staff is terrific – well-organized and very helpful. I was in Washington DC for business the same time as the U.S.-Africa Leaders Summit. I had a reservation at the Graham, but when I arrived I was told the hotel was at full capacity because summit attendees were staying beyond their original scheduled dates and by law, the hotel was required to allow them to extend their stay.

The staff informed me they had reserved a room for me in a nearby hotel – just a few blocks away. One of the staff rode with me in a cab to the hotel and arranged my check-in. I returned to the Graham later in the evening to meet coworkers on the rooftop bar and had a great visit.

The staff had no control over the fact that the hotel was at capacity, but they could control how I, as a guest, was treated, and they did a wonderful job. I would definitely select the Graham in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 964christinep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enterprise, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

From the minute you step through the doors you know you are in a special place. Everyone is smiling and glad to see you. So friendly and helpful. Ask the valet or front desk for restaurant advice etc and they will gladly share the info. The rooms are gorgeous as is the lobby. Very smartly decorated. I loved the location and the ease to walk in Georgetown. Every morning I would stroll to the canal or down to a nearby bakery to take in the morning sites and sounds. The rooftop lounge is currently "the place" for young folks but I enjoyed a cocktail there myself. I will be back...

Room Tip: The view out the front to the street was nice because you could see what was going on in Georgetown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I am amazed this hotel isn't higher up the list. It is a great hotel in a fantastic location right in the heart of Georgetown. Rooms are lovely and access to the roof bar is a real bonus although the bar is pretty expensive

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckyd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abdulla_Almutairi, Director of Rooms at The Graham Georgetown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Luckyd78,

Thank you for your recent review of our little gem in the heart of Georgetown. We are very proud of our hotel, the product and the immaculate sights from our rooftop, The Observatory. I am thrilled that you found your stay exceptional and the experience of your stay to your liking. We hope to be able to welcome you back and have our hotel be your home away from home when visiting our nation's capital.

Best,

Abdulla N. Almutairi
Director of Rooms Division
abdulla.almutairi@thegrahamgeorgetown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Wales, FL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I spent 3 of the last 4 weeks at The Graham. Before arriving I had read many of the reviews, but as in all things our own experiences are our reality. The hotel is in a wonderful location. The first week I was there I was in 401, which is a very small room. The other two weeks I was in room 708 which is equivalent in size to most hotel rooms. I think the hotel is aiming to be a boutique hotel but the service falls short of my personal experiences at other boutique hotels.

Each evening it was obvious that the roof-top bar was the focus of the hotel. I visited the roof-top twice to get ice (there are no ice machines). The view is wonderful but I couldn't figure out why this area was considered so hip. When I would return to the hotel in my business attire it was always assumed I was heading to the bar. Despite my long stay the doormen never seemed to recognize me. If I went out in the evening for dinner or a stroll wearing my shorts and polo, upon my return the 3 to 4 hotel employees standing in front of the door seemed to be judging my worthiness to enter. Most of the time they wouldn't even open the door for me.

The rooms themselves are on par with most 3 star hotels. The prices for items on the mini-bar (including the underwear in a potato chip bag) are on level of 5 star hotels. The rooms were not uniforming serviced. Some days my bed would be fully made and others it was partially made. The turn down service was random at best although it seemed silly to call turning the radio on as turn down service. Some days my room was well cleaned while others it appeared that all they did was exchange my towels and dirty glasses.

I would suggest that the hotel consider offering different pillow types. The beds seem to have a feather bed because you sink into the mattress. I would also suggest that the hotel exchange the winter comforters for summer comforters during the summer. Even when I put the AC on 50 the comforter was too hot.

As a business traveler the location was 5-star but the rest of my experience was no different than an average hotel chain. I feel the hotel is striving to be hip rather than striving to provide good customer service to those staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QueenofMathland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
The Avery Georgetown
#6 of 141 in Washington DC
231 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,485 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#7 of 141 in Washington DC
338 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Graham Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Graham Georgetown

Property: The Graham Georgetown
Address: 1075 Thomas Jefferson St NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-5248 (Formerly Hotel Monticello)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Graham Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Graham, where cultured sophistication meets modern luxury in one of the most refined residential hotels in Georgetown DC. Named after famous Georgetown resident Alexander Graham Bell, inventor of the telephone, our Georgetown hotel draws inspiration from Bell's inventiveness and consummate poise, offering a mix of innovative style and gracious service that fit naturally with the spirit of the neighborhood. Nestled along the banks of the Potomac River, The Graham sits in the heart of DC's most affluent and historic area. Our central Georgetown location makes it easy to walk around this intimate neighborhood, home to important landmarks and historic estates, prestigious universities, and numerous independent shops and restaurants. Georgetown University, George Washington University, Washington Harbour, the Kennedy Center, and the National Cathedral are all located nearby, and the area itself is within close proximity to downtown Washington D.C. When the day is over, retreat to one of our Georgetown hotel's 57 guestroom and suites, stylish and spacious with luxurious residential comforts and amenities designed for the discerning guest, including complimentary Wi-fi and a 24-hour fitness center. Experience our new craft cocktail cellar and small-plate dining concept The Alex, and afterwards head up to The Observatory, The Graham's open air rooftop bar and lounge, to take in one of the most stunning views of our nation's capital-martini and cigar in hand, of course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Graham Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monticello Hotel Washington Dc
Monticello Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing